Chevron Left
Back to How to Manage a Remote Team

Learner Reviews & Feedback for How to Manage a Remote Team by GitLab

4.8
stars
447 ratings
172 reviews

About the Course

Remote management is much more than just implementing a work-from-home policy. In this course, you’ll learn and apply remote work best practices, build your remote work policy, and prepare your team for success. This course is ideal for current managers, executives, and human resources professionals who want to learn how to lead and support a high-functioning, scalable remote team. GitLab is one of the world’s largest all-remote organizations; experts from throughout the company will guide you through in-depth lessons for leaders, people managers, and HR professionals to build, manage, and scale. By the end of this course, you will be able to: - Lead in a remote environment - Build a remote organizational culture and practices - Assess teams’ and managers’ readiness and preparation for remote work - Create a foundational strategy for executing a remote transformation For the final project in this course, you will create a real or hypothetical strategic plan to transition a team to remote operation. You will assess your organization's remote maturity and infrastructure, and identify the best team structure for remote operation — including determining whether to use an all-remote or remote-friendly model. You'll outline plans for documentation, education, leadership, and equipment or resource needs for your unique organization. This is an intermediate-level course, intended for learners who have previous experience managing or leading people. To succeed in this course, you should have at least one year of management experience. No remote experience is required....

Top reviews

JB
Jun 15, 2021

Amazing! I am happy to see how it is possible to obtain good results by sharing with plurality and concern for inclusion. I learned a lot, with direct practical use in my current roles in my company.

MS
Jan 18, 2021

Thank you for this opportunity. I learned a lot from this Course.This is very relevant. I will definitely recommend this course to my workmates and peers who are currently working from their homes.

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 175 Reviews for How to Manage a Remote Team

By Krista I M

Apr 8, 2021

Though remote work has been around for quite some time, the pandemic has changed the game for most workplaces. This is a great course for anyone who wants to learn how they can gradually adapt to remote work and how they can optimize their current remote work setup.

By Kathrin W

Oct 6, 2021

G​reat course to learn about and understand all aspects about remote work! The offered information GitLab provided have been extraordinary. Anyone who's considering remote work or wants to be up to date with this approach of New Work - this is the course for you!

By Dennis G

Nov 3, 2020

Great course. Must have for all who want to capitalise on the good that came out of the pandemic. The course gives great insights on how to transition to a remote organisation and that Peter Druckers "culture eats strategy for breakfast" is so true.

By Aliaksei A

Nov 24, 2021

The course is great and has a lot information. Of course, it's only a tip of the iceberg and one can find a lot of additional articles in GitLab's handbook. Would be great to have a maturity model for remote teams that will help with assesment.

By Marco d F

Feb 22, 2021

Great course, lots of good content with plenty of food for the brain. I would recommend it for those with or without remote experience. It definitely teaches you something new and useful to put into practice in your daily activities.

By Erzsébet S

Oct 20, 2020

The course highlights key elements in a remote transition, including benefits of remote, types of remote and possible challanges. Useful insight both if your team intend to work remotely or if the pandemic forced you to work remote.

By Remy G

Feb 4, 2021

Incredibly well done, with awesome content from a company that has proven that their remote working recipe actually works. This is not a theoretical course. The information is based on actual success. I highly recommend.

By Bryn P L

Apr 19, 2021

Great course if you want to ramp on remote working and especially if your looking to adopt remote working styles. Even if your looking to just review the possibilitie it's worth taking to inform you of the road ahead.

By Raymundo V R

Nov 7, 2020

Really nice depict regarding how to think about transioning from a colocated team into a fully remote or remote first structure. I really enoyed the topics that were described as well and the final thought experiment.

By Jp C

May 3, 2021

It was FUN!

This course makes me think about my own Career Path. Personally, I have like 13 years working from home as a freelancer, but with a series of good practices from the job I have now and this course,

By Lucia L

Dec 10, 2020

One of the best online courses I followed. Not only it touches a very hot topic of today - remote work, but the information and quality is exceptional. Thank you for sharing your expertise in the field! :)

By Jorge M

Oct 30, 2020

This is a great resource for Managers that are aiming to get it right on the remote work and that open-minded to think and act in different ways when comparing to the daily routines of co-located teams.

By Lars S

May 20, 2021

Very well structured course highlighting benefits and challenges of remote working and onsite models and providing good tips and ideas for successfully navigating the "new normal" of distributed teams.

By João P B

Jun 16, 2021

Amazing! I am happy to see how it is possible to obtain good results by sharing with plurality and concern for inclusion. I learned a lot, with direct practical use in my current roles in my company.

By Stephen F

May 27, 2021

A​ solid course, even for somebody with extensive experience in managing remotely. This will help you move your department or company on the right path to a remote work structure that works for you.

By Julian P

Nov 2, 2020

Very good overview and step by step discussion what's important if you are facing a remote transition. You can feel that the lecturers are experienced remote workers and managers.

By Hugo A

Sep 30, 2020

This course has been easy to follow, very informative, and most importantly, it provides a trail on how to think about and how to prepare an organization for the future of work.

By QING Y

Feb 7, 2021

How to manage a remote team is a very helpful course. It will definately help a lot of companies from diffirent industries to transit from colocated structure to remote team.

By Clotilda K

May 5, 2021

This course is an eye-opener to Remote Work structure.

I have learned new skills of leading a remote work team and enjoyed doing the assignments and the discussion forums.

By Nizar C

Feb 2, 2021

Exceptional course with outstanding reading and visual material. I invite everyone to attend this course especially during this worldwide move affected by the pandemic.

By Matteo L

Apr 17, 2021

Thank you for the great journey. I have found a lot of information and many cases to study. Absolutely recommended to have a serious approach to the remote management.

By DoFlo

May 17, 2021

a great overview of remote work and some of the required thinking to get started. I recommend this course for those looking to understand their remote point of view.

By Kristy M

Dec 23, 2020

Helpful course and is relevant in supporting leaderships and employees who are adapting to remote work, will do remote work, or doing it as an outcome of COVID-19.

By Jesus G V C

Mar 5, 2021

It was an amazing experience, I learned a lot from a big company like GitLab, it was really amazing because now I can help to my employer towards a remote program

By Vincent B

Nov 30, 2020

Very interesting. Up-to-date (with current pandemic situation). Material is diverse (readings, videos, quizzes) making it easy to keep focus and make progress.