Chevron Left
Back to Understanding Research Methods

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Understanding Research Methods by University of London

4.5
1,640 ratings
486 reviews

About the Course

This MOOC is about demystifying research and research methods. It will outline the fundamentals of doing research, aimed primarily, but not exclusively, at the postgraduate level. It places the student experience at the centre of our endeavours by engaging learners in a range of robust and challenging discussions and exercises befitting SOAS, University of London's status as a research-intensive university and its rich research heritage. The course will appeal to those of you who require an understanding of research approaches and skills, and importantly an ability to deploy them in your studies or in your professional lives. In particular, this course will aid those of you who have to conduct research as part of your postgraduate studies but do not perhaps have access to research methods courses, or for those of you who feel you would like additional support for self-improvement. No prior knowledge or experience in research is required to take this course and as such, the course is for everyone. This MOOC draws on a wealth of existing course material developed to support research training across SOAS, University of London and particularly drawing from the Centre for International Studies and Diplomacy (CISD). In 2015, the course was nominated for the prestigious Guardian University Award for its innovative approach to online learning. Participation in or completion of this online course will not confer academic credit for University of London programmes...

Top reviews

AG

Jul 27, 2017

This is wonderful course especially for research scholars, one suggestion is instead of giving articles from books, please provide a PPT which will be more effective ! thank you for wonderful session.

CD

Jan 25, 2017

I got to learn a lot about various research methods which i did not know previously. The timing of presentation of various ideas was excellent. Reviewing classmates was a good learning experience.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 475 Reviews for Understanding Research Methods

By Gol B

Jul 12, 2019

Although there are some nice insights to grasp, the focus and practical means is totally missing. There is no clear objective for the course and it's not going make you to either know the theories considering research methods nor is going to make you able to use them solely by following the course.

By Sambeet P

Apr 16, 2017

It was a great course.Dr.Simon and Dr.Yenn did a great work in summarising and preparing great etivities.Dr.Sandra Halperin's research methods and views will stay for a long time with me.

By Moustafa a f e

Aug 30, 2015

thanks a lot for this course i think that it will help me to progress in research practice

and to publish researches and to learn how to find answers to burning questions in my mind

By ALLWYN G

Jul 27, 2017

This is wonderful course especially for research scholars, one suggestion is instead of giving articles from books, please provide a PPT which will be more effective ! thank you for wonderful session.

By Stéphane P R

May 21, 2019

This was my very first course online, and I enjoyed it a lot. I was very surprised by the teaching approach, through interviews of several professors -- each presenting his/her own perspective on the respective topics -- and I found that a very judicious way to avoid the "death by PowerPoint". The transliteration of the content of the interview ("karaoke-like") below the screen is also a very helpful tool. Thanks also for the reading materials; I'll keep them as good references.

All in one, that was worth the experience!

Warm thanks to you all!

-- Stéphane (Bangkok)

By Zaki S

Jun 14, 2019

Understanding Research Methods is an interesting basic course regarding research, clarifies many queries of students, academicians and researchers.

By Sofiane A

May 31, 2019

The course is weak, we have a lot of discussion and opinions with no much guidline and tools.

The readings are specific to social sciences, it should be clear in the title.

By norbert b

Dec 09, 2018

Great course

By fatma s a

Dec 09, 2018

thank you very much , i like every thing

By Guillermo E P

Dec 09, 2018

Excellent structured! Thank you. I will recommend it!

By SHARMILA H S

Feb 04, 2019

It's very much useful for a beginner in reserach

By Ana F C D

Feb 04, 2019

excelente curso

By Hassan A

Feb 05, 2019

VERY GOOD EXPLANATION WITH EXAMPLES.

By Sabeena G

Jan 26, 2019

A very good course for all those who are pursuing a research.

By Mohamed O

Nov 20, 2018

Excellent course, recommen it for everyone

By ivan f c

Nov 20, 2018

exelente curso, nos muestra las bases para realizar una investigacion

By Nabil M A

Nov 08, 2018

Thanks for the course. I have learned many new things. Thank you so much for Simon and his colleague. hope to attend anther course with you.

Thanks again

Nabil

By Lexz P L

Nov 25, 2018

I like this one. It is full of information from great experts in the field.

By Mohamed O T I

Nov 26, 2018

this course is very helpful for every students and researchers

By Azizah A B

Nov 26, 2018

Thank you so much so far ,I will take anther coures .I was excited.

By Sheikh N I

Jan 20, 2019

Thanks!

By Okudzeto H

Jan 24, 2019

I am really enjoying this course that helps me to learn from my colleagues across the globe. Great work done for this platform.

By U K K

Feb 09, 2019

Thank You Very Much sir

By Yerlan U

Feb 11, 2019

The course has real knowledgable value. Well done instructors.

By Deepak J M

Feb 10, 2019

Very useful and interesting course.