Chevron Left
Back to Databases and SQL for Data Science with Python

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Databases and SQL for Data Science with Python by IBM

4.6
stars
14,131 ratings
1,732 reviews

About the Course

Much of the world's data resides in databases. SQL (or Structured Query Language) is a powerful language which is used for communicating with and extracting data from databases. A working knowledge of databases and SQL is a must if you want to become a data scientist. The purpose of this course is to introduce relational database concepts and help you learn and apply foundational knowledge of the SQL language. It is also intended to get you started with performing SQL access in a data science environment. The emphasis in this course is on hands-on and practical learning . As such, you will work with real databases, real data science tools, and real-world datasets. You will create a database instance in the cloud. Through a series of hands-on labs you will practice building and running SQL queries. You will also learn how to access databases from Jupyter notebooks using SQL and Python. No prior knowledge of databases, SQL, Python, or programming is required. Anyone can audit this course at no-charge. If you choose to take this course and earn the Coursera course certificate, you can also earn an IBM digital badge upon successful completion of the course. LIMITED TIME OFFER: Subscription is only $39 USD per month for access to graded materials and a certificate....

Top reviews

BS
May 20, 2020

Amazing course for beginners! The entire course is well structured and has good hands-on assignments. SQL is extremely essential for Database management and fun learning so please do try this one out!

PK
Aug 19, 2020

A very useful course with some very interesting datasets/Jupyter notebooks to work through/practice your skills. Offers a good balanced blend between theory and practical/practice. Very good course!

Filter by:

226 - 250 of 1,739 Reviews for Databases and SQL for Data Science with Python

By Carlos J B A

Jan 8, 2019

A rewarding experience because I have been able to learn very valuable information. It is an excellent course. It has helped me in the personal and professional field. Thank you.

By Santhosh V

Mar 1, 2021

Gave me a good brush up of my very old knowledge. It had lot of practice questions that were challenging. I recommend this course for anyone interested in learning SQL language.

By Diego M E C

Oct 17, 2020

Great course for beginners or even more experienced people in SQL, the course has great content and wonderful excercises so you can get the best out of your learning experience.

By Jeampierr J

Jan 31, 2021

Fue un curso muy bueno, si bien no se vieron ciertos temas a profundidad puedo decir que con lo que aprendí en este curso puedo afrontar ciertas tareas y realizarlas con éxito.

By Peter H

Mar 28, 2019

It was a very useful immersion to Databases and SQL. The IBM Cloud platform is amazing and a very easy to use environment which fully supported the objectives of this course.

By Ahmed Z

Jul 29, 2020

The course is extremely helpful. As reservoir engineer who is handling a lot of tables, I can say that its is really fruitful. Thanks for all who made this brilliant course

By Francisco C

Jul 14, 2021

Despite SQL is not always fun I enjoyed the course. It gives a clear picture on SQL DB handling. I have to go deeper in the topics and practice to consider myself expert.

By Valentin W

Sep 20, 2020

Great course! I really enjoyed the interactive labs where you got to practically apply what you learn. By far the best course in the data science foundations certification.

By Juan C P Q

Sep 15, 2020

Great course. I already knew a little about SQL and it helped me review some knowledge and I also learned about how you can use API in Python to view and analyze your data.

By NAVIN V K

Jun 18, 2020

It was great learning experience for me, i have learned new concept as well. I am good with SQL, but logic behind the data science on SQL was most memorable and encouraging

By Yossakorn K

Jun 17, 2020

This course covers all basic SQL. I feel appreciated who made this course happen. It will be useful for those who interest in Data Science at least as the beginning skill.

By Kristian S

Dec 28, 2019

Learning SQL is fundamental for Data Scientists as most databases are SQL. You will learn how to read data from a data base and work with that data using python language

By Agnieszka K

Nov 5, 2019

Awesome course! I learned all necessities to apply SQL queries in my daily job, as well as on how to use these in Python when needed. Very practical for a solid start.

By Alexey R

Apr 23, 2019

A very solid introduction to SQL with a set of hands-on exercises that make it easy for a complete newbie like me to understand the core concepts and learn the basics.

By Jayesh M

Jan 22, 2020

Great course with good content for data science specific. This is the step by step from basic which can cover almost things from taking the course. Good Keep this up.

By Sweta G

Jan 2, 2020

I really liked the course. They know how to keep us engaged. Very well explained and the project was also good, made you more closer to day to day environment of SQL.

By RAM K B

Apr 23, 2020

Enjoyed this course. Received timely help from teaching staff. Forum discussion among peers is also very useful. I thank the entire team associated with this course.

By Harsha M K

Aug 28, 2021

Thank you for this great opportunity . I loved this course. Easy to understand and learnt lot of new concepts. Exercises were amazing .Highly recommend this course.

By MEHUL U S

Jul 21, 2019

It's an amazing course. I learn SQL, relational databases. And also it was very easy to understand. Thanks to the Teacher Rav Ahuja and thanks to the Coursera Team.

By Sehyun P

Apr 27, 2021

man, this was simply amazing! kinda didn't like the IBM setup part, but i used SQLite and this is so instructive! thank you so much i learned tons from this course

By charles l

May 27, 2020

Really good material, and coupled with IBM Watson/Cloud platform makes focusing on the material easy, instead of spending your time troubleshooting the framework.

By Venkatachalapathy P

Dec 22, 2020

The course should include a hands on lesson to download and install DB2 community on the personal PC - which is FREE for developers anyway. That will be helpful.

By Claude N

Nov 7, 2019

I thoroughly enjoyed using Python to query databases. Learning SQL was so easy with this tutor, videos and referencing material. Well done and Thanks so much!!!!

By Varshetha m

Apr 28, 2020

I have got a great idea about the sql and how it works,the explanation of the videos were much easier for me understand ,i gained a lot of knowledge through it.

By Amber D

Apr 22, 2020

I loved this course! Left comment about Peer Review Assignment to be sure to use the lab notebook provided in the previous lesson. Other than that it was great!