Chevron Left
Back to Business Strategy

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Business Strategy by University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

4.8
667 ratings
131 reviews

About the Course

In this course you will learn how organizations create, capture, and maintain value, and how it is fundamental for sustainable competitive advantage. You will be able to better understand value creation and capture, and learn the tools to analyze both competition and cooperation from a variety of perspectives, including the industry level (e.g., five forces analysis), and the firm level (e.g., business models and strategic positioning). • Understand how managers coordinate different functional areas, resources, and systems inside a company and align them with the external environment to enhance overall performance • Knowledge of strategic management tools and frameworks, and apply them to real business contexts Process diverse business and industry information to diagnose strategic issues, evaluate strategic alternatives, and formulate a coherent and actionable strategic plan • How to think like a CEO, entrepreneur, or general manager. This course is part of the iMBA offered by the University of Illinois, a flexible, fully-accredited online MBA at an incredibly competitive price. For more information, please see the Resource page in this course and onlinemba.illinois.edu....

Top reviews

HL

Aug 26, 2018

I am really honored to review this course. The course and the Professor was really having a high practical approach. 4th Module was little bit confusion although it was a great time doing the course.

TW

Aug 11, 2016

I really enjoyed the case studies in this course and the education on various frameworks felt like I could immediately use the material in real world scenarios. Highly recommended course materials.

Filter by:

101 - 125 of 128 Reviews for Business Strategy

By Kim d

Aug 10, 2019

The most insightfull lecture for analyzing companies

By Elena L

May 07, 2019

Great course and especially professor Somaya is a brilliant teacher, always coming up with interesting cases, metaphors and constant willing to share as much as possible with students. Deepest appreciation and gratitude to the whole course Team!

By Mayukh G

Jun 12, 2019

Loved this class ... Prof Somaya the best online instructor I have experienced so far !

By Gaurav V

Jun 13, 2019

Good course but new cases will be good for aligning with current environment

By Hector R

Jun 14, 2019

Absolute Genius!

By Tarek E

Jun 13, 2019

Amazing experience, I already studied Business Administration and Strategy as my formal high education but never was able to look at businesses and industries as a business or strategy analyst. The frameworks and tools in the module are very helpful in assessing and intervene in business and how they operate!

By Deep R H

Aug 17, 2019

really practical knowledge gaining tool

By Sumanta p

Sep 09, 2019

Good platform to learn the core ideas of Business strategies with supporting case studies..this helps me a lot to understand the attributes to follow in real biz world

By Ajay C S

Sep 08, 2019

This is an excellent course, well-packaged and drives straight to the point of how strategy is necessary for a sustained competitive advantage to any organization.

By WAHEED U R

Aug 25, 2019

Excellent and amazing course. I really learnt a lot about business strategy while doing that course. Thanks!

By Andrea D C

Aug 26, 2019

The teacher is 🔥 the material is 🔥 the content is 🔥

By MUHAMMAD A S

Aug 31, 2019

After taking this course, I have learnt following,

Solutions to the business challenges under the study of 1st course, that we can have better results after setting and communicating cleared mission and vision according to the business model to the whole organization so that individual’s efforts can convert in to one FORCE towards the accomplishment of common objectives & sustainability of business model. And how to get internal coherence towards the business module and overall strategic fit within the organization and outside challenges under the definition of V A R S framework. A new thing to me that strategic intent for team can also play a vital role in high achievements.

Solutions to the business challenges under the study of 2nd course, for sustainably of business model and profitability the analysis of industry are most important to take corrective actions and future decisions. Study and understanding of PESTEL framework and Five Forces made more clarity to take relevant and correct decisions. There was lot of material and support to understand that how we can make a successful strategic fit between internal strength, activities and capabilities with external environment or requirements.

Solutions to the business challenges under the study of 3rd course, here in course it is an ample study, material, lecture and case study to understand that how we can keep sustainable competitive advantages to reduce or minimize the challenges of five forces which always keep the company’s profitability low or high cost of business. There is learning over best strategic fit of activities, resources and capabilities along best use of value chain and network chain to develop best economic value added.

Solution to the business challenges under the study of 4th course, there is the best-case study to understand the best application of generic strategies, after the study of this course we can make best use to determine the generic strategy but here we will apply the study of 2nd and 3rd courses as well. Cost leadership and differentiations both are back bone of current ear businesses, this study will support us a lot of over generic strategies and will lead towards strategy renewal as well while evaluating internally activities, resources and capabilities with external challenges. Now we are much confident after this study that we can identify stuck positioning of company, then can recommend over strategy renewal so accordingly to the industry to keep strategic positioning.

Summary,

Business strategy demonstrates the FIT among different activities, functions and capabilities within the company, enables the manager to add value and to capitalize business opportunities and helps to ALIGN internal strengths with the external environment for business sustainability. It briefs and guides over business strategic TOOLs that how a manger can use such well described frameworks and can ANALYSE environment & industry to DEVELOP competitive edges for sustainability and strategic positioning and leads towards strategy renewal in case of stuck in middle.

By Truong T T H

Sep 04, 2019

The course's content is good and the way teacher give example let me easy to understand.

By Prashant R

Oct 01, 2019

Nice learning experience

By Yan

Oct 05, 2019

Particularly like the part CEO/Executive sharing. It showed how theories applied to real cases.

By Zaw Z O

Sep 18, 2018

This research based specialization has provided the fundamental knowledge and essential skills in from daily strategic leadership to Managing organization effectively; you will see how the course is precise and concise that leads the potential leverage for achieving your organization’s goals and sustaining its long-term success.

By Siri

Jul 20, 2017

Although the professor did a good job of bringing in examples and real-world business strategists, it would have been great to encourage more women into business by including female entrepreneurs or bosses in his interviews and examples. I understand that there are far more men than women in the highest levels of corporate leadership, but professors have a unique opportunity to change that by amplifying their voices and encouraging the next generation of business students to include women in leadership.

By Ateh A

Apr 13, 2018

Great content and introduction to an interesting field of business. Like Finance, I have found Business strategy a little odd and too focused on Base line profits. Now I have a broader view of the topic and can approach it from a whole other angle. The interviews with leaders and the the examples used in the course highlighted the material particularly well!

By Dinh T K H

Apr 21, 2017

Easy to learn with general concept within the business strategy's knowledge.

By AMANDA S C B

Sep 13, 2016

Great course - learn a lot

By Mohammed A

Jun 29, 2017

Good overall content, high level summary

By Kevin P

Jun 05, 2018

The topics presented in this course were very interesting, however some of the content needs to be updated. For example, Uber now has UberEats, which I don't believe was reflected in the course.

By Oscar c

Apr 23, 2019

Too fast.

By Diego A F

Jul 30, 2019

Very good one

By Leslie P

Jun 18, 2019

The lectures were great, but the assignments didn't offer much in the way of learning. I think the rubrics need to be revised.