Chevron Left
Back to Requirements Writing

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Requirements Writing by UNSW Sydney (The University of New South Wales)

4.7
stars
218 ratings
68 reviews

About the Course

Welcome to "Requirements Writing". As the title indicates, over the next four weeks, we will be looking at the important task of writing of text-based requirement statements. The course takes you step by step through the rules for writing requirements statements in accordance with the "Guide for Writing Requirements" published by the International Council on Systems Engineering (INCOSE). This course welcomes anyone who wants to find out how to write requirements. It is relevant to anyone in project management, engineering, QA, logistic support, operations, management, maintenance and other work areas. No specific background is required, and we welcome learners with all levels of interest and experience....

Top reviews

SR

Aug 4, 2020

This course provides a great introduction to requirements writing. I would recommend this to anyone who is new to writing requirements and needs to quickly understand how to write good requirements.

DP

Jul 27, 2021

Admirably rigorous and thorough, this course is an excellent resource for advancing or refreshing skills and mindset when it comes to capturing & defining requirements.

Filter by:

51 - 69 of 69 Reviews for Requirements Writing

By Soumyajit B

Oct 18, 2021

Pros: A​ refreshing way to learn the not-so-enthusing field of requirement writing. This is definitely a much better way to start off requirement writing than trying to read long guides and standards on the same topic. The quizes make you think and that's the best way to learn.

C​ons: The course is by no means complete and could have definitely packed in more material, like explaining more of the 40-odd rules as laid out by INCOSE. Most annoying though are the numerous 'bugs' in the weekly quizes which I can't figure out have not been weeded out yet given that the course has been around for some time.

By Wagner S M

Aug 3, 2020

The overall course is really good, but the problems with requirements statement are kind of too subjective. For example, "unnecessary precision" was being used for a missing tolerance in one of the exercises. I don't know if this was an error or the concepts are too subjective.

My suggestion would be to better define these concepts (maybe using requirements!) and also add an option for the student to provide feedback on each of the exercises. Like this we could point out when we disagree with the answer.

By Adail M R

Apr 22, 2018

This was a good overview of Requirements Writing, an important part of the Requirements Engineering discipline, which is a major component of Systems Engineering. I wish it was a bit more thorough and with more examples and practices, but very good anyway. I highly recommend it to technical writers, project managers, product managers, business analysts, and anyone who is involved somehow in the process of writing specifications.

By Luke E

Aug 1, 2018

Good summary of how not to write requirements. The content is a little dry but is clear enough. I find it a little annoying to remember specific terminology of why a requirement is not correct, when the semantics are very similar (e.g. conjunctions and logical conditions).

The course definitely reinforced my previous learning and would recommend to anyone who needs to write or review requirements as it is a bit of an art!

By THOMAS J

Feb 28, 2022

The lecture material is really fantastic for learning the fundamentals of requirements writing, but for a course about precise writing the quizzes are rife with ambiguities in terms which makes it impossible to avoid wrong answers even with a good understanding of the material. I would really appreciate harder questions rather than tricks.

By Edward B

Jun 10, 2020

Overall it's an informative and straightforward course. There are certain times where there are some overlap in the answers to questions which they don't cover explicitly in the lessons, however just going over the practice tests is very useful.

By Lucy D

Feb 9, 2018

Very well taught cause, and very useful. This will definitely help me be a better communicator. Course is difficult though, very intricate definitions and use of language.

By TJM t W

Feb 11, 2019

Week 3 was difficult still not completely grasp the difference between when it is a [logic condition] OR [incorrect conjuction].

For the rest a good course!

By Hanish M

Oct 30, 2019

The course was extremely informational and useful. I thank Coursera for providing me with Financial aid for this course.

By Rajendra T

Feb 20, 2018

Very short and to the point!

But I think other aspects of requirements writing could have been covered through course.

By Max C

Jun 4, 2021

Great content, multiple choice answers really limit the demonstration of the student's knowledge.

By Franco S

Jul 8, 2019

Very thorough course about the rules on how to write text-based requirements

By Udochi E Q

Jun 22, 2020

I found this course very helpful and practical

By Edwin C v E

Dec 29, 2018

The course is way too short. Less than 1 hour of video material (for the 4 weeks combined!) is far below average. The INCOSE writing guideline, which can be bought on the INCOSE webpage and which is listed as recommended reading, is more than enough for most people to grasp the concepts behind textual guidelines, and to write and review textual guidelines themselves. The INCOSE guideline even includes lots of examples. Pushing his own pricey book (which is not at all required to successfully pass the course) at the end of each and every video becomes fairly annoying after 2 or 3 videos and should have been left out completely.

Apart from these issues, the course content is good. It is based on the INCOSE writing guide (of which dr. Ryan was a co-creator) and ISO 29148. Solid and valuable material, but as stated above, the course is too pricey to make it worthwhile for some people.

By Michael K

Jan 29, 2018

Although I enjoyed the course, I found it to be only a superficial introduction to the subject. It took me 2 hours and 12 minutes (132 minutes) to finish this "5 weeks" course with 100% grade. After viewing the first lecture in audit mode, I was quite enthusiastic and directly purchased the certified course. However, now I feel like I didn't get much for my $49 when I compare this short course with other Coursera courses. Many of them would offer the amount of material shown here in their first week - while providing much more in-depth knowledge in the remaining 3-4 weeks.

By James H

Apr 3, 2020

The structure for the requirements that the course is trying to teach is good and logical. However the test information is very annoying. It seems to care too much about the naming the error in each requirement and never really asks you to fix the requirement. Who cares if the error is a passive voice or in the definite article, you need to be able to spot this an error and fix it. Re-structure the quizzes and tests - this course could be so much better.

By Johannes W

May 15, 2021

This course is good content-wise, but, and that is a big mistake, it is not self-paced! Heaps of unsolved problems regarding this in the discussion forum. You can only take a week's content at a time, and then have to wait for a week to work on the content of the next week! No chance of finishing this four hour-course on a day, as you would usually want to do it.

By Arnau C

Dec 7, 2018

Just OK. In my opinion, the answers are not clear: they are ambiguous.

By SANJAY C

May 13, 2022

good