Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Google SEO

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Google SEO by University of California, Davis

4.6
stars
9,024 ratings

About the Course

Ever wonder how major search engines such as Google, Bing and Yahoo rank your website within their searches? Or how content such as videos or local listings are shown and ranked based on what the search engine considers most relevant to users? Welcome to the world of Search Engine Optimization (SEO). This course is the first within the SEO Specialization and it is intended to give you a taste of SEO with some fun practices to get seen in Google. You will be introduced to the foundational elements of how the most popular search engine, Google, works, how the SEO landscape is constantly changing and what you can expect in the future. You discuss core SEO strategies and tactics used to drive more organic search results to a specific website or set of websites, as well as tactics to avoid to prevent penalization from Google. We hope this taste of SEO, will entice you to continue through the Specialization!...

Top reviews

SS

Aug 9, 2016

Great course, very informative!! I can tell the classes are starting to be structured differently though. Not too much meat to this first course... reserving my opinion, until I go through a few more.

AP

Jul 10, 2020

The way of explaining the terms is excellent and content is very good . I leant many new things from this course. Going to do all the courses of this specialization. Thanks for the wonderful content.

Filter by:

2301 - 2325 of 2,411 Reviews for Introduction to Google SEO

By Christiaan H

Aug 11, 2020

As a high level & historical intro it was a nice overall background. What the course failed in was discussing a far more practical & tactical approach.

By Ehsan Z

May 29, 2020

i wish this course gave some deeper knowledge specially in last week modules but i need to say thank you courseera for letting me join this course.

By Reaobakamorena R

Aug 23, 2021

I​ Really enjoyed this course,the knowledge and understanding I received will be something I remember to apply in my field. THANK YOU SO MUCH.

By Sophia D

Aug 7, 2020

Overall, it had useful information for someone who didn't know a lot about SEO. However, I wish that the videos' audio quality was better.

By Lara S

Nov 10, 2019

A bit of interesting information but mostly "here is what was happening in browsers in 1995". Gets much better from the next course on tho

By Adrian E

Dec 10, 2020

Es un buen curso introductorio, esperaría más del contenido generado por esta universidad, el nivel de la comunicación es de secundaria.

By Cheryl B

Aug 17, 2016

Perhaps a bit too basic (and thus boring). But holding out hope it'll prove to be a good foundation for the rest of the specialization

By SHUBHAM K

May 21, 2019

This was far better than any introduction i have ever seen. It carry us through all the fundamentals we as a beginner need to know.

By Emma K

Oct 5, 2020

Very high level introduction to the various themes of SEO. Mostly a history lesson; less about what the actual work looks like.

By Jennifer

Jul 16, 2019

The videos were every instructional . the reading was a bit thick for intro and never found information for a site audit.

By Sarineh G

Oct 10, 2020

Was a very basic introduction course, I wish there was a quick lesson on where to go to learn the application of SEO, too.

By Muhammad H

Oct 20, 2020

I am looking to practice SEO for real website. This course is a nice introduction but does not provides that opportunity.

By Bilal S

Jan 18, 2021

Really good in fourth week but historical perspective should be minimum and future orientation should be more emphasized

By José J H R

Sep 16, 2018

The course should go deeper on the algorithm and tools, even if it is just an introductory course on the specialization.

By Shashank S

Jun 9, 2020

It would have been way better and more interesting if they had focussed on videos lectures rather than more readings.

By Anne R C

Aug 10, 2021

This is an excellent course. i learned the basics. I just hope they have practical or hands on activities as well

By Kshitij T

Jan 24, 2019

The insights given and topics covered are good. Perhaps a little more explanation and justification is needed.

By paola p

Mar 30, 2016

Clear but a bit superficial. Hope the rest of the course will flesh out in more detail the various topics.

By Sören Z

Dec 21, 2020

Relevance of the first three weeks of this course is low and not up-to-date. Week four was fine though.

By Akbar h

Dec 2, 2019

It would be more valuable if there was more case studies and practical examples of how to work with seo

By Camille B

Jul 8, 2021

focus too much on Google update history rather than actual suggestions to optimize your website

By Paola A G B

Sep 10, 2016

Content is good but there is no practice whatsoever. So much theory can become boring at times.

By Eduardo H

Sep 18, 2021

S​eems like a lots of repetition of basic ideas that essentially boil down to user experience.

By Lijo G J

May 14, 2016

I wish if you could accept the submission of answers without upgrading to enroll for payment.

By Christian E

Jul 3, 2017

There could have been more practical examples of the hands-on activities you do as a SEO