Chevron Left
Back to Databases and SQL for Data Science with Python

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Databases and SQL for Data Science with Python by IBM

4.6
stars
19,629 ratings

About the Course

Working knowledge of SQL (or Structured Query Language) is a must for data professionals like Data Scientists, Data Analysts and Data Engineers. Much of the world's data resides in databases. SQL is a powerful language used for communicating with and extracting data from databases. In this course you will learn SQL inside out- from the very basics of Select statements to advanced concepts like JOINs. You will: -write foundational SQL statements like: SELECT, INSERT, UPDATE, and DELETE -filter result sets, use WHERE, COUNT, DISTINCT, and LIMIT clauses -differentiate between DML & DDL -CREATE, ALTER, DROP and load tables -use string patterns and ranges; ORDER and GROUP result sets, and built-in database functions -build sub-queries and query data from multiple tables -access databases as a data scientist using Jupyter notebooks with SQL and Python -work with advanced concepts like Stored Procedures, Views, ACID Transactions, Inner & Outer JOINs through hands-on labs and projects You will practice building SQL queries, work with real databases on the Cloud, and use real data science tools. In the final project you’ll analyze multiple real-world datasets to demonstrate your skills....

Top reviews

BS

May 20, 2020

Amazing course for beginners! The entire course is well structured and has good hands-on assignments. SQL is extremely essential for Database management and fun learning so please do try this one out!

SR

Aug 25, 2022

I am thankful to coursera for providing database and sql for data science course in such a way that anyone can

understand the basic fundamental of sql and database. I learn a lot from this course.

Filter by:

126 - 150 of 2,690 Reviews for Databases and SQL for Data Science with Python

By Задойный А

Feb 22, 2020

Бесполнезно. Всё равно что прочитать оглавление к документации по SQL.

By Gregory B

Nov 24, 2023

The DB2 stuff is garbage. It should be removed to focus on sqlite.

By Ümüd O

May 14, 2020

Terribly poor designed course. Video content very dissatisfied.

By Tan G T R

Jul 27, 2020

Very buggy course for it to be enjoyable. Not exactly worth it

By MERCHANT M I

Jul 23, 2021

Instructions regarding peer-graded assignments are not clear.

By Simona L

Aug 8, 2019

I had extremely bad experience with IBM db2. Do not recommend

By Norshuhaida B A R

Dec 15, 2020

the theory is very complex and difficult to understand.

By Mill L

Jul 7, 2020

Rubbish, I don't even understand why its rating is 4.7.

By Georgios K

Feb 21, 2022

Several labs could not load

Returned bad gateway error

By Puja S

Sep 5, 2022

I cant get my certificate even after completing it.

By LULU A

Nov 2, 2021

Does not grant you a certificate at the end.

By Mateusz K

Jan 21, 2020

Tragic

By Maria B

Jan 16, 2019

I actually liked this course. It introduces you to all the basic SQL commands (select, aggregate functions (min, max, sum, avg), joins etc). The labs enable you to create tables in the DB2 database (=the IBM database) and query them from a Jupyter Notebook. I have my own Jupyter Notebook installed , however, you can run and practice queries on the IBM environment as well. Then I liked that in the final assignment in week 5, the last problem 7 was a bit challenging ( I spent some 2 hours on this problem alone! searching the internet and the course forum. As a result, I did memorise how the INNER JOIN command works!!). The rest of the problems really had the same simple commands as in the labs. Finally, I received a helpful response from Rav Ahuja, the tutor of this course, the following day after I posted my question. I liked that rather than giving me a ready command, he pointed me to a general solution to this problem (in case I encounter the same problem again). Overall, I'm impressed with this course.

Hint: please save your log in credentials and the link to Dashboard-IBM Cloud from Lab1/week 1, you'll need to use them many times in other labs and the final assignment!

By Zalina R

Mar 20, 2021

I really enjoyed this course! I saw negative reviews, but I still decided to pass it. I was attracted to this course by the fact that here, in modules 4 and 5, a bundle of Python and SQL was studied. I am 100% satisfied. I really liked the presentation of the material on SQL, and also liked the real experience of interacting with a database in the cloud. Yes, this will be a specific IBM cloud DB2, but after understanding the specifics of working with it, you can switch to the API of another database and another system.

The passage was not without technical difficulties, but I would warn you about 2 points - when registering for IBM cloud, use the mail domain gmail.com, and 2 - when loading tables in db2, do not pay attention to error messages, but rather check whether the tables were loaded manually. Otherwise, there were no problems.

For me, this was the best sql course I ever took. Although perhaps I liked it also because I already know something about SQL and work with Python, so it really suited me.

By Hoàng H

May 20, 2023

The Databases and SQL for Data Science with Python course exceeded my expectations! It's incredibly well-structured, making it easy to follow and understand. The instructor's explanations are clear and engaging. From the basics to advanced concepts, the course covers everything comprehensively.

The hands-on exercises and practical examples were invaluable. They helped me apply my knowledge in real-world scenarios, boosting my confidence. The course materials are comprehensive and organized, serving as excellent references for future use.

If you're interested in mastering databases and SQL for data science with Python, this course is a must! It strikes the perfect balance between theory and practical implementation, making it suitable for aspiring data scientists. Highly recommended!

Kudos to the instructor and the course creators for an exceptional learning experience!

By Deleted A

Jul 19, 2020

Though compact, the course doesn't seem to miss out anything on Databases and SQL as far as a new programmer like me is concerned. The instructor is awesome and so are the videos, readings and labs. Nowhere you would feel that prior experience with programming is a must to assimilate the concepts taught in the course.

Programming is a hurdle for many who aspire to be a Data Scientist. So this course would definitely provide a solid ground to people new to programming but gritty enough to be a Data Scientist and would help them in realizing their dream. The course is well desined, and specially well taught and the team would have really broken a sweat to make this course what it is. Loved it!

By S M G A N

Jul 28, 2023

The "Databases and SQL for Data Science with Python" course, presented by IBM on Coursera, represents an outstanding opportunity for learners to delve into the essential principles underlying databases and SQL in the context of data science applications. The course offers a meticulously structured curriculum that delivers a lucid and succinct exposition on SQL querying and database administration utilizing Python. By incorporating engaging hands-on exercises and real-world projects, this program fosters a robust understanding and mastery of database concepts, making it a compelling choice for aspiring data scientists seeking to elevate their proficiency in this domain.

By Alpesh G

Jul 21, 2021

Describe SQL and Database, Explain the syntax of basic SQL statements, composed and executed CREATE TABLE, ALTER, DROP, and TRUNCATE statements hands-on on a live database. Demonstrated how to write sub-queries and nested select. Demonstrated how to perform simplified database access from Python using SQL magic, how to connect to a database from a Jupyter notebook, use of invoking SQL queries from Jupyter notebooks using Python. Lastly the Peer-Graded assignment test all my knowledge which I gained through this course.

Thank you IBM and Coursera for this beautiful course.

By Deleted A

Apr 26, 2022

Well organized and executed class, I especially appreciated the hands on labs and that there were options for the hands on labs for those who have been experiencing issues accessing the IBM Cloud environments.

The only enhancements I woould suggest are to provide either written course documents or reference to documents that are searchable, and also some topics on debugging techniques. Of course, we can find this through query on the internet, but I think it is a useful topic for anyone learining coding techniques.

By Ariel M

Nov 9, 2022

This is one of the better IBM courses, but we warned. To get the most of the module, you will need to collect, research, and gather additional information from all over the web. The IBM DB2 cloud site has many problems, such as non-compatible libraries (SQL Alchemy), DB2 SQL commands with cryptic and often unique syntax not mentioned in the course, and other delightful nightmares of the programming world. Sadly, it's getting over these hurdles what will make you a database champ more than the course itself.

By Alyona M

Mar 29, 2023

Hello! Thank you for this course. I already had the knowledge of SQL, but I was interested in videos, exercises and repeating the basic material. And some things were new for me. I think you can suplement this course with the additional information of SQL language, who wants to learn more advantages of DB and DBMS or share links to additional topics.

Note: there is no information about the different types of JOIN, UNION and CTE (Common Table Expressions). In my opinion, this is a very useful skill.

By Debatreyo R

Mar 7, 2024

The course syllabus has broad coverage. For data analysis it focuses on Python & sqlite3 and IBM dB2 (optional). It spends sufficient time on analysis of real-world datasets using Python & SQL. The assignments under this course were rigorous enough to help me practice and clarify my understanding. Overall my experience has been satisfactory and rewarding. I can confidently recommend taking this course to anyone who wants to learn SQL syntax and how to use it for data analysis. Thank you

By SUJITH K

May 19, 2019

This course is very helpful to learn SQL fundamentals and to implement it in IBM cloud platform.

I am belonging to a poor family and i was very much interested to learn database management system and Coursera provided me the perfect platform to learn Databases and SQL for Data Science.

I would recommend all of you people who is interested to learn SQL to start with this course because it provide depth fundamental of SQL.

Thank you for providing an perfect platform to learn SQL.

By Javier R L

Apr 23, 2024

Thank you so much for the fantastic course! I truly appreciated your dedication and the way you presented the material, making complex topics accessible and engaging. Your passion for teaching and your commitment to student success were evident throughout the course, and it made a significant difference in my learning experience. I feel more confident and prepared in my field thanks to your guidance and support. Thank you once again for such a valuable and enjoyable course!

By Hưng V V

May 25, 2021

Although I find the lab work is challenging, I often find myself have to refer back to the material to be able to complete them. That's not necessarily a bad thing, though, since they does help build good foundational knowledge for SQL and thorough understanding of the subjects.

Thankfully (for me), the exams and quizzes are not nearly as hard as the quizzes, so I can still manage to pull through with ease.

100% would recommend this course to anyone learning SQL.