Chevron Left
Back to Databases and SQL for Data Science with Python

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Databases and SQL for Data Science with Python by IBM Skills Network

4.6
stars
17,240 ratings

About the Course

Working knowledge of SQL (or Structured Query Language) is a must for data professionals like Data Scientists, Data Analysts and Data Engineers. Much of the world's data resides in databases. SQL is a powerful language used for communicating with and extracting data from databases. In this course you will learn SQL inside out- from the very basics of Select statements to advanced concepts like JOINs. You will: -write foundational SQL statements like: SELECT, INSERT, UPDATE, and DELETE -filter result sets, use WHERE, COUNT, DISTINCT, and LIMIT clauses -differentiate between DML & DDL -CREATE, ALTER, DROP and load tables -use string patterns and ranges; ORDER and GROUP result sets, and built-in database functions -build sub-queries and query data from multiple tables -access databases as a data scientist using Jupyter notebooks with SQL and Python -work with advanced concepts like Stored Procedures, Views, ACID Transactions, Inner & Outer JOINs Through hands-on labs and projects, you will practice building SQL queries, work with real databases on the Cloud, and use real data science tools. In the final project you’ll analyze multiple real-world datasets to demonstrate your skills....

Top reviews

BS

May 20, 2020

Amazing course for beginners! The entire course is well structured and has good hands-on assignments. SQL is extremely essential for Database management and fun learning so please do try this one out!

SR

Aug 25, 2022

I am thankful to coursera for providing database and sql for data science course in such a way that anyone can

understand the basic fundamental of sql and database. I learn a lot from this course.

Filter by:

151 - 175 of 2,294 Reviews for Databases and SQL for Data Science with Python

By vikas m

Sep 20, 2018

Course is good for any novice who wants to start with basic understanding of SQL.

It also covered database connectivity with python.

From my side i would like to recommend that course material should include some string functions like instr, substr and handling null values, as these are frequently used functions when working with any dataset.

By Ginger M

Apr 15, 2020

Totally recommended for those who want to learn about the key aspects of relational databases and SQL for Data Science. The optional labs that are offered in the course are really helfull and have relevant information too.

In my experience, in this Specialization Course I found the key aspects for developing a Data Science project.

By Angelo G

Mar 12, 2023

Quite useful stuff to learn. I particularly applaud the technical integration of the IBM Cloud (i.e., the connection between Jupyter Notebook and the databases on the IBM cloud). Once you overcame some technical hickups at the start, this worked surprisingly well, and gave the course more of a "real life" flavour.

Well done, team.

By Waldo H

Aug 9, 2022

This course is impressive for its high quality and for the clarity of its didactic material. The most remarkable thing is that theoretical knowledge is practiced immediately. I would recommend improving the course in Spanish because I am Chilean.

Final Thougths: 100% recommended course and a clarity of explanation that impresses.

By Lester L C B

Mar 18, 2022

Course was structured really well and provided plethora of hands-on labs, particularly for Jupyter Notebooks and SQL Language which helped make the learning experience easy to follow. Videos were short and packed with lot's of information. Overall, a great course for beginners who are looking for a career start in Data Science.

By Lipin A

Jul 6, 2019

The course is pretty good and consists of step-by-step classes which learn us basic skills we are going to use and evolve in our real job: what is a query, how we can use and create it, how to obtain data from a database, how to check out some particular data from a database, and so on.

Many thanks for such interesting course!

By Kateryna H

Aug 11, 2019

It was so hard to work with Pyton, because I did do it before. Oh,... I missed this job (work with SQL)!

Thank you for these course! It was hard, boring when you don't understand something (or can't fix your mistake cause you can't find it! (haha) ), but it was a real good time for refreshing my memory and learning new ways.

By Mallesh M

Apr 8, 2019

This course provides good basic knowledge in Data Base and SQL (Structure Query Language). Even i don't know anything about Sql but after taking this course i got basic knowledge and to practice sql queries IBM itself provide their database DB2. I would say thanks for providing such brilliant course IBM and CourseEra.

By Dr. M C

Apr 22, 2021

This is an action packed course with labs to help learners to internalize lessons learned in theory class. The course is highly practical. The student must have an open mind to learn, and prepare to explore various concepts that are connected. Everything is fun. It is a fast moving course and I thoroughly enjoyed it.

By Shabanova O

Jun 17, 2020

I express my gratitude to the organizers of the course. The course was very exciting.

I discovered a lot of new things in working with databases. This is a new science for me. I realized that I need to deepen my annia in programming. Now I plan to take your Python for Data Science and AI course.

Thank you good luck

By Muhammad S A

Jan 20, 2023

This course has broadened my SQL knowledge. It helped me understand how to use basics SQL statements to query data and gradually helped me build more advanced statements to query real life data. I also got to interact with Db2 database. Above all it was fun seeing how powerful SQL is in problem solving using data.

By Samriddh L

May 6, 2020

The best taught course in the Data Science professional certificate curriculum.

Everything is aptly incremental, every question, every slide, every week. You wont click the next button and be surprised by the information on that page!

Unlike the other courses I didnt question myself - am I supposed to know this?

By Ziliang T

Feb 17, 2020

This course is the most interactive learning experience I've had on Coursera. Thanks to the brilliant teachers from IBM and the great course they provided. The most memorable thing was the labs where I was able to experiment the knowledge myself. Would definitely recommend this to anyone starting to learn SQL!

By James S

Sep 2, 2019

I am a beginner when it comes to SQL and relational databases so the course is just right. It may feel a bit boring at times but that's the nature of the subject not how the course is written. Some repetition is good to refresh memory. I would definitely recommend this class for anyone new to SQL or Python.

By Sagarika S

Jul 8, 2020

This course is really amazing. With hands-on lab you will be able to master in SQL. I would like to recommend this course to everyone who wants to learn SQL from the beginning as well as to them who want to improve their SQL skill. Thank You, Rav Ahuja and Coursera for providing such valuable knowledge.

By Md. A A J

Mar 26, 2020

It's a great opportunity for me to learn Db2 on IBM cloud using Python, Jupiter notebook, SQL and relational database. Example cases, practice lab and final peer reviewed assignments are brilliant!!

Thanks courser for developing this interactive module to learn database and SQL on Db2 platform.

Ashfaque

By Benjamin H

Jun 26, 2019

I wanted to learn a little bit of everything about SQL queries and I found exactly what I was looking for. The lessons were quick, packed with information and challenging. When I combine this knowledge with what I have already learned in Python I feel like I am well on my way to bigger projects.

By Tam D

Mar 6, 2019

Great content. Delivered in a format that would get you from no SQL knowledge to querying real world data sets in a few weeks. Off course, as with everything, you would need more practice to develop your skills. This course definitely provides the foundation for that additional practice.

By Adarsh K P

Feb 13, 2020

very good course and lot of labs to practice yourself..if you are new to database or sql then this is for you it has some extra information explaining some of the jargons used in database system.

I'am just a fan of Coursera and the way of teaching, i am very satisfied with this course.

By Vivek G

Mar 6, 2020

Brilliant Course, I have learned so much and found a new passion for SQL. The best part of this was the real world data that we work with and the way the hands-on sessions, particularly the ones in Week 4 are. They guide you in a way that you learn how to develop queries...great fun.

By Jayant A

Dec 31, 2022

this course is really awesome I have never seen the hierarchy of topics from beginner to advance level in any other course. If anyone complete this course with honesty he/she will learn many things. And at the end he/she will be one more step ahead towards their Data Science Career.

By Jonathan W

May 5, 2020

Der Kurz hat mir sehr geholfen, mit SQL Datenbanken mehr vertraut zu werden. Besonders hilfreich war die Mischung zwischen Theorie Input und den Hands-On Labs. Somit konnte ich erste Erfahrung im SQL Queries schreiben sammeln und mit den Tools für Datenbanken arbeiten. Sehr gut.

By Shikha K

Oct 26, 2018

Databases and SQL for Data Science is great course for all those, who are eager to learn SQL. It was great a experience to run a SQL Query on IBM Cloud also on Jupiter. The course content covers almost every corners. I will highly recommend this course to anyone wanna learn SQL.

By Kedar

Aug 21, 2020

In-depth course for SQL. This was very well planned understanding the mindset of a New Be. One needs to practice the concepts like once in three days to be on the toes. Thank you Coursera and all Professors who made this possible! Hoping to meet you again on the next course.

By Qaunain M

Jul 19, 2022

Amazing course that features loads of clever videos with diagrams to break down how SQL and Databases work. You also get great exposure to hand on labs where you get to connect SQL databases into cloud environments to then mainupluate data sets and assignments with Python.