Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Google SEO

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Google SEO by University of California, Davis

4.6
stars
8,476 ratings
2,281 reviews

About the Course

Ever wonder how major search engines such as Google, Bing and Yahoo rank your website within their searches? Or how content such as videos or local listings are shown and ranked based on what the search engine considers most relevant to users? Welcome to the world of Search Engine Optimization (SEO). This course is the first within the SEO Specialization and it is intended to give you a taste of SEO with some fun practices to get seen in Google. You will be introduced to the foundational elements of how the most popular search engine, Google, works, how the SEO landscape is constantly changing and what you can expect in the future. You discuss core SEO strategies and tactics used to drive more organic search results to a specific website or set of websites, as well as tactics to avoid to prevent penalization from Google. We hope this taste of SEO, will entice you to continue through the Specialization!...

Top reviews

SS
Aug 9, 2016

Great course, very informative!! I can tell the classes are starting to be structured differently though. Not too much meat to this first course... reserving my opinion, until I go through a few more.

AP
Jul 10, 2020

The way of explaining the terms is excellent and content is very good . I leant many new things from this course. Going to do all the courses of this specialization. Thanks for the wonderful content.

Filter by:

2126 - 2150 of 2,258 Reviews for Introduction to Google SEO

By Grant L

Mar 6, 2021

Covers history and fundamentals of SEO it didn't cover any ways to apply the concepts in practice (e.g. HTML editing, Google Console analysis,....). Interesting, but not what I was expecting from the course when I applied for it. The content was professionally but just didn't cover the topics i was expecting.

By HUIBERT F J A

Jan 3, 2018

The course is interesting and gives you a good understanding of what SEO is and how search engines work. That said, it does not get into the technical details on how you should build your HTML pages to help search engines better understand what your site is about, which, in my opinion is also important.

By Maleah M

Apr 3, 2019

It was nice to hear some basics, but it was a lot of subjective information, didn't feel like I was learning as much as I was being sold. However, again, there were some decent basics sprinkled through out. Also, the instructor videos were not super engaging, how scripted they were was very obvious

By Fadoju O

Apr 26, 2020

There were a few topics that i felt were not totally relevant to the purpose of this course- the history of the internet especially . The whole course was also too theoretical . I think it can be modified to better . Overally, I enjoyed this learning and I hope to continue the process .

By Gloria K

Feb 8, 2021

The course was informative and useful for a person who wanted a solid foundation for SEO. I was able to learn about SEO by knowing different changes that were made by Google from the start to now. Most importantly, I learned a lot about content creation specifically topic association.

By Ioannis O

Dec 9, 2020

A lot of history and theory without a single practical example. Like how to do keyword analysis. Just theory and links to sources. If i had to follow historical links to other websites, then why should i take this course for. But in General was a good start to theory of SEO

By Muhammad U K

Sep 1, 2020

The video content was great. I learned a lot about the SEO and how numerous factors affected the visibility of a website. But in my humble opinion, the reading material was more like an aggregate of different articles that I could have found online through my research.

By Kwei Q

Sep 5, 2020

One of the issues I have with this is that it doesn't seem to have been updated since 2018. The links are up to 2018, but between then and 2020, there must be things that must have changed.

The course quizzes for me were moderate to moderately high level of difficulty.

By Suchithra P

Aug 2, 2017

It really gives you an insight into the world of SEO and the best practices involved. Before signing up for the course, I had zero knowledge about the search engine and keyword optimization, but this course really helped me enhance my knowledge.

Suchithra Pillai

By Michael B

Jan 30, 2021

This was a decent, high-level course. Videos are informative. The user interface for questions was frequently intrusive, clunky, and poorly formatted. Questions were obtuse. Reading material is interesting. Modules two and four are somewhat repetitive.

By Sara S

Sep 2, 2020

The course didn't provide many specific SEO tactics which I expected and too much focus was on history of search engines. Also, the questions in the quizzes were mostly focused on some very specific details rather than understanding the topic in general.

By Tanya M

Aug 9, 2020

I personally think it would have been better if more educational content was covered in the videos. Most of the important content was given to us in readings rather than being covered in videos. other than that its a great introductory course!

By Marilena B

Nov 18, 2018

While this course was full of interesting information, it was a front loaded with much useless information...interesting nonetheless. I, however would prefer a course that jumps a bit faster to the so called nitty-gritty. Overall, good stuff!

By Eliška H

Oct 18, 2020

I think it would be nice if the course could be more practical with more examples. This was mainly about the theory in general and not about the practical skills at all, but thank you for the knowledge anyway!

By Harry E G

Apr 3, 2016

Student should be able to see results of test ( at least quiz 1 and 2) before we decide to purchase. Overall the course was easy to understand and follow. I look forward to taking to others in the series.

By Ruarob T

Sep 21, 2021

If you are marketer, this could fit you somehow. If you want concrete body of knowledge, I don't think the course will please you. SEO topic is subjective and somehow could frustrate the technical folks

By KOWAL, A V

Aug 11, 2020

I dont feel confident that I can increase my website's ranking after this class. The info was very basic and geared toward what is looked for in a SEO career track. Not very pertinent to my situation.

By Daniele B

Nov 13, 2020

The lessons are great and the teacher explains in simple and good way the concepts. However, in my opinion there to many facts and history rather that strategies and theories on how to work with SEO.

By Nick T

Dec 10, 2016

Felt that the first week, how to get a job in SEO should be the last module. Unsure the value it has when you don't even know SEO at the level one would need in order to get a job in SEO.

By Kayla S

May 7, 2020

While it had some good content, it was difficult to get past a lot of the grammar and spelling errors. Also, sharing Wikipedia pages as informational text in a course is a huge turn off.

By Szabolcs P K

Oct 24, 2016

Very informative, however a bit too detailed on the history of previous search engines and past Google updates. Could've done with a bit less history and more up to date information.

By Teresa F

Jun 24, 2019

The course provides great resources, but it seems to lack moderators. I finished the course and I have yet to get any feedback from the hosts and students rarely interact.

By Christina K

Jul 11, 2018

Ver basic knowledge and more so theory than strategy. Coursera needs to start teaching strategy with little theory so that people understand strategy and can implement.

By Lachuti G

Nov 7, 2020

Muy basico, como introducción está bien, pero el contenido de la primera semana es el más tardado y el más sin sentido. Creo que podría ser mejorado y actualizado

By Mayank P

May 1, 2020

Not much was explained in the videos. Too many lengthy articles were provided to read through. I don't think I gained much value from this. Highly disappointed.