Chevron Left
Back to Understanding Research Methods

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Understanding Research Methods by University of London

4.5
1,774 ratings
519 reviews

About the Course

This MOOC is about demystifying research and research methods. It will outline the fundamentals of doing research, aimed primarily, but not exclusively, at the postgraduate level. It places the student experience at the centre of our endeavours by engaging learners in a range of robust and challenging discussions and exercises befitting SOAS, University of London's status as a research-intensive university and its rich research heritage. The course will appeal to those of you who require an understanding of research approaches and skills, and importantly an ability to deploy them in your studies or in your professional lives. In particular, this course will aid those of you who have to conduct research as part of your postgraduate studies but do not perhaps have access to research methods courses, or for those of you who feel you would like additional support for self-improvement. No prior knowledge or experience in research is required to take this course and as such, the course is for everyone. This MOOC draws on a wealth of existing course material developed to support research training across SOAS, University of London and particularly drawing from the Centre for International Studies and Diplomacy (CISD). In 2015, the course was nominated for the prestigious Guardian University Award for its innovative approach to online learning. Participation in or completion of this online course will not confer academic credit for University of London programmes...

Top reviews

AG

Jul 27, 2017

This is wonderful course especially for research scholars, one suggestion is instead of giving articles from books, please provide a PPT which will be more effective ! thank you for wonderful session.

AB

Sep 10, 2019

very good course. The last e-activity was proposal preparation. It will be good if they add something about sampling in reading materials. Very good experience for me.....I will recommend this course

Filter by:

251 - 275 of 509 Reviews for Understanding Research Methods

By 姚娇娇

Jul 26, 2018

It is very useful ,i like it !!!

By Dimple

Jul 29, 2018

It was a very good session,,great learning experience..Keep it up.

Hoping to look forward for some more courses like this.

By Marco G

Aug 01, 2018

Nice course, really innovative way of teaching.

However, I would only recommend this course to undergraduate student or people who are interested in research but do not have any background since this is clearly an introduction course.

By Loo C W

Sep 04, 2018

Good introduction for new student who is going for bachelor and master level research

By Monica I S S

Sep 03, 2018

muy buen curso, ayuda a realizar una buena investigacion

By Marco A F G

Aug 22, 2018

Excelente aprendizaje

By Natalia E

Aug 21, 2018

Good and clear introduction to research methods

By Karime C J

Sep 06, 2018

Es muy buena la metodologia y el material, ea interesante los puntos de vista de otras personas

By Nurlan J

Sep 11, 2018

The course was nicely designed and helped me to explore new perspectives and expand my questioning skills to master them. Moreover, it provided valuable real-life experiences and advices from senior scholars which improved the practicality of the course.

Thank you for everything, dear University of London and the Team!

By Azgard A

Oct 19, 2018

Fue muy interesante aprender los fundamentos para la investigación

By Mahmoud E

Aug 05, 2018

good

By Nourhan M

Aug 23, 2018

helpful course

By Debasish P

Aug 26, 2018

Excellent. In a very short time it can help you to understand how research work? Peer Review method is excellent and everybody is very cooperative. I will recommend this course to all young researchers like me.

By Hassan A R

Aug 11, 2018

Very effective and understandable

By Bibek

Aug 15, 2018

Very good course

By Tesfazgi S

Aug 28, 2018

This course helped me to improve my understanding on research methods. Especially how to formulate a research question, the use of literature review and how to select a p

By Nabil M A

Nov 08, 2018

Thanks for the course. I have learned many new things. Thank you so much for Simon and his colleague. hope to attend anther course with you.

Thanks again

Nabil

By Zainab R

Oct 30, 2018

very useful course for learning basics of research..

By Ahmed A F

Oct 31, 2018

Fantastic application

By Lexz P L

Nov 25, 2018

I like this one. It is full of information from great experts in the field.

By Mohamed O T I

Nov 26, 2018

this course is very helpful for every students and researchers

By Azizah A B

Nov 26, 2018

Thank you so much so far ,I will take anther coures .I was excited.

By Mohamed O

Nov 20, 2018

Excellent course, recommen it for everyone

By ivan f c

Nov 20, 2018

exelente curso, nos muestra las bases para realizar una investigacion

By Sparsha K

Sep 29, 2018

It's a very good course and to be recommended to anyone who has a passion to pursue research.