Chevron Left
Back to Statistical Inference

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Statistical Inference by Johns Hopkins University

4.2
stars
4,144 ratings
834 reviews

About the Course

Statistical inference is the process of drawing conclusions about populations or scientific truths from data. There are many modes of performing inference including statistical modeling, data oriented strategies and explicit use of designs and randomization in analyses. Furthermore, there are broad theories (frequentists, Bayesian, likelihood, design based, …) and numerous complexities (missing data, observed and unobserved confounding, biases) for performing inference. A practitioner can often be left in a debilitating maze of techniques, philosophies and nuance. This course presents the fundamentals of inference in a practical approach for getting things done. After taking this course, students will understand the broad directions of statistical inference and use this information for making informed choices in analyzing data....

Top reviews

JA
Oct 25, 2018

Course is compressed with lots of statistical concepts. Which is very good as most must know concepts are imparted. Lots of extra reading is required to gain all insights. Very good motivating start .

MI
Sep 24, 2020

the teachers were awesome in this course. I liked this course a lot.Understood it properly.Thanks to all the beloved teachers and mentors who toiled hard to make these course easy to handle.Gracious!

Filter by:

751 - 775 of 801 Reviews for Statistical Inference

By Nick H

Sep 18, 2017

Very hard to follow, many of the maths symbols are not well explained. To little time spent on each concept and many concepts don't get a proper explanation. I had to re-learn almost every concept externally as I learnt little from the videos. Some of the lessons on khan academy are much easier to follow.

By Beverly A

Dec 3, 2016

I've not found this course organized pedagogically speaking. The organization, insofar as "here is a list of stuff I'll be teaching" makes sense. But a lot of the "teaching" is ill suited for someone looking to learn with a minimal statistical background. It's incredibly frustrating and disheartening.

By James T

Jul 26, 2016

Terrible instruction in the videos and unclear directions. I'd avoid this course if possible, but it's required for the specialization. New videos should be shot and inspiration taken from more instructive and interesting guides, like The Cartoon Guide to Statistics by Gonick & Smith.

By Robert O

Mar 6, 2016

I really wanted to learn this stuff. I have almost no background in statistics. But the lectures didn't cover stuff with enough rigor and repetition for me to pick up much.

So I pretty much gamed the quizzes and project enough to get through the class. Rather disappointing.

By Donald R

Dec 17, 2016

Covers basic statistics (Mean, Variance, Simple Z and T tests). Not what I was expecting as Inference. Multiple testing of data is a sign of poor experimental design and should be avoided, not adjusted for. Bootstrapping is not a new idea and has been used in other fields.

By Nicholas A

Nov 21, 2017

Focused little on the programming side of probability, and the explanations of the material were so vague and assumed you knew so much about probability already, that I ended up using my college notes for the quizzes and projects more than the actual lecture video notes.

By Peihuan M

Jul 27, 2020

It is very hard for people with no previous statistics background to follow. Some key concepts are just one sentence mentioned in passing. I have to go on YouTube to learn first and come back. Then I will understand some of the things the instructors were talking about.

By Gennadiy

Apr 18, 2016

Do NOT recommend. Very poorly explained. Refers to some concepts without introducing, introduces others without explaining. Spends most of the time looking to the computer screen instead of toward you and reading the text instead of explaining in understandable manner.

By Liew W P

Aug 23, 2016

Personally, I feel that the way of sharing and teaching was assuming everyone is an expert in this subject. This course need to be reviewed to make it more suitable to various groups of profession as not everyone has the same level of mathematics background.

By Jeffrey G

Aug 16, 2017

In general, I'm really excited about statistics, there are so many interesting and cool problems to work on, and yet, here I am, forced to do an analysis of, "The Effect of Vitamin C on Tooth Growth in Guinea Pigs."I can't make this shit up...

By Deas R

Feb 15, 2016

Seeking out supplemental material is not only helpful, but necessary. This course does not provide a foundation of knowledge for inferential statistics so much as present several equations and functions and describe how one might use them.

By Sharon E

Jul 21, 2020

This course starts with the assumption that you understand all of the terminology covered and that you already have a thorough understanding of statistics and inferences. I'm sorry - if I knew all that I wouldn't be taking this module.

By Paul K

Mar 28, 2017

Poor quality audio. Monotonous lecture style with frequent inaccuracies in delivery (says one thing but actually means another). I found my motivation and performance dropped sharply in contrast to prior lectures in this series.

By raunak r

Dec 25, 2016

Very disappointing!!!!!!!too much emphasis on mathematical notations....where are the practical applications?lack of examples....it seemed more of a prose than a lecture....would not recommend to a beginner.Period

By Fabiano C

Feb 5, 2017

So far this is the poorest course in DS specialiation. Coins and dices all the time, Brian reads to the camera. It is just like reading a book, a very boring one. Examples from real life could boost interest.

By Marco A M A

Apr 7, 2016

poor course, saturated, with an instructer that uses big words and does not explain many difficult ideas, and take for granted that the leaner knows a lot of probability and statistics.

By Evgeny P

Oct 24, 2017

Course materials are not balanced, it is not enough information to follow conclusions. Course gives set of tools but doesn't build solid foundation and intuition about how to use them.

By vaibhav p

Sep 10, 2017

Quality of teaching needs to improve. The professor needs to be more enthusiastic when giving the lecture.

The course content should involve more examples to help cement the concepts.

By Adnan B

Jul 19, 2019

Not a good instructor or course material

it felt like if he was trying to teach to phd candidates

I just went to Khans academy for every topic.. didnt learny anything from him..

By Rennê L C V

Oct 13, 2017

The teatcher know so much about the topic that he can't put himself on students shoes and see that his classes are really hard to understand. Also, the audio was pretty bad.

By Sergey Z

Jun 9, 2016

The worst course I've ever taken.

Bad sound quality, dead discussion forums, not possible to understand material without external (not mentioned in the course) sources.

By Farhad S

Apr 19, 2016

This course is very difficult to follow, not because the topics are hard or too technical but mostly due to lecturer's poor job in explaining and creating a narrative.

By Martin L

Jul 8, 2017

It's a very interesting topic but I had to rely on a text book to understand it! I struggled to understand the lectures and reconcile it back to the quizes.

By Maria

Dec 9, 2017

The teacher does not explain clearly the concepts. I will not recommend this course to somebody interested in the subject as it is not effective to learn.

By Jeff B

Mar 31, 2018

The lecturer is very difficult to follow. His teaching style is very hard if you don't already have a background in statistics. Sorry but true.