Chevron Left
Back to Databases and SQL for Data Science with Python

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Databases and SQL for Data Science with Python by IBM

4.7
stars
13,206 ratings
1,552 reviews

About the Course

Much of the world's data resides in databases. SQL (or Structured Query Language) is a powerful language which is used for communicating with and extracting data from databases. A working knowledge of databases and SQL is a must if you want to become a data scientist. The purpose of this course is to introduce relational database concepts and help you learn and apply foundational knowledge of the SQL language. It is also intended to get you started with performing SQL access in a data science environment. The emphasis in this course is on hands-on and practical learning . As such, you will work with real databases, real data science tools, and real-world datasets. You will create a database instance in the cloud. Through a series of hands-on labs you will practice building and running SQL queries. You will also learn how to access databases from Jupyter notebooks using SQL and Python. No prior knowledge of databases, SQL, Python, or programming is required. Anyone can audit this course at no-charge. If you choose to take this course and earn the Coursera course certificate, you can also earn an IBM digital badge upon successful completion of the course. LIMITED TIME OFFER: Subscription is only $39 USD per month for access to graded materials and a certificate....

Top reviews

BS
May 20, 2020

Amazing course for beginners! The entire course is well structured and has good hands-on assignments. SQL is extremely essential for Database management and fun learning so please do try this one out!

PK
Aug 19, 2020

A very useful course with some very interesting datasets/Jupyter notebooks to work through/practice your skills. Offers a good balanced blend between theory and practical/practice. Very good course!

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 1,532 Reviews for Databases and SQL for Data Science with Python

By Liudmyla C

Jan 13, 2021

1-3 weeks of the course were more or less consistent, I googles few things, mostly out of curiosity. So weeks 1-3 are educating well.

Week 4 is poorly written from pedagogical standpoint. It is my view and I am a Master in Pedagogy. Unfortunately, week 4 does not differentiate general knowledge from IBM DB-specific notions. I struggled many times to finish it by finding missing parts of the knowledge puzzle over Internet.

Now I came to the conclusion that it is not worse the time. I will find a course with better structuring to cover week 4 topics.

I quit it when I completed 76% of the course. I cannot pursue it for certificate only, knowledge matters more.

By Lawrence T

Feb 6, 2021

Not the best Coursera course I have ever taken, but not the worst either. I found the videos/instruction informative but dull. I read a lot of reviews about this course of people saying that they had problems with IBM Db2, content complexity, and other technical challenges. Did not run into any of that at all. All the technical aspects of interacting with the IBM Cloud are explained in detail, and it is not that difficult in the first place. My only real complaint is the lack of notes/course materials to reference outside of the video instruction.

By Darryl A L

Dec 24, 2020

This course does a good job at introducing SQL and use of Jupyter notebooks for database connections. However, the amount of time wasted struggling with the IBM DB2 cloud platform rendered my efforts less than productive. It appears from the forum that other students were running up against the same issues. Please, instructors, have a look and determine what the problems are (and solutions) so that the students' time is better spent.

By Chris G

Dec 17, 2020

This course OK. The problem is the IBM tools. I frequently have problems with the IBM side not responding. The DB2 cloud app seems like it is frequently having issue. Today I am getting a 502 error so I'm wasting a lot of time not getting things done.

By Alula M

Jan 7, 2019

The lectures were confusing at first, because the syntax in the lectures did not exactly match the syntax for the assignments (though this issue went away in subsequent weeks).

More exercises would've been nice.

In all, a decent course.

By Kifle M

Mar 22, 2019

Guidance is not sufficient. Questions are not answered as needed.

By Seren K A

Dec 21, 2020

Lots of not working stuff in there and it is confusing

By Christoph L

Aug 31, 2018

There were a lot of problems with the online tools needed for this curse. Staff members eventually responded and solved them, but because of it, I went over my time limit and had to pay another month's coursera fees. Seeing as this is an IBM course and the tools were from IBM, I was expecting a smoother experience

By satya b

Jun 28, 2018

This course is a "Big MESS" to me. SQL they used is completely different. It doesn't accept the normal SQL statements. Column names are case sensitive and Writing the where clause gave me head-ace. It wouldn't accept the straight comparisons. Columns names should be expressed in quotes.I hate this course

By Elvijs M

Apr 17, 2020

People knowing some SQL will learn next to nothing. For complete beginners there is way too much emphasis on using the semi-unusable IBM cloud platform instead of learning SQL. The assignments are also too easy and short, which means you don't get to actually practice the bit of SQL you could learn.

By Yingtong L

Jun 15, 2019

If you know nothing about SQL, don't take this course since it just a brief introduction without any in-depth explanation. By no means, a beginner can understand what SQL is in this way. But if you've already known something about SQL, it's good for refreshing your knowledge.

By Berkay T

Sep 17, 2019

This was over challenging because labs and lectures definitely lack decent level explanations to learn the content permanently. I can't say I learned nothing, but I can clearly say this is a below mediocre level of training.

By Napoleon R

Apr 19, 2020

1) Material and presentation was not engaging and structured

2) Final assignment in terms of administration (copy pastes and screenshots upload) was a pain in the ass

3) Not enough hands on exercises

By In W C

Oct 3, 2019

A lot of the "optional" materials are actually quite important. UC Davis's SQL course is far superior to this one due to more access to coding practice assignments. I expected more from IBM.

By enric g n

Apr 9, 2020

I expected a more detailed explanation in templates. as it was done in the previous course (Python for Data Science and AI). since this database theme is done with many procedures

By james m

Jan 10, 2020

We spend more time debugging and googling to get things to work than the actual project time. The forum is full of this, but the IBM guys do nothing. This is putrid it tell you!

By Amy M

Apr 21, 2020

Would be awesome with a few corrections and updates to course materials- more concise and clear instructions would also be helpful for this beginner level course.

By Shubhangee L

Aug 20, 2019

Any screenshot referring to ibm cloud is clearly outdated as it does not match with the current website. Instructions on how to get db2 connection credentials are MISSING and the ibm cloud website is not at all intuitive. There is no way to change the default uid/password for db2 connection and there are no instructions either in the ibm cloud site or in this course.

I just spent almost an hour trying to solve this problem but in vain. I should not be wasting time and resources trying to establish a stupid database connection.

For $39 plus tax per month this is not only disappointing but robbery!

By Vincent L

Sep 13, 2018

The videos do not show the proper syntax (there are no ";" at the end of the queries) and pass over concepts quickly. They begin with "After watching this video, you will know how to do a, b, c, ..." and by the end of the video, I can't say I know any of the content presented.

The creation of the IBM account was complicated as there are many sets of instructions in different places on the course's page.

There was also a mistake in a hands-on lab (which I reported).

I would not recommend this course at all.

By David B

Oct 15, 2019

This is a useless course. I've done many courses on Coursera without issues, but I would not recommend this one, mostly because you've got a zero chance of getting any response from anyone if you need clarification or assistance with anything, even completing assignments.

By Andreas E

Sep 23, 2019

Die Videos sind veraltet und die Plattform von IBM hat sich mittlerweile stark geändert. Ebenfalls treten einige Fehler auf, das ablegen des finalen Testats war nicht möglich, da der Timestam im CSV "Chicago_Crime.." nicht erkannt wird..

By Tomás A U

Feb 9, 2020

Todos los laboratorios tuve problema para cargar datos y muchos inconvenientes mas que no pude solucionar de ninguna forma y que en el foro de discucion tampoco pude encontrar una solucion

By Jake Z

Feb 21, 2020

The tools used are not very user friendly, I spent more time troubleshooting them than actually learning. It feels like the instructions need to be reworked and ordered correctly.

By Kira S

Jun 10, 2019

This course doesn't work. It relies on IBM Cloud that will spit out an ERROR message with every command, even if you copy and paste from the course instructions. Save your money.

By Jeffrey K

Oct 22, 2018

No clue how to find anything on IBM cloud for the last assignment. How can it be so hard to write clearly how something is done? You are changing money for this.