Chevron Left
Back to Requirements Writing

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Requirements Writing by UNSW Sydney (The University of New South Wales)

4.6
stars
328 ratings

About the Course

Welcome to "Requirements Writing". As the title indicates, over the next four weeks, we will be looking at the important task of writing of text-based requirement statements. The course takes you step by step through the rules for writing requirements statements in accordance with the "Guide for Writing Requirements" published by the International Council on Systems Engineering (INCOSE). This course welcomes anyone who wants to find out how to write requirements. It is relevant to anyone in project management, engineering, QA, logistic support, operations, management, maintenance and other work areas. No specific background is required, and we welcome learners with all levels of interest and experience....

Top reviews

SR

Aug 4, 2020

This course provides a great introduction to requirements writing. I would recommend this to anyone who is new to writing requirements and needs to quickly understand how to write good requirements.

DP

Jul 27, 2021

Admirably rigorous and thorough, this course is an excellent resource for advancing or refreshing skills and mindset when it comes to capturing & defining requirements.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 89 Reviews for Requirements Writing

By Johannes W

May 15, 2021

This course is good content-wise, but, and that is a big mistake, it is not self-paced! Heaps of unsolved problems regarding this in the discussion forum. You can only take a week's content at a time, and then have to wait for a week to work on the content of the next week! No chance of finishing this four hour-course on a day, as you would usually want to do it.

By Nachiket D

Jul 4, 2018

Excellent overview of good requirements writing practice! Useful for both newcomers and those practicing systems engineering in the field. Thank you for this course!

By James H

Apr 3, 2020

The structure for the requirements that the course is trying to teach is good and logical. However the test information is very annoying. It seems to care too much about the naming the error in each requirement and never really asks you to fix the requirement. Who cares if the error is a passive voice or in the definite article, you need to be able to spot this an error and fix it. Re-structure the quizzes and tests - this course could be so much better.

By Stefan R

Aug 5, 2020

This course provides a great introduction to requirements writing. I would recommend this to anyone who is new to writing requirements and needs to quickly understand how to write good requirements.

By Bhushan B

Sep 8, 2022

The Course is good to get familiar with requirement writing in simple way. Thanks to Capgemini and Coursera for providing better opportunities.

By Edwin C v E

Dec 29, 2018

The course is way too short. Less than 1 hour of video material (for the 4 weeks combined!) is far below average. The INCOSE writing guideline, which can be bought on the INCOSE webpage and which is listed as recommended reading, is more than enough for most people to grasp the concepts behind textual guidelines, and to write and review textual guidelines themselves. The INCOSE guideline even includes lots of examples. Pushing his own pricey book (which is not at all required to successfully pass the course) at the end of each and every video becomes fairly annoying after 2 or 3 videos and should have been left out completely.

Apart from these issues, the course content is good. It is based on the INCOSE writing guide (of which dr. Ryan was a co-creator) and ISO 29148. Solid and valuable material, but as stated above, the course is too pricey to make it worthwhile for some people.

By Vincenzo F

Mar 9, 2022

As basic course, it is extremely well explained.

The basic concepts are shown in a clear manner, easy to understand and "digest".

One point needs in my opinion to be improved, and that is the use of the logical condition AND and OR: it is not always clear when a Requirement needs to be split in two separete requirements, or a logical condition needs to be used.

My best regards.

Vincenzo

By Vitor N H

Dec 5, 2019

Requirements writing, as presented in this course, was very meticulous and may cause the impression that it is unnecessary in this form. But, after participating in some real cases, it is possible to understand why it should be done that way. Even small systems, how it happened to me, can be poorly built if the requirements are not completely clear.

By Anastasiia N

Apr 1, 2018

This course is wery useful to understand basical principals and main rulls for Writing Requirements.

I recomend this cours for all who write and use requirements. It helps understand requirements. After the cours you will write high quality requirements. Base on them you will have perfect results and good productivity at your project.

By Manish K

May 3, 2018

Really good course to learn language to be used for requirements writing. The entire course videos take less than couple of hours to finish and provide detailed explanations with good examples. And the quizzes are really good help to understand the course content with really good examples.

By Trevor P

Jun 27, 2022

Very good. Covers the basics and I feel that I am more qualified to write requirements now than I was before this class. It really opened my eyes about the nature of writing text-based requirements; although anyone can read them, it takes a bit of know-how to be able to write them well.

By Sunil K G

May 3, 2022

Excellent course to explore the various dimensions of Requirements in Industry. The entire course is framed around keeping the INCOSE's requirement guidelines into consideration which is the best thing in this course. Highly recommended course for learning how to write requirements.

By Timothy L

Apr 2, 2022

Excelent overview of the rules and expectations for appropraite requirements writing. Presentations easy to follow and well structured. Completion of this course has inspired me to delve further into the subject, to better refine and improve my skills.

By Avishek K

Aug 11, 2018

Although the course is at introductory stage, the topics covered are of great value and shows how to avoid pitfalls whilst writing requirements by highlighting most common overlooked mistakes.

Thank you Mike. Thank you one again for the

By pietro v

Nov 4, 2020

Few but precise an useful concepts. Well explained by a very good instructor. His voice and pronunciation were sometime unclear to me, for my limited English listening capabilities. Of course that is not his fault but mine.

By Gustav E

Sep 16, 2021

Really appreciated this course. I've been writing software requirements for some time (5 years) but this was helpful to give structure and avoid ambiguity. Recommended for beginners as well as people with more experience.

By Jerry A K

Aug 30, 2018

Great overview of the Requirements Writing practice using INCOSE's system as guidance. Plenty of expansion on concepts that makes this course a great companion for further exploration of Systems Engineering.

By GracieM

Jun 30, 2018

Excellent course. However, the real test will be translation into reality. As a BA of 10 plus years, I've never seen or had to write requirements in this style - yet I can see the value of such an approach.

By Regoui

Nov 19, 2021

The Course is very clear and rich.

The repeatable quizzes improves considerably the comprehension and the experience .

Thanks for providing all this amount and variety of quizzes’s questions.

By Daniel P

Jul 28, 2021

Admirably rigorous and thorough, this course is an excellent resource for advancing or refreshing skills and mindset when it comes to capturing & defining requirements.

By Shubham S

Feb 28, 2021

very exhaustive for such a short paced course but so nicely knit, gives you much information about Req. writing you'd been missing

By Pietro R

Apr 26, 2022

Introductional level, as declared, but very useful to secure some points among people's personal opinions on requirement writing.

By David M B

Nov 17, 2019

Very great introduction to write requirements. Advises were excellent and very useful to write requirements in every industry.

By Thilak M

Jun 24, 2020

Make sure you take notes, a lot of this material is so handy to refer to and explained a lot easier than in the INCOSE Guide

By Josué S

Dec 25, 2020

Excellent introduction course for requirements writing. It is simple and very well explained.

I definitely recommend it!