Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Google SEO

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Google SEO by University of California, Davis

4.6
stars
9,459 ratings

About the Course

Ever wonder how major search engines such as Google, Bing and Yahoo rank your website within their searches? Or how content such as videos or local listings are shown and ranked based on what the search engine considers most relevant to users? Welcome to the world of Search Engine Optimization (SEO). This course is the first within the SEO Specialization and it is intended to give you a taste of SEO with some fun practices to get seen in Google. You will be introduced to the foundational elements of how the most popular search engine, Google, works, how the SEO landscape is constantly changing and what you can expect in the future. You discuss core SEO strategies and tactics used to drive more organic search results to a specific website or set of websites, as well as tactics to avoid to prevent penalization from Google. We hope this taste of SEO, will entice you to continue through the Specialization!...

Top reviews

SS

Aug 9, 2016

Great course, very informative!! I can tell the classes are starting to be structured differently though. Not too much meat to this first course... reserving my opinion, until I go through a few more.

AP

Jul 10, 2020

The way of explaining the terms is excellent and content is very good . I leant many new things from this course. Going to do all the courses of this specialization. Thanks for the wonderful content.

Filter by:

2351 - 2375 of 2,507 Reviews for Introduction to Google SEO

By Laura S

Jul 29, 2020

Videos are pretty informative, especially in weeks 3 and 4. The first two weeks covered history of SEO and job market info, which I found less useful, although it gave me a more comprehensive picture of SEO in general. There's no technical info in this course. The additional readings are not useful (outdated, not well written, many ads on the blogs). The quizzes are okay, but some questions are poorly constructed. The course could be improved with much more interactivity and reinforcement of the concepts.

By Hannes H

Jun 27, 2020

For me personally, this course was a little waste of time. I entered the course to learn how to optimize content of websites for SEO. Week 4 covered this a little bit with insight into keyword semantics. The weeks 1-3 were not so interesting for me because they cover the job-role "SEO", history of search engines in general and give an overview of major Google search algorithm updates of the past 15 years. This course is great for people who do not have any IT-background and pursue a new career.

By E. W

Feb 11, 2017

This course is an overview of SEO and doesn't go into a lot of detail of how SEO is actually implemented on the site. What it does do is offer a snapshot of the industry as a job outlook, discuss Google's algorithm impact on SEO practitioners, offers interviews with current SEO analysts and experts, and describes how content affects SEO. I recommend taking the more practical courses in the specialization to get skills needed unless you're an absolute beginner and have no clue what SEO is.

By Laila S D

Mar 21, 2018

It was an OK course but I didn't think that starting with a whole week on a career in SEO is a good idea. How can I be interested in a career in a field I still know nothing about? Teach me something first and then maybe at the end add some information on how to pursue a career in this area. I skipped almost all of the first week simply because I didn't sign up for the course looking for a career, and couldn't have been convinced to consider it without having taken any other lessons.

By Allison M

Apr 12, 2020

Very good overview, though it is specifically targeted to those who want an introduction to SEO because they plan to pursue a career in it. I took the course to brush up on basic SEO practices. I'm established in my marketing career though I believe in continuous learning so this was helpful. The job search information wasn't useful. I would love to see a course called - "Basic SEO for the marketing professional" or something to that degree. Thanks.

By Arman M

Apr 10, 2021

The majority of the course was a good introduction to SEO. One of the biggest takeaways from the course I believe was the indirect introduction to what tools SEO Professionals use. My biggest issue was with some of the reading material. Some of it was very repetitive, no longer available on the linked site, and in one lesson there were two articles that contradicted each other. This I believe resulted in a course that was much longer than necessary.

By Emily T

Jul 4, 2020

This was a nice introduction to what SEO is and how it is used in the real world. I liked the short format of the videos and readings that helped orient learners in current dialogues. I wasn't a fan of having the "careers" week first, before we really even knew what SEO was, and I would have liked more hands-on projects or questions to put us in the shoes of an actual SEO professional, but on the whole, I liked the course!

By Tenille G

Oct 14, 2020

This course provided a holistic review of SEO. The content was interesting and informative, and is a good beginners guide to SEO. Although, the course description said beginners level, there are a lot of technical terminology and concepts that needed expanding on in simpler terms. More real world examples could have been touched on as well. Overall a good course for dipping your toes in the digital marketing landscape.

By Natalya A

Jan 8, 2021

Interesting course. issues I had: broken links in reading material; unrealistic timing (for example, a reading section marked as 30 minutes gave me links to two videos, one 14.28 minutes long and the other - 14.11 minutes long, which left me several seconds to read two more long text articles); name spelling (the video transcript gave the name Gerard Salton, in quiz it was spelled as "Gerard Sulton"

By Malcom L

Nov 2, 2019

needs more hands on material to drive lessons home. Mindlessly watching videos while robotically taking notes is not going to help in job interviews... the people teaching the course you can tell are highly skilled at what they do.

I love the integration of philosophy and tying in Ludwig Wittgenstein. That was super insightful. Overall I think this course could be better but not bad.

By John W

Apr 26, 2021

Rating this as a working copywriter, there's not much here in terms of practical advice to improve my writing. This is a good general overview of the evolution of Google search and how that has affected SEO in very broad terms, that's probably best for someone who already has some practical experience in an SEO role but would like a better understanding of nuts and bolts.

By Kailey L

Feb 7, 2021

I thought the this course was a good introduction to some topics, but didn't cover others that I was surprised by - no discussion of SERPs and how those are outlined on different search engines. Some of the course materials were very dated (blog posts published in 2011, for example). I thought the instructor was clear and straightforward.

By Erick G

Jul 7, 2017

There is a ton of great information in this course if you are wanting to learn the theory and history behind SEO. Professor May dumped tons of her knowledge and others' to make this course a great resource for anyone wanting to now the basic "why's" of SEO. The reading assignments can get lengthy at times, but worth sticking it out for.

By Alvaro G

May 5, 2020

I liked how the course introduced the SEO concepts from a historical perspective. However, the quizzes were based on memorizing the names of the updates and numbers. This might work from some, but for me it did not provide extra learning value when you fail quizzes because you didn't memorize, rather than conceptualized knowledge.

By Grant L

Mar 6, 2021

Covers history and fundamentals of SEO it didn't cover any ways to apply the concepts in practice (e.g. HTML editing, Google Console analysis,....). Interesting, but not what I was expecting from the course when I applied for it. The content was professionally but just didn't cover the topics i was expecting.

By HUIBERT F J A

Jan 3, 2018

The course is interesting and gives you a good understanding of what SEO is and how search engines work. That said, it does not get into the technical details on how you should build your HTML pages to help search engines better understand what your site is about, which, in my opinion is also important.

By Maleah M

Apr 3, 2019

It was nice to hear some basics, but it was a lot of subjective information, didn't feel like I was learning as much as I was being sold. However, again, there were some decent basics sprinkled through out. Also, the instructor videos were not super engaging, how scripted they were was very obvious

By Fadoju O

Apr 26, 2020

There were a few topics that i felt were not totally relevant to the purpose of this course- the history of the internet especially . The whole course was also too theoretical . I think it can be modified to better . Overally, I enjoyed this learning and I hope to continue the process .

By Gloria K

Feb 8, 2021

The course was informative and useful for a person who wanted a solid foundation for SEO. I was able to learn about SEO by knowing different changes that were made by Google from the start to now. Most importantly, I learned a lot about content creation specifically topic association.

By Ioannis O

Dec 9, 2020

A lot of history and theory without a single practical example. Like how to do keyword analysis. Just theory and links to sources. If i had to follow historical links to other websites, then why should i take this course for. But in General was a good start to theory of SEO

By Muhammad U K

Sep 1, 2020

The video content was great. I learned a lot about the SEO and how numerous factors affected the visibility of a website. But in my humble opinion, the reading material was more like an aggregate of different articles that I could have found online through my research.

By Kwei Q

Sep 5, 2020

One of the issues I have with this is that it doesn't seem to have been updated since 2018. The links are up to 2018, but between then and 2020, there must be things that must have changed.

The course quizzes for me were moderate to moderately high level of difficulty.

By Suchithra P

Aug 2, 2017

It really gives you an insight into the world of SEO and the best practices involved. Before signing up for the course, I had zero knowledge about the search engine and keyword optimization, but this course really helped me enhance my knowledge.

Suchithra Pillai

By Michael B

Jan 30, 2021

This was a decent, high-level course. Videos are informative. The user interface for questions was frequently intrusive, clunky, and poorly formatted. Questions were obtuse. Reading material is interesting. Modules two and four are somewhat repetitive.

By Sara S

Sep 2, 2020

The course didn't provide many specific SEO tactics which I expected and too much focus was on history of search engines. Also, the questions in the quizzes were mostly focused on some very specific details rather than understanding the topic in general.