Chevron Left
Back to How to Manage a Remote Team

Learner Reviews & Feedback for How to Manage a Remote Team by GitLab

4.9
stars
27 ratings
15 reviews

About the Course

Remote management is much more than just implementing a work-from-home policy. In this course, you’ll learn and apply remote work best practices, build your remote work policy, and prepare your team for success. This course is ideal for current managers, executives, and human resources professionals who want to learn how to lead and support a high-functioning, scalable remote team. GitLab is one of the world’s largest all-remote organizations; experts from throughout the company will guide you through in-depth lessons for leaders, people managers, and HR professionals to build, manage, and scale. By the end of this course, you will be able to: - Lead in a remote environment - Build a remote organizational culture and practices - Assess teams’ and managers’ readiness and preparation for remote work - Create a foundational strategy for executing a remote transformation For the final project in this course, you will create a real or hypothetical strategic plan to transition a team to remote operation. You will assess your organization's remote maturity and infrastructure, and identify the best team structure for remote operation — including determining whether to use an all-remote or remote-friendly model. You'll outline plans for documentation, education, leadership, and equipment or resource needs for your unique organization. This is an intermediate-level course, intended for learners who have previous experience managing or leading people. To succeed in this course, you should have at least one year of management experience. No remote experience is required....

Top reviews

HA

Oct 01, 2020

This course has been easy to follow, very informative, and most importantly, it provides a trail on how to think about and how to prepare an organization for the future of work.

DS

Oct 01, 2020

Relevant and with tons of ideas where to focus, where to spend money and a clear use case for any company that want to be serious about going remote.

Filter by:

1 - 16 of 16 Reviews for How to Manage a Remote Team

By Christian R

Oct 20, 2020

The course provides access to some very helpful information and ideas for remote team management. I had a good time and learned a lot. The linked resources are incredible value in itself.

However, I have some critique.

1) The activity of the course provider in the forum is very low. I had some questions about (I would say) false answers in the quizzes but there was never a reply from the teaching team.

2) Some video clips are just adding no value at all. In general, I felt like the clips could have a better connection and structured as a whole.

3) The course, to me, emphasis more on a transition of the organization to (ideally) an all-remote company than what it says in the title: Managing a Remote Team.

By MMR

Sep 23, 2020

It is an excellent course and just in time in view of large number of employees working from home or from remote sites. It is up-to-date and current and provide links to knowledge and tools that are current and evolving. The course provides an excellent resources library which you can use to further pursue topics of your interest in greater depth. The course is very well structured, written and presented and very easily to relate to. You can finish it in a week if you so wish.

By Oscar C F

Oct 28, 2020

Excellent course. I learnt a lot of things about both: management and remote work. The number of tips to facilitate the transition toward remote work were incredible! After the course, I was able to plan the path to more our Institution to an all-remote Institute. Thank you very much GitLab.

By Erzsébet S

Oct 20, 2020

The course highlights key elements in a remote transition, including benefits of remote, types of remote and possible challanges. Useful insight both if your team intend to work remotely or if the pandemic forced you to work remote.

By Jorge M

Oct 30, 2020

This is a great resource for Managers that are aiming to get it right on the remote work and that open-minded to think and act in different ways when comparing to the daily routines of co-located teams.

By Hugo A

Oct 01, 2020

This course has been easy to follow, very informative, and most importantly, it provides a trail on how to think about and how to prepare an organization for the future of work.

By Daniel A D S

Oct 01, 2020

Relevant and with tons of ideas where to focus, where to spend money and a clear use case for any company that want to be serious about going remote.

By Ernesto A R

Oct 04, 2020

Excellent course about remoting cultura, values and best practices. I will recommend all managers in my company to take it.

By Cornelius I

Oct 15, 2020

I am really impressed by the quality of this course. Super relevant information and great insights.

By Giannina P

Oct 28, 2020

Excellent course. Lessons I'll take for my life !!

By Rudi S

Oct 27, 2020

Simple with a lot of context and good guidelines.

By Martin O

Oct 29, 2020

Muy bueno, claro y ordenado! Súper recomendable.

By Brian C

Oct 23, 2020

Really great course with a lot of great examples

By João M

Oct 27, 2020

Easy to learn, great content and very engaging.

By Sangita B

Sep 30, 2020

This course was very enriching.

By Jenny

Oct 28, 2020

Great course learnt a lot