Chevron Left
Back to Development of Real-Time Systems

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Development of Real-Time Systems by EIT Digital

4.5
303 ratings
71 reviews

About the Course

This course is intended for the Master's student and computer engineer who likes practical programming and problem solving! After completing this course, you will have the knowledge to plan and set-up a real-time system both on paper and in practice. The course centers around the problem of achieving timing correctness in embedded systems, which means to guarantee that the system reacts within the real-time requirements. Examples of such systems include airbags, emergency breaks, avionics, and also multi-media systems like video playback and QoS in web servers. The course teaches how to plan real-time systems in theory using established mathematical proofs and how to implement them in practice by using the most common scheduling methods. We also learn and how to program the system in the C language using the FreeRTOS real-time kernel. Finally we have a look at the future of real-time systems namely multi-core real-time systems! This course focus on the learn-by-doing approach with many examples and real-world programming assignments. We have 5 modules, each with a gentle graded quiz in the end and one peer reviewed programming assignment. In case you have no experience with C programming, please check you a practical course like: https://www.coursera.org/learn/arduino-platform The course is actually quite fun! -Simon Holmbacka / Åbo Akademi University Check out our whole curriculum: https://research.it.abo.fi/...

Top reviews

LP

Jul 12, 2017

Real-Time systems are very demanded nowadays. Excellent course to review some aspects in this field or to learn everything from the beginning.

GT

Apr 23, 2018

I feel having in depth analysis on various scheduling algorithms would be helpful. I have learnt many things from this course.

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 70 Reviews for Development of Real-Time Systems

By Luis P

Jul 12, 2017

Real-Time systems are very demanded nowadays. Excellent course to review some aspects in this field or to learn everything from the beginning.

By Gavin W

Jun 14, 2017

Brilliant course, interesting all the way through and bit difficult in places but worth the effort

By Juan C

Mar 01, 2017

Great course, I strongly recommend it for those who want to start learning about Real Time Systems for embedded electronics

By Мамашев Р

Oct 16, 2017

Nice course

By Renat K

Jul 25, 2017

Excellent course for beginners!

By Itzik C

May 28, 2017

Very informative, hands on and practical RTOS

By Ricardo L

Sep 20, 2016

Very good content. Subject wheel explained and good practical exercises.

By Noureddine A S

May 24, 2018

It's one of the best courses I had. The most important thing is that possibility of illustrating the course theoretical concepts with real examples using a well-known OS such as FreeRTOS. Thanks Mr. Holmbacka and all the team.

By cristina

Aug 09, 2017

This course represents a nice introduction into the field of Real-Time Systems. The FreeRTOS assignments are very interesting and useful for a deeper understanding of the concepts presented in this course.

By rossihwang

Aug 13, 2016

very practical

By Akhilesh G

Feb 13, 2018

It covers very good concepts of real time systems in very brief yet so broad.

By Aleksandr B

Dec 12, 2017

Excellent

By Ергалиев Е Н

Feb 19, 2018

It was my pleasure!

By Guilherme V H

Feb 27, 2017

Excellent course.

By Felipe N

May 19, 2016

High level content, comfortable language, practical classes under Homeworks.

One of best Coursera courses to take.

By Belkin V D

Oct 14, 2017

+++

By Ghatty R T

Apr 23, 2018

I feel having in depth analysis on various scheduling algorithms would be helpful. I have learnt many things from this course.

By Soham J

Mar 24, 2017

Excellent introductory course. Good for all experience levels.

By dm.pham

Feb 22, 2017

scheduling algorithm is absolutely necessary for realtime system

By Bruno D

Jan 10, 2018

Very interesting course and everything was explained very good and calmly.

By 张明哲

Aug 04, 2019

awsome job!

i love the course the quiz and the assignment,

the teacher try his best to help us understand rtos.

maybe he can give some useful link about rtos theory ,like how to calculate URM ,U ,frame, but it is still worth to try.

in brief , it is almost perfect, hope Simon Holmbacka will give us more and more class like this one .

By esha p

Mar 25, 2019

good

By Karol P

Jan 28, 2019

If you don't know how to start with RTOS, this course will be OK for you. I think it was overly theoretical and I wish there were more "real-life" programming assignments/lectures. Also adding "model" responses after you send out your work would be beneficial. Despite those drawbacks, I still recommend it.

By soheir

Nov 23, 2018

I recommend this course to developers who want to get understanding about RTOS and work with it .. the videos is so short that you can get boring like other courses and the assigments are really hlpfull.

thanks so much to EIT Digital online university

and special thanks to Dr. Simon who gave a brief explaination to the topics

By Harshita T

Oct 28, 2018

Too goooood!!