Chevron Left
Back to Science and Engineering of Climate Change

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Science and Engineering of Climate Change by EDHEC Business School

4.8
stars
128 ratings

About the Course

Global warming is one of the most significant challenges of the century and tackling it in the most effective way requires a good understanding of its physical, social and financial aspects. The Science and Engineering of Climate Change course offers an introduction to the science of climate change and to the existing technologies to mitigate its effects. Are we sure that the climate is changing? How confident are we that climate change is anthropogenic? Are we heading for a climate catastrophe? Why are greenhouse gases associated with global warming? What options do we have to cope with these facts? Which of the many proposals are realistic, and which are just wishful thinking? By the end of this course, you will have the necessary conceptual tools to provide your own answers to these questions. This MOOC is divided into four modules. With the first two you will understand how scientists measure climate and its evolution, how climate models work and how greenhouse gases within the atmosphere play a central role in determining the climate. The last two modules introduce the main technologies that can be used to reduce carbon emissions and carbon concentration in the atmosphere, and, in the light of the facts explained in the first part of the course, explain how these technologies can be best combined. The MOOC is for those who want to understand not only the basics of climate-change science, but also what we can really and effectively do to curb the present trend in the planet’s temperatures. No previous knowledge is required....

Top reviews

CW

Feb 20, 2023

Love many examples of calculations and the critical-thinking approach! These are much needed in the debate of climate change today.

RR

Nov 1, 2022

Excellent, factual and enlightening course. Stating the facts and debunking the myths and popular but inaccurate statements.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 36 Reviews for Science and Engineering of Climate Change

By Gioele B

Mar 13, 2022

The lectures were well explained and the topics were really interesting. I appreciated the critical position taken by the professor during some discussions. I reccomend this course to who would like to understand why climate change is happening and what are the strategies we should consider.

By Chris Z W

Feb 21, 2023

Love many examples of calculations and the critical-thinking approach! These are much needed in the debate of climate change today.

By Patrick M

Dec 4, 2021

very insightful and scientific : facts and science with limited opinions... very usefull and insightful

By Davide G

Dec 2, 2021

Thank you to Mr Rebonato: complexe topics become clear thanks to your precise and pragmatic approach.

By Joy A

Apr 3, 2022

Nice Teacher, esay to understand

By Fabio C

Mar 7, 2023

High-level of course to engage with. A lot of information starting from technical point of view to proceed along a journey of alternative energy resources, scale of that, efficiency and several considerations. Along with this journey, this course provide also to consider economics, political, social environment not just as externality (because of some people just think that if you think about CO2 reduction, someone can act something to solve at once and for all), so for sure this in-depth dive could represent an out of box thoughts to lead toward an effective choice of actions to reduce and remove (that's the key of the strategy) concentration of CO2 equivalent . Congrats to professor Rebonato, clear, exhaustive, comprehensive and effective.

By Eyal H

Mar 10, 2023

This course provides an in-depth introduction to climate change and to global warming, covering 2 major topics. The first is laying down the scientific foundations of global warming and the second is a survey of renewable and unrenewable energy sources, including their costs, risks and potential. The lectures are fascinating. The lecturer is doing a good job at shattering myths and at showing the whole picture: what is well proven and what is only hypothesized. It helps create a clearer understanding of where we are standing and how to consider our challenges.

By Ankit K S

Jan 12, 2023

Well articulated lectures. It gave a complete new perspective regarding climate change and most importantly, the emphasis on 'No Silver Bullet' to fight climate change, provided a microscopic POV on the topic. Special thanks to Prof. Rebonato for making for simplifying this complex topic.

By Ross H

Sep 14, 2022

Excellently presented, clear, informative, at the right level but with enough data and follow up materials to dig in and master the subject. Very enjoyable. Appreciated the ability to follow along with slides and the transcript also.

By john p e

Oct 11, 2022

learned a ton with the science of climate change. it was informative and engaging. this is my fisrt course in coursera. I'm looking forward to learn more about climate change and how to mitigate its effect.

By Mathieu

Mar 28, 2023

A course of an amazing quality. I had no professional or graduate knowledge on this topic and I would totally recommend it. Thank you so much for such accessible yet complete courses.

By massimo m

Mar 21, 2022

Prof. Rebonato is higly talented in presenting complex topics in an easy understanble way, linking science with economics and potential political strategies.

By Rashid R

Nov 2, 2022

Excellent, factual and enlightening course. Stating the facts and debunking the myths and popular but inaccurate statements.

By Vikki Y T

Sep 19, 2022

The course is comprehensive and informative. The course instructor explained the materials very well. Excellent instructor!

By Marine G

Feb 9, 2022

This course is key to understand the basics and to grasp the complexities of Science & Engineering of Climate Change

By Danillo N

Jul 21, 2022

Good overview on Climate Change and covering diverse aspects on the engineering and science behind it.

By Soledad C

Jan 7, 2023

I recommend to take this course, it was very clear and a lot of sustainable data

By JL B

Jan 10, 2022

At last a scientific lecture on climate change and means to (try to) tackle it.

By Lucio S P

Nov 21, 2022

It is a very complete course, with a very professional and qualified teacher.

By Patricia C

Mar 16, 2022

Great information, great instructor - very relevant to current day issues.

By Jakob S

Feb 2, 2022

Super interesting, and Professor Riccardo is excellent.

By Lindsay R

Oct 15, 2022

Engaging and well-researched lectures and materials.

By Miguel C B

Feb 15, 2023

Absolutely amazing content and lecturer.

By Julie M R

Nov 5, 2022

excellent professor, fascinating topics

By Victor G

Aug 27, 2022

Very good course, very nice material