Chevron Left
Back to The Age of Sustainable Development

Learner Reviews & Feedback for The Age of Sustainable Development by Columbia University

4.8
stars
2,070 ratings
708 reviews

About the Course

The Age of Sustainable Development" gives students an understanding of the key challenges and pathways to sustainable development - that is, economic development that is also socially inclusive and environmentally sustainable....

Top reviews

AA

Jun 02, 2020

Very informative and detailed. Prof. Sachs covers all aspects of sustainable development in detail. Though the course was designed in 2013 hence does not cover the latest development to SDGs to date.

LG

May 19, 2017

This course was perfect for those wanting to explore the world of development, broad enough to include all interlinked themes, with sufficient reading materials to spark one's specializing interests.

Filter by:

576 - 600 of 686 Reviews for The Age of Sustainable Development

By Jim G

Apr 20, 2018

Some of the data sources students must access for study or taking quizzes and the final exam are outdated or no longer accessible. That cost this course a star. Otherwise, the content, the instructor and the production values all rate highly.

By Joshua J

May 17, 2017

An excellent introduction to sustainable Development from one of the world's foremost experts in the area. The course would benefit from more in-depth assignments and reading tied directly into the lectures but, overall, an incredible course.

By Adamu

Apr 19, 2017

I'm so happy to have passed through this course. It has exposed me to the real facts about Humanity on earth and what needs to be done to keep us here long enough. Thanks to Professor Jeffrey Sachs and all members of the course team

By Md. M H

Feb 05, 2020

This is an outstanding achievement for me as it is my first completed course in Coursera. It is one of the best courses related to Sustainable Development. But it would be great if we get a certificate after complete this course.

By Kira B

Nov 16, 2015

Lots of quality conversational information on sustainable development, but I wish there were more interactive projects to apply the concepts. Without an application, much of the information remained abstract and hard to remember.

By Clara T C

Sep 16, 2015

It's a very interesting and fun course. I think maybe it's too long for not giving a certificate, but it's a nice course to follow and to learn by even if you just do 10 minutes per day and take it as a personal experience

By Idemudia E

Oct 13, 2016

It was really tasking and demanding for me but i enjoyed every bit of Professor's lecture. He provided detailed insights into every aspect of sustainable development needed for every government of every country.

By Roy M

Apr 10, 2020

Very interesting course overall, the material on the quizzes was a bit peculiar, mostly based on outside statistics that didn't require one to have actually watched the lecture and even sometimes had mistakes.

By Umaporn K

Apr 11, 2017

I'm a plan and policy analyst. I got a lot of idea for policy planing by SDGs guideline and some indicator that make the following process more clearly. But a few link for quiz have not working, please update.

By Hanna R

Jan 15, 2016

A great introduction to the subject of Sustainable Development!

Prof. Sachs talks very slowly which makes it very easy to follow and understand. I personally liked to watch the videos at a higher speed though.

By Katarína K

Jan 13, 2020

The lectures are very interesting and fascinating, I really enjoyed watching them! However, the tests are outdated, many of the links in them do not exist anymore which makes it more difficult to pass them.

By Julie B

Dec 05, 2018

Very interesting class.

Only one comment : it is becoming difficult to answer to questions. Indeed, they are referring to 2014 datas that are getting harder to get and links that can't be found anymore.

By Steven A

Feb 03, 2018

There is some great material in here (especially detailing the more hopeful aspects of sustainable development). The only bad part was that some of the links need updating in the quizzes.

By Laurel H

Oct 17, 2017

Very informative with extensive materials and an awesome professor. Highly recommended, the only thing better would be regular updates t some of the charts used and taking it in person.

By Clara B

May 29, 2020

Great course, very interesting content and amazing Professor. However there are some issues with the quizzes due to a lack of update of the course, which can be frustrating at times.

By Jesse K C

Oct 11, 2017

Sachs was an entertaining professor and the lectures where informative. He really does illustrate and discuss the different factors that may effect an area's development process.

By Monica S

Nov 08, 2015

Very interesting and demanding course, however is very long (14 weeks) in comparison to other online courses and due to its length it should provide a certificate of completion.

By Béatrice N

May 03, 2020

Very interesting course, it gives a global overview of the topic. Unfortunately the tests are often outdated and refer to graphs that do not exist anymore... very frustrating!

By michael a

Jan 21, 2018

Text book and videos were great...quizzes were a little behind in that the links were often no longer connected so you are left to guess when the link holds the specific an

By Montserrrat P A

Jan 18, 2016

Muy buen curso, entrega lo que ofrece y Jeffrey Sacks explica muy bien. El único problema son los quiz, traen links que no funcionan y hay respuestas que están mal.

By Mark A G

Jan 19, 2016

A great overview of a very complicated topic. Dr. Sachs does a great job presenting the information in easily digestible bits but still keeps it interesting.

By Ankita D

Jun 28, 2017

Great course but some of the content needs to be updated to include recent events since Environmental Science is such a fast-changing field at the moment.

By Martijn v B

Jan 01, 2017

Very informative and interesting. The links to various sources in the tests are not up to date though and make it difficult to get a 100% score.

By Larissa B

Nov 07, 2016

Very good course! The only thing that i must criticise is that in many weekly tests there are mistakes. This can get a little bit frustrating

By Hannah N

Apr 01, 2018

Really thorough overview of some of the most pressing issues facing the world, the need to act fast, and some potential courses of action.