Chevron Left
Back to Development of Real-Time Systems

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Development of Real-Time Systems by EIT Digital

4.6
stars
423 ratings
90 reviews

About the Course

This course is intended for the Master's student and computer engineer who likes practical programming and problem solving! After completing this course, you will have the knowledge to plan and set-up a real-time system both on paper and in practice. The course centers around the problem of achieving timing correctness in embedded systems, which means to guarantee that the system reacts within the real-time requirements. Examples of such systems include airbags, emergency breaks, avionics, and also multi-media systems like video playback and QoS in web servers. The course teaches how to plan real-time systems in theory using established mathematical proofs and how to implement them in practice by using the most common scheduling methods. We also learn and how to program the system in the C language using the FreeRTOS real-time kernel. Finally we have a look at the future of real-time systems namely multi-core real-time systems! This course focus on the learn-by-doing approach with many examples and real-world programming assignments. We have 5 modules, each with a gentle graded quiz in the end and one peer reviewed programming assignment. In case you have no experience with C programming, please check you a practical course like: https://www.coursera.org/learn/arduino-platform The course is actually quite fun! -Simon Holmbacka / Åbo Akademi University Check out our whole curriculum: https://research.it.abo.fi/...

Top reviews

LP

Jul 12, 2017

Real-Time systems are very demanded nowadays. Excellent course to review some aspects in this field or to learn everything from the beginning.

GT

Apr 23, 2018

I feel having in depth analysis on various scheduling algorithms would be helpful. I have learnt many things from this course.

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 89 Reviews for Development of Real-Time Systems

By Abhishek R

Oct 13, 2019

nice course

By Мамашев Р

Oct 16, 2017

Nice course

By ESWARARAO B

May 18, 2020

Excellent

By Aleksandr B

Dec 12, 2017

Excellent

By Y.SaiKrishna S

Jul 04, 2016

Awesome.

By JAYA K T

Dec 13, 2019

good

By nikhil

Mar 23, 2019

NICE

By ALAMPALLY N

Oct 27, 2018

good

By Belkin V D

Oct 14, 2017

+++

By Eric L

Sep 12, 2016

I enjoyed this course a lot! It gives a good introduction to the topic of real time systems, the lessons are well organized and you don't need to be a computer science expert to learn and understand the material taught in the course. The course not only teaches theory but gives you practical guidelines and very useful examples/assignments to illustrate how the theory is used in practice to solve typical problems and design real time systems , which is the feature I liked most about this course. This "hands-on" approach is very useful to the practitioner, with some inexpensive and simple hardware at your disposal the open-source software tools introduced in the course can get you quite far in designing your own real time system! Needless to say, no course is perfect and there are always things that can be improved. For example, the wording of the assignments and quizzes in this course is in dire need of an update/edit.

By Ralph W

Aug 25, 2017

I thought the course did a good job of helping me to learn about RTOS scheduling and the Simso simulator. It would have been nice to have more detail about the specifics of context switching and what happens to the CPU stack when switching from one task to another. There were a few times where the homework wasn’t coupled with the video lectures. There were very few explanations about how to use FreeRTOS and I think the basic assumption is that an intermediate C programming could pick that up pretty fast. There were also a few mistakes in the video lectures. Overall, I thought it was a good course and I have not found very many online courses that offer information about real time systems.

By Akhilesh S

Dec 04, 2017

It is a great course to understand the fundamentals of real time systems. However more hands-on programming assignments are required to have a better understanding of FreeRTOS. Also, the mathematical equations involved in the design of schedulers should be explained with their underlying proofs. Putting the equations simply on slides doesn't convey the idea behind the concepts. The course introduces you to good reference materials where the concepts are explained in a very simple and lucid way. Overall the course has great content and is worth attending for master students and working professionals.

By Elyasin S

Jul 17, 2016

The course is very good in my opinion. There are some little drawbacks though. The assignments are not very difficult but expect you to be autonomous in setting up the environments; this was a bit of a hurdle for some students. Also the reviews could be better. The review feedback depends on how well the reviewer understood the subject; more concrete instructions would be good as well as more precise criterias for the grading of the peer review.

By Prasiddh T

Jun 01, 2020

The course focuses only on the part of real-time systems called task schedulers. The content is perfect for a course on real-time task schedulers. The programming and simuliation assignments are designed perfectly to complement the concepts. Some instructions about seting up simulation and programming environment in Linux would be nice.

By soheir

Nov 23, 2018

I recommend this course to developers who want to get understanding about RTOS and work with it .. the videos is so short that you can get boring like other courses and the assigments are really hlpfull.

thanks so much to EIT Digital online university

and special thanks to Dr. Simon who gave a brief explaination to the topics

By Jose E L

Nov 05, 2017

The course is quite focused on schedulers and more lectures on FreeRTOS would be welcome. Although deeper and more extensive explanations about queues, mutexes, semaphores... and many other RTOS features, would be necessary, on average the course is interesting because you learn to understand how the core of any RTOS work.

By Mahesh K

Jan 30, 2018

It was really helpful course, thanks for providing such course.

+ Points - Nice arrangements of the topics, quiz , videos and assignments etc. Good help on the administrative queries etc.

Can be improved in terms of the coding assignments . We can provide some more coding assignments with different schedulers.

By Karol P

Jan 28, 2019

If you don't know how to start with RTOS, this course will be OK for you. I think it was overly theoretical and I wish there were more "real-life" programming assignments/lectures. Also adding "model" responses after you send out your work would be beneficial. Despite those drawbacks, I still recommend it.

By Emmanuel D

Dec 05, 2017

Strongly focused on the scheduling methods. Good introduction to freertos. I think it could be really helpful to have written notes along with the videos. I know it is a lot work to prepare this kind of document for a MOOC, but it would be a big benefit.

By siddharth s

Dec 15, 2016

Good introduction to RTOS concepts. A little theoretical, there could have been a project to do in the end which would have made the course objectives more clear.

By Gunjan B

Sep 12, 2019

It was good amount of leaning new things related to RTOS. This course gives you knowledge to design and choose the RTOS based on your requirement of the project.

By KUNAL M

Jun 04, 2020

Concepts of Real Time Systems explained nicely.Though FreeRTOS software needs to be explained in little depth.

By Durgesh K

Apr 19, 2020

More Tutorial for Programming should have been given. Otherwise, the course was very nice and informative.

By Werner O F S

Sep 18, 2017

Great course, sometimes hard to follow for newbies. Some instructions are a bit ambiguous or unclear.

By Yash S P

May 09, 2020

It was indeed a very good course, but it would be best if it taught coding from basics too!!