Chevron Left
Back to How to Manage a Remote Team

Learner Reviews & Feedback for How to Manage a Remote Team by GitLab

4.8
stars
441 ratings
171 reviews

About the Course

Remote management is much more than just implementing a work-from-home policy. In this course, you’ll learn and apply remote work best practices, build your remote work policy, and prepare your team for success. This course is ideal for current managers, executives, and human resources professionals who want to learn how to lead and support a high-functioning, scalable remote team. GitLab is one of the world’s largest all-remote organizations; experts from throughout the company will guide you through in-depth lessons for leaders, people managers, and HR professionals to build, manage, and scale. By the end of this course, you will be able to: - Lead in a remote environment - Build a remote organizational culture and practices - Assess teams’ and managers’ readiness and preparation for remote work - Create a foundational strategy for executing a remote transformation For the final project in this course, you will create a real or hypothetical strategic plan to transition a team to remote operation. You will assess your organization's remote maturity and infrastructure, and identify the best team structure for remote operation — including determining whether to use an all-remote or remote-friendly model. You'll outline plans for documentation, education, leadership, and equipment or resource needs for your unique organization. This is an intermediate-level course, intended for learners who have previous experience managing or leading people. To succeed in this course, you should have at least one year of management experience. No remote experience is required....

Top reviews

JB
Jun 15, 2021

Amazing! I am happy to see how it is possible to obtain good results by sharing with plurality and concern for inclusion. I learned a lot, with direct practical use in my current roles in my company.

SF
May 26, 2021

A solid course, even for somebody with extensive experience in managing remotely. This will help you move your department or company on the right path to a remote work structure that works for you.

Filter by:

151 - 174 of 174 Reviews for How to Manage a Remote Team

By Anvar A

Jan 19, 2021

For those who already moved to remote work over pandemic time, not all the lectures will be useful (because they already passed many steps), but I found some very interesting things, like "good questions about a remote experience on interviews" and "culture/values for remote companies". Also, it was very interesting to read which tools GitLab uses in their work (probably it will be better to add an additional week to this course about tools/technologies which are vital for remote teams)

By Dario B

Mar 12, 2021

First training of this kind for me, so difficult to compare.

In general as online training I found it functional, linear, modules are not too long and you easily understand they key concepts, reference material is useful too. Tests could be a bit more challenging, knowing that you can repeat it as much as you want.

By Mathias L

Nov 8, 2020

Very easy to follow, food for thought and a number of excellent points to consider when planning a transition to remote work. A bit too much recruitment for gitlab - but if their company works as they tell, it seems to be an excellent "place" to be (the advertisement works).

By Manuel M

Feb 22, 2021

Great course. I only miss it was focused in Gitlab experience with his own product, but when you work for different clients and projects in multiple contexts, some things are pretty different to Gitlab experience.

By Julia S

Jul 27, 2021

It was very structured, and well explained. The mixture between pre-read and additional texts were very good. I would like to have s short revue in bullied points to habe a recap. Thank you was a pleasure. Julia

By Jay B

Feb 3, 2021

This was a very good course describing the path a company can take to working remotely in part or in full. I wish it had a little more detail for how individual supervisors might manage their remote employees.

By Daniel N

Sep 23, 2021

I​t's a good introduction course with great tempo and a clear message. A little bit of a "sales" pitch for Gitlab but I guess thats fine when the course comes free of charge. Thank you!

By Joyce K

Jan 4, 2021

I especially liked the GitLab resouces that were made available to all participants. This level of trnasparency and quality is a great example for those setting up remote teams.

By Vittorio B

Mar 2, 2021

Excellent about either specific management principles and operative implications, maybe it could be a little more exhaustive about different attitudes, due to generational gaps.

By Martin B

Jul 6, 2021

Too much centered around a single company (sometimes, feels more as a commercial than a course). Good insight on many aspects of remote working, though.

By Fotis P

Nov 25, 2020

Very interesting course on remote work. A new field of study and practice, thus this kind of courses are very valuable.

By Tiago M d A R

Feb 7, 2021

I miss a bit more about how to handle the async parts. Probably need to read the Gitlab handbook

By Amaury H A G

Feb 5, 2021

We can do maybe more complete and complicated questioners to really cover all the knowledge.

By Jagruti M

Oct 28, 2021

It helped me to well plan the processes to mange teams remotely and also effectively.

By Fabien D

Nov 17, 2020

Very nice introduction about how to change the company life.. Without breaking links.

By Mike K

Mar 2, 2021

Good info, well presented. It would be 5 stars but it's a little bit surface level.

By Alan L

Mar 1, 2021

Clearly identified the few and most important messages from this course.

By Alessandro B

Dec 6, 2020

Good introductory course. Some cases on top on GitLab could have helped.

By Henri B

Jul 1, 2021

A good structured step up to remote working in all forms,

By Selim

Aug 2, 2021

Great

By Andrey S

Nov 30, 2020

I came to the course to learn about managing the remote teams. I was looking for the practical experience and advices. I was expecting to get real life example based on the years of experience that GitLab has working remotely. I've got something completely different and it disappointed me. I see this course as a set of slides that are read out loud by people working in GitLab. My expectations were certainly not matched. Maybe for the further iterations of the course it would be nice to make it more humane and real-life. What I liked is the set of materials Gitalb provided as a supportive materials for the course. There are a lot but it is easier to get them from there rather than look for the same on Gitlab website.

By Dwanna C

Mar 15, 2021

It was okay. I took the Inclusion course first which was outstanding so this was a little bit of a let down. I would have liked to have a few mini assignments that led up to the whole transition plan. Perhaps doing parts of the plan along the way would be better and allow the student to implement the smaller things that should be in a plan.

However, this course did provide some good insight which I appreciated having never worked remotely.

By Meelik G

Nov 22, 2020

Very basic course

By Roman Z

Aug 24, 2021

Quite general information and advice, not very detailed course.