Chevron Left
Back to Databases and SQL for Data Science with Python

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Databases and SQL for Data Science with Python by IBM Skills Network

4.6
stars
17,216 ratings

About the Course

Working knowledge of SQL (or Structured Query Language) is a must for data professionals like Data Scientists, Data Analysts and Data Engineers. Much of the world's data resides in databases. SQL is a powerful language used for communicating with and extracting data from databases. In this course you will learn SQL inside out- from the very basics of Select statements to advanced concepts like JOINs. You will: -write foundational SQL statements like: SELECT, INSERT, UPDATE, and DELETE -filter result sets, use WHERE, COUNT, DISTINCT, and LIMIT clauses -differentiate between DML & DDL -CREATE, ALTER, DROP and load tables -use string patterns and ranges; ORDER and GROUP result sets, and built-in database functions -build sub-queries and query data from multiple tables -access databases as a data scientist using Jupyter notebooks with SQL and Python -work with advanced concepts like Stored Procedures, Views, ACID Transactions, Inner & Outer JOINs Through hands-on labs and projects, you will practice building SQL queries, work with real databases on the Cloud, and use real data science tools. In the final project you’ll analyze multiple real-world datasets to demonstrate your skills....

Top reviews

BS

May 20, 2020

Amazing course for beginners! The entire course is well structured and has good hands-on assignments. SQL is extremely essential for Database management and fun learning so please do try this one out!

SR

Aug 25, 2022

I am thankful to coursera for providing database and sql for data science course in such a way that anyone can

understand the basic fundamental of sql and database. I learn a lot from this course.

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 2,287 Reviews for Databases and SQL for Data Science with Python

By Amy M

Apr 21, 2020

Would be awesome with a few corrections and updates to course materials- more concise and clear instructions would also be helpful for this beginner level course.

By Shubhangee L

Aug 20, 2019

Any screenshot referring to ibm cloud is clearly outdated as it does not match with the current website. Instructions on how to get db2 connection credentials are MISSING and the ibm cloud website is not at all intuitive. There is no way to change the default uid/password for db2 connection and there are no instructions either in the ibm cloud site or in this course.

I just spent almost an hour trying to solve this problem but in vain. I should not be wasting time and resources trying to establish a stupid database connection.

For $39 plus tax per month this is not only disappointing but robbery!

By Vincent L

Sep 13, 2018

The videos do not show the proper syntax (there are no ";" at the end of the queries) and pass over concepts quickly. They begin with "After watching this video, you will know how to do a, b, c, ..." and by the end of the video, I can't say I know any of the content presented.

The creation of the IBM account was complicated as there are many sets of instructions in different places on the course's page.

There was also a mistake in a hands-on lab (which I reported).

I would not recommend this course at all.

By Brandon H

Nov 7, 2021

Week 4 and Week 5 Labs do not work properly due to database connection issues even though this has been a known issue for months. Typos in labs. Rubric for Week 5 Peer-Reviewed Assignment grades on items not asked for in the problems. Why Coursera continues to let IBM courses to be hosted on their website, I will not figure out. These courses need to be removed until IBM resolves these issues. Now certificates are having problems being issued as well.

By Nikola S

Jul 9, 2021

Worst course on Coursera that I have taken within IBM Data Analyst Professional Certificate program. Things just do not work according to instructions in the course material. It took me a lot of time to solve these issues which don't have anything to do with the course content.

By David B

Oct 15, 2019

This is a useless course. I've done many courses on Coursera without issues, but I would not recommend this one, mostly because you've got a zero chance of getting any response from anyone if you need clarification or assistance with anything, even completing assignments.

By Andreas E

Sep 23, 2019

Die Videos sind veraltet und die Plattform von IBM hat sich mittlerweile stark geändert. Ebenfalls treten einige Fehler auf, das ablegen des finalen Testats war nicht möglich, da der Timestam im CSV "Chicago_Crime.." nicht erkannt wird..

By Tomás A U

Feb 9, 2020

Todos los laboratorios tuve problema para cargar datos y muchos inconvenientes mas que no pude solucionar de ninguna forma y que en el foro de discucion tampoco pude encontrar una solucion

By Jake Z

Feb 21, 2020

The tools used are not very user friendly, I spent more time troubleshooting them than actually learning. It feels like the instructions need to be reworked and ordered correctly.

By Kira S

Jun 10, 2019

This course doesn't work. It relies on IBM Cloud that will spit out an ERROR message with every command, even if you copy and paste from the course instructions. Save your money.

By Daniel P

Jul 14, 2021

Could not finish the course as too many obstacles to resolve. Often, the tools were off-line, instructions did not work and the forum's advice could not resolve the issues.

By Jeffrey K

Oct 22, 2018

No clue how to find anything on IBM cloud for the last assignment. How can it be so hard to write clearly how something is done? You are changing money for this.

By Mohammed F

Apr 26, 2022

the course is fine but for handon the IBM is making things very complicated. And many times the external tools are also not working.

By Yuandong S

May 3, 2020

DB2 instance required in the course can not be created due to repeatable service issue and it naturally stops the following courses.

By John M

Jan 12, 2022

BEWARE. Cannot finish the course due to technical issues with the IBM account.. Am disappointed and will drop the course.

By Mariia S

Nov 2, 2018

Poor explanation, lack of tasks and bad developing environment provided. I'm very disappointed with this course.

By rezq d

Apr 6, 2021

IBM Watson does not open the database. can this certificate get any worse!! seriously get your things together

By Deleted A

Mar 18, 2021

The db2 instance seems to fail for many people, including myself, preventing us from proceeding with the labs.

By Craig M

Aug 4, 2021

Hard to get the IBM cloud products to work. They do sometimes but are not reliable. I am dropping the course.

By Mohammad H

Dec 17, 2020

Very bad teaching. Poor practices, it seems that they just want to promote IBM products rather than to teach.

By Kurt E

Mar 10, 2020

Labs are always down and time out so you are unable to practice what you are learning.... Very frustrating!

By Brandon B

Aug 2, 2021

There were problems with the db2 service nearly the entire course and staff were extremely unhelpful.

By Inês F

Apr 4, 2020

There were several problems with the labs for several days, and the staff didn't offer any solution.

By Jacqueline R

May 19, 2020

Not user friendly.

Errors present. Have to do a lot of work-arounds.

Dreading finishing this course.

By Peter

Feb 16, 2022

Dont recomend to take this course, They charge you additional 200$ for acces to their DB database