Chevron Left
Back to SQL for Data Science

Learner Reviews & Feedback for SQL for Data Science by University of California, Davis

4.6
stars
9,790 ratings
2,544 reviews

About the Course

As data collection has increased exponentially, so has the need for people skilled at using and interacting with data; to be able to think critically, and provide insights to make better decisions and optimize their businesses. This is a data scientist, “part mathematician, part computer scientist, and part trend spotter” (SAS Institute, Inc.). According to Glassdoor, being a data scientist is the best job in America; with a median base salary of $110,000 and thousands of job openings at a time. The skills necessary to be a good data scientist include being able to retrieve and work with data, and to do that you need to be well versed in SQL, the standard language for communicating with database systems. This course is designed to give you a primer in the fundamentals of SQL and working with data so that you can begin analyzing it for data science purposes. You will begin to ask the right questions and come up with good answers to deliver valuable insights for your organization. This course starts with the basics and assumes you do not have any knowledge or skills in SQL. It will build on that foundation and gradually have you write both simple and complex queries to help you select data from tables. You'll start to work with different types of data like strings and numbers and discuss methods to filter and pare down your results. You will create new tables and be able to move data into them. You will learn common operators and how to combine the data. You will use case statements and concepts like data governance and profiling. You will discuss topics on data, and practice using real-world programming assignments. You will interpret the structure, meaning, and relationships in source data and use SQL as a professional to shape your data for targeted analysis purposes. Although we do not have any specific prerequisites or software requirements to take this course, a simple text editor is recommended for the final project. So what are you waiting for? This is your first step in landing a job in the best occupation in the US and soon the world!...

Top reviews

JP
Apr 5, 2020

This course has really helped with optimizing queries that I work with everyday, enhancing my understanding of RDBMS, joins, analyzing and structuring exactly what you need and yielding those results.

AL
Aug 21, 2020

A comprehensive course that covers major aspects of query building and retrieval in a management system. The topics were delivered well and the materials/assignments were relevant for skill-building.

Filter by:

1951 - 1975 of 2,532 Reviews for SQL for Data Science

By Carlos J R M

Jan 3, 2021

Although the course was very hands-on, and the Instructor made everything clear I was left wanting some more reading material for learning about Data Science

By Raunit S

Nov 9, 2020

Great course, provided a really good introduction. However they course could have provided some more examples as to how to actually use the functions taught.

By Minglun Z

Aug 19, 2020

More exercise will be much better. For now, it is not enough for the learner to apply their skills learned in this course so they cannot master their skills.

By נס ג

Apr 18, 2020

Great for begginers, I'd suggest to learn with W3 school sql tutorial in parallel as it has more concrete examples and functions you can try by yourself.

By Jake M

May 13, 2021

Good course overall, I wish it had more work along with the teacher kind of work like on Linkdin. Otherwise there are some great tips and explanations.

By Katy H

Mar 19, 2021

Great course but there were typos in the assignments that made them hard to understand and the editor wouldn't allow things like INSTR and temp tables.

By Winda W

Nov 21, 2020

It's fun thing to learn SQL in the first place, but the instructor seem like just read the script maybe?

But I like the quizzes and coding assignments!

By Eike V

Feb 26, 2020

Overall this course is quite good to get a first understanding of SQL. Although i missed some more explanations or examples for complex data analysis.

By Aleksandr S

Jun 15, 2020

The course is useful, but in my opinion there must be added more practice during the course and way more examples and explanations in week 3 module.

By Sriraj K

Feb 10, 2019

Some if the query running environments were not working on an iPAD. So it was very difficult to complete get answers. Otherwise this course is good.

By Harsh S

Aug 24, 2020

This Course got me started from 0 to 99 .

VERY HELPFUL COURSE .

The project gave me an outline which will help me to set any data with right steps .

By Muhammad A K

Apr 23, 2020

Great course, but maybe could use a bit more practice materials between lectures so you keep coding along and learning what you see in the lectures

By Luis E F P

Mar 29, 2020

I think the course is a very good overall complement while learning SQL, one thing I would like to see it some type of a live coding real problems.

By Nicolas B

Jul 8, 2019

Everything was fine and easy to follow. Unfortunately the final exam question's were not really clear and easy to unterstand, so this makes it 4/5.

By Victoria L

Apr 25, 2021

Buen curso en general, faltaría clases explicando como instalar sql, ejercicios prácticos que sean realizados en el momento. Igualmente recomiendo

By Vlastislav D

Apr 24, 2020

Perfectly prepared. Some tasks in the assignment were boring and tedious (listing number of rows for all tables; getting the non-null attributes).

By Scott K

Apr 27, 2021

Excellent introduction into SQL. The assignments and final peer-review project were great tools to problem solve and practice the skills taught.

By Animish A

Apr 26, 2021

I loved the way Sadie delivered important points without taking too much time. She gave just the right amount to details required to get started

By Jerónimo P

Mar 18, 2020

El curso fue muy bueno, muy claro. Aún así me parece que estaría bueno agregar más ejemplo en los videos, principalmente para las semanas 3 y 4.

By Alejandro S

Mar 9, 2020

A good introduction to SQL with interactive videos. Maybe I will improve the playground a bit so we can practice more queries along the process.

By Codrin K

Sep 17, 2018

Goor refresher or basic start. Personally I found the use of http://www.sqlitetutorial.net very hepful for this course, more so than the slides.

By Philipp L

Jan 18, 2018

The questions in the final assignment were quite difficult to understand and the overall course took longer than the estimated amount of hours.

By BSR N K

May 16, 2020

Great course for SQL beginners. The course takes us through all the basic syntax, thus helping us develop the ability to query large datasets.

By Sanchit M

May 3, 2020

The course should have also provided an opportunity of code along with the videos. And output of all the the codes in the video is not shown.

By Mamta G

Jan 11, 2019

The course was a great introduction to SQL and the peer reviewing process is a great initiative. The course was well paced and well designed.