Chevron Left
Back to How to Manage a Remote Team

Learner Reviews & Feedback for How to Manage a Remote Team by GitLab

4.8
stars
217 ratings
84 reviews

About the Course

Remote management is much more than just implementing a work-from-home policy. In this course, you’ll learn and apply remote work best practices, build your remote work policy, and prepare your team for success. This course is ideal for current managers, executives, and human resources professionals who want to learn how to lead and support a high-functioning, scalable remote team. GitLab is one of the world’s largest all-remote organizations; experts from throughout the company will guide you through in-depth lessons for leaders, people managers, and HR professionals to build, manage, and scale. By the end of this course, you will be able to: - Lead in a remote environment - Build a remote organizational culture and practices - Assess teams’ and managers’ readiness and preparation for remote work - Create a foundational strategy for executing a remote transformation For the final project in this course, you will create a real or hypothetical strategic plan to transition a team to remote operation. You will assess your organization's remote maturity and infrastructure, and identify the best team structure for remote operation — including determining whether to use an all-remote or remote-friendly model. You'll outline plans for documentation, education, leadership, and equipment or resource needs for your unique organization. This is an intermediate-level course, intended for learners who have previous experience managing or leading people. To succeed in this course, you should have at least one year of management experience. No remote experience is required....

Top reviews

MS
Jan 18, 2021

Thank you for this opportunity. I learned a lot from this Course.This is very relevant. I will definitely recommend this course to my workmates and peers who are currently working from their homes.

MM
Nov 15, 2020

As a newly remote manager, this course was amazing. I actually work for GitLab, so it was really awesome to see the stuff explained in a way that was relevant to my company and role.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 83 Reviews for How to Manage a Remote Team

By Christian R

Oct 20, 2020

The course provides access to some very helpful information and ideas for remote team management. I had a good time and learned a lot. The linked resources are incredible value in itself.

However, I have some critique.

1) The activity of the course provider in the forum is very low. I had some questions about (I would say) false answers in the quizzes but there was never a reply from the teaching team.

2) Some video clips are just adding no value at all. In general, I felt like the clips could have a better connection and structured as a whole.

3) The course, to me, emphasis more on a transition of the organization to (ideally) an all-remote company than what it says in the title: Managing a Remote Team.

By Meghan M

Nov 16, 2020

As a newly remote manager, this course was amazing. I actually work for GitLab, so it was really awesome to see the stuff explained in a way that was relevant to my company and role.

By Niels H

Nov 2, 2020

Really excellent material you are providing. It is clear that you have given remote working a lot of thought and it shines through. The progression towards all-remote takes a bit too much space - space that could have been used for learning how to become an even better manger at all the other stages of remote work. But I will totally recommend this course to anyone in touch with a "remote" organization - and which is not these days.

Thank you for your time bringing this together. :-)

All the best.

By MMR

Sep 23, 2020

It is an excellent course and just in time in view of large number of employees working from home or from remote sites. It is up-to-date and current and provide links to knowledge and tools that are current and evolving. The course provides an excellent resources library which you can use to further pursue topics of your interest in greater depth. The course is very well structured, written and presented and very easily to relate to. You can finish it in a week if you so wish.

By Jorge S

Jan 10, 2021

Although it is a course aimed at managers, I have learned a lot about remote work, especially a human point of view when it comes to communicating and valuing my work and colleagues. In addition to being fascinated by how gitlab works, which was unknown to me, I have discovered some ideas of communication, organization. Thanks Gitlab for offering this course

By Marília M

Dec 31, 2020

This is course is amazing and has valuable information for anyone at any company with any level to start embracing a new mindset for working remotely. Very useful and up to date links, tools and real examples were fundamental to have a deep understanding of all the topics mentioned in this training course. Congrats to the team behind this! Well done! :)

By Cathryn R

Jan 5, 2021

I really enjoyed the course and found the act of marking other people's assignments a wonderful way to embed what I had learnt. I will be recommending this to my team and already I have a better understanding of why we are experiencing some of the challenges we currently do, and what I can do about it.

By Oscar C F

Oct 28, 2020

Excellent course. I learnt a lot of things about both: management and remote work. The number of tips to facilitate the transition toward remote work were incredible! After the course, I was able to plan the path to more our Institution to an all-remote Institute. Thank you very much GitLab.

By Kirk B

Nov 23, 2020

Well-organized and useful presentation of practical methods for transitioning to one of several remote work team structures. Useful for both managers and team members, as the challenges of creating a purposeful culture for a remote work team are discussed. Thanks!

By Dennis G

Nov 3, 2020

Great course. Must have for all who want to capitalise on the good that came out of the pandemic. The course gives great insights on how to transition to a remote organisation and that Peter Druckers "culture eats strategy for breakfast" is so true.

By Marco d F

Feb 22, 2021

Great course, lots of good content with plenty of food for the brain. I would recommend it for those with or without remote experience. It definitely teaches you something new and useful to put into practice in your daily activities.

By Erzsébet S

Oct 20, 2020

The course highlights key elements in a remote transition, including benefits of remote, types of remote and possible challanges. Useful insight both if your team intend to work remotely or if the pandemic forced you to work remote.

By Remy G

Feb 4, 2021

Incredibly well done, with awesome content from a company that has proven that their remote working recipe actually works. This is not a theoretical course. The information is based on actual success. I highly recommend.

By Raymundo V R

Nov 7, 2020

Really nice depict regarding how to think about transioning from a colocated team into a fully remote or remote first structure. I really enoyed the topics that were described as well and the final thought experiment.

By Lucia L

Dec 10, 2020

One of the best online courses I followed. Not only it touches a very hot topic of today - remote work, but the information and quality is exceptional. Thank you for sharing your expertise in the field! :)

By Jorge M

Oct 30, 2020

This is a great resource for Managers that are aiming to get it right on the remote work and that open-minded to think and act in different ways when comparing to the daily routines of co-located teams.

By Monira S

Jan 19, 2021

Thank you for this opportunity. I learned a lot from this Course.This is very relevant. I will definitely recommend this course to my workmates and peers who are currently working from their homes.

By Julian P

Nov 2, 2020

Very good overview and step by step discussion what's important if you are facing a remote transition. You can feel that the lecturers are experienced remote workers and managers.

By Hugo A

Sep 30, 2020

This course has been easy to follow, very informative, and most importantly, it provides a trail on how to think about and how to prepare an organization for the future of work.

By QING Y

Feb 7, 2021

How to manage a remote team is a very helpful course. It will definately help a lot of companies from diffirent industries to transit from colocated structure to remote team.

By Nizar C

Feb 2, 2021

Exceptional course with outstanding reading and visual material. I invite everyone to attend this course especially during this worldwide move affected by the pandemic.

By Kristy M

Dec 23, 2020

Helpful course and is relevant in supporting leaderships and employees who are adapting to remote work, will do remote work, or doing it as an outcome of COVID-19.

By Vincent B

Nov 30, 2020

Very interesting. Up-to-date (with current pandemic situation). Material is diverse (readings, videos, quizzes) making it easy to keep focus and make progress.

By Gregory T

Nov 29, 2020

Greate experience excellent course. The course is really helpful and the external resources from Gitlab more than simple examples and not just show cases.