Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Search Engine Optimization

Introduction to Search Engine Optimization, University of California, Davis

4.6
2,621 ratings
734 reviews

About this Course

Ever wonder how major search engines such as Google, Bing and Yahoo rank your website within their searches? Or how content such as videos or local listings are shown and ranked based on what the search engine considers most relevant to users? Welcome to the world of Search Engine Optimization (SEO). This course is the first within the SEO Specialization and it is intended to give you a taste of SEO. You will be introduced to the foundational elements of how search engines work, how the SEO landscape has changed and what you can expect in the future. You discuss core SEO strategies and tactics used to drive more organic search results to a specific website or set of websites, as well as tactics to avoid to prevent penalization from search engines. You will also discover how to position yourself for a successful career in SEO should this subject prove interesting to you. We hope this taste of SEO, will entice you to continue through the Specialization....

Top reviews

By SS

Aug 10, 2016

Great course, very informative!! I can tell the classes are starting to be structured differently though. Not too much meat to this first course... reserving my opinion, until I go through a few more.

By AI

Jun 25, 2016

A great fundamental breakdown of SEO strategies that you need to know in order to further understand the field. Very well designed course that is perfect for someone who is new to the field of SEO!

Filter by:

702 Reviews

By Mohamed Samy Hassan Ali

Mar 20, 2019

Great content

By Ysmael Ovalles

Mar 18, 2019

Excelente Curso aprendí mucho es mas de lo que esperaba . muchísimas gracias .

By Anushka Binani

Mar 16, 2019

The best way to kick-start your SEO career is through this course. Thanks to Rebekah May for teaching this one so effortlessly!

By ANURAG KUMAR

Mar 16, 2019

The course provides relevant informations regarding SEO. The course run through the history till the current updates that has been made in google search algorithm. It also talks about penalisation and how to get rid of it and increase ranking in search. Contains wide range of contents that are required to become professional and establish a career in this field.

By RAM SINGH

Mar 13, 2019

AWESOME

By Arindam Bakshi

Mar 12, 2019

Great introduction to the field of SEO. Cannot wait to start the next course. Thank you!

By Michael Tan

Mar 11, 2019

Very well organized and easy to understand. I've really learned a lot from these. Thank you UC Davis for making this possible and thank you Coursera for being a channel to such great courses such as this. I think I have found for myself the right career. Thank you so much and more power!!!

By Rodrigo Lancheros Bermúdez

Mar 11, 2019

I learned a lot in just one course. Thanks!

By Ratna Nanda Dahal

Mar 04, 2019

very useful course Very nice teaching style of Rebekah May.I want to say thank you very much for your help to mam Rebekah May

By Richard Boehmcke

Feb 28, 2019

It is a good intro for somebody like myself with no background. An entire section was dedicated to getting a job in the field which wasn't useful for me. The course is also 4 years old, and while much of the reading is new, I wish it focused more on tactics and less on the history of search (another whole section).