Chevron Left
Back to Music's Big Bang: The Genesis of Rock 'n' Roll

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Music's Big Bang: The Genesis of Rock 'n' Roll by University of Florida

4.7
stars
112 ratings
42 reviews

About the Course

Explores the factors — musical and cultural — that led to the birth of American rock 'n' roll music in the early 1950s. Covers in detail the genres, styles and people that converged to create this new music....

Top reviews

LW
May 25, 2016

What an awesome course! I am truly learning about the foundation of what we call Rock n Roll music. The professor does such a wonderful job of instructing this class. Thank you

SG
Oct 13, 2020

I was very curious about the Rock and Roll genre ever since I heard the Led Zeppelin song Stairway to Heaven. The lecture has been informative and fun. Thank you very much!

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 42 Reviews for Music's Big Bang: The Genesis of Rock 'n' Roll

By Clifford L

Oct 3, 2020

It is a most enjoyable, entertaining, memorable, and unique course on the history of rock and roll. You'll never get such an excellent course on the subject like this one. If you like or love rock and roll, this gives you the background and foundation of how rock and roll came to be. The course had memorable features such as: the professor would play country western or blues songs and then play the cover versions by rock and roll bands in the 1950's - 1960's for comparison; the professor would give reasons why Elvis Presley was such a major force in rock and roll; and the professor would describe the four themes that pervail throughout the history of rock and roll and show its evolution was not haphazard or by chance. I won't list the themes; you have to take the course. It will be well worth your time to take this course. It will even increase your appreciation of rock and roll.

By Paula S

Jul 13, 2020

Excellent course! Very interesting to learn the background of rock and roll. I would like to learn more. I was born the same year as the instructor, 1952. Thank you very much for allowing me to get my certificate via scholarship! Money is a little tight right now. I hope to continue this study in the future as it is fascinating!

The only thing I would change is the answers to the questions that come up during the pause in the video. A couple of them are incorrect. Also one of the answers in the first or second quiz is wrong also. Several other class members noted this and commented on it.

Thanks again for a great class!

Paula L. Stansell

By Jacob C

Oct 31, 2020

This course was very informative, but easy to follow. The professor did an excellent job presenting music and culture throughout the first half of the twentieth century, and giving key information of the artists and styles that were popular at that time. This course is definitely engaging to anyone seeking to learn more about music or culture in the 1900s. As a classically-trained musician who knew little-to-nothing about the origins of Rock and Roll, this class was insightful, informative, and inspiring. It definitely broadened my horizons as a musician, and increased my appreciation for this era of music.

By Phillip P

May 6, 2020

Great course thank you. I was born the year before Rock n Roll was born as well as Prof Dave.

At home (Sydney Australia), growing up my oldest brother played Frank Sinatra records my next eldest played Elvis Presley records. I came later in the Beatles , Stones, Led Zeppelin era. So this course put lots of pieces to my musical jigsaw of tastes in place. The British obsessions with blues fascinating, (a little disappointed in the Zep not acknowledging the influences). Thank you again, my time in the COVID-19 Pandemic was put to wonderful use, thank you again to Uni of Florida and The Genesis of Rock n Roll

By Angela C

Jun 16, 2017

This course was very informative. I was enlightened to learn how music migrated from New Orleans to Chicago due to the economy. I was surprised to learn that rock was not initially accepted by mainstream America - that it was considered "lowbrow". I learned how rock artists of the 70's did many covers of blues genre artists. I was surprised to learn how the Rolling Stones came up with their band name. Overall, I was impressed how music crossed race lines in a country that was/is extremely segregated. It makes you wonder where music will be in another fifty years.

By Gary B

Feb 15, 2019

This is one of the few courses I have taken that I was sorry to see end.

I have been a long time blues fan from Howlin Wolf to the current blue great such as the Allman brothers, Blues Brothers, Kenny Wayne Shepard and so on.

The coverage of the early blues and its migration north is well done and now have an understanding of how the blues evolved and hoe this lead to Rock and Roll.

i am going to try and find the additional R'n'R courses mention in the last video.

I would highly recommend this course even if just for self interest.

By Luísa C d F

Dec 22, 2020

It's amazing. I could get so many information about early 20th century music in the USA. In Brazil it's hard to be able to study blues in this deepness, we basically would stop by Robert Johnson, without mentioning many of the great artists discussed in the videos, and other styles as well. I totally reccomend it.

By Michael W

Jun 6, 2016

I really enjoyed this class! The professor demonstrated an exhaustive knowledge and as well as a deep love for the subject. Unlike similar online music history classes, he played snippets of the songs as he discussed them, which really made the difference. Highly recommended!

By Mikhail M

May 29, 2020

Fantastic! In-depth analysis of the origins of rock & roll, brewing atmosphere around it and all thing Americana. Stellar production, very entertaining and fun overall, a great way to learn and really fine ride through the XX century's culture.

By Mitchell F

May 17, 2018

This course goes back as far as it can to tell the story of how rock and roll began. It is interesting to know the real pioneers of music. They appeared to pave the way for todays artist. I gained a lot of knowledge taking this course.

By Aldair M

Dec 22, 2020

An incredible course. It serves as the basis for all rock and roll lovers. The teacher is really good. The songs are great and it makes you understand the socio-cultural complexity in which rock and roll developed.

By Aldo M A L

Sep 4, 2016

Very interesting. The teacher is a great motivator and the bravery for using the songs arguing that it is for educational purposes was very important. Other courses where music is not reproduced are kind of boring.

By Lina M

Jun 20, 2020

This was a really interesting course. I saw all the lessons in less than two weeks and learned a lot. The lectures are quite enjoyable. I will definitely go on a trip along Highway 61. Thank you professor David.

By Giulia M

Apr 30, 2020

This is the best course I have ever taken and Professor is fantastic. I feel satisfied and rich in ideas and I think that it's the most important think...feeling intellectually stimulated.

By Lynn W

May 26, 2016

What an awesome course! I am truly learning about the foundation of what we call Rock n Roll music. The professor does such a wonderful job of instructing this class. Thank you

By Bruce R

Sep 3, 2019

I loved this class... it was lively and well presented covering a wide variety of early influences on rock'n'roll. I would sign up for a continuing class if it was available.

By Shelley M T G

Oct 14, 2020

I was very curious about the Rock and Roll genre ever since I heard the Led Zeppelin song Stairway to Heaven. The lecture has been informative and fun. Thank you very much!

By Peter M

Jun 16, 2020

Ability to integrate even small soundbites of audio enhances the lecture material.

Prof. "Rock" visiting notable landmarks adds a positive dimension to the lectures.

By Melisa Z

Jun 2, 2019

This course was really instructive. I watched every video with passion, never get bored. Thanks to Prof. David Carlson for sharing his knowledge with us.

By Maria A

May 4, 2021

Exceptional production and content. The quizzing was not overly burdensome and helped to highlight important learning points. Well done, Gators.

By Margaret J J

Feb 15, 2019

Thoroughly enjoyed learning about the incredibly talented people who put a spring in my step and a smile on my face. Thank you is not enough!

By Laura A A T

Jul 29, 2020

Fue una experiencia maravillosa. Felicidades al profesor Carlson.

It was a wonderful experience. Congratulations to Professor Carlson.

By Marina A

Jul 8, 2020

Un gran curso, con un excelente y apasionado profesor. Ha hecho que me interese en el estudio académico de la historia de la música.

By EDGARDO A M R

Nov 4, 2020

Excelente curso, me agradó que se mostraban los temas con ejemplos de audio. Bastante interesante. Desde Chile un abrazo.

By Michel L

Jul 12, 2020

Thank you so much, it was an extraordinary journey. I learned a lot about music, rock n roll and will continue studying.