Chevron Left
Back to The Age of Sustainable Development

The Age of Sustainable Development, Columbia University

4.8
1,724 ratings
589 reviews

About this Course

The Age of Sustainable Development" gives students an understanding of the key challenges and pathways to sustainable development - that is, economic development that is also socially inclusive and environmentally sustainable....

Top reviews

By LG

May 19, 2017

This course was perfect for those wanting to explore the world of development, broad enough to include all interlinked themes, with sufficient reading materials to spark one's specializing interests.

By KA

Jul 26, 2017

The course was very interesting and relevant but a lot of data is outdated, some links are not working or have been changed. I would advise to review the course according to the latest developments.

Filter by:

567 Reviews

By B. Azhaganathan

Mar 13, 2019

It's essential for everybody.

By Md Mahmudul Amin

Mar 12, 2019

Excellent course, Really learned a lot about sustainable development which was a fully new understanding for me. Hope that my learning will useful for my professional career.

By Luis Triviño

Mar 06, 2019

Thank you Professor Sachs for an amazing course, is very motivational and full of very high quality information to my professional work. thank you!

By Joshua Kalob Bowles

Mar 06, 2019

Some of the links and corresponding charts are not working. like that of the questions related to vizhub. Or the WHO data. It would also appear that many of such questions relate to old data that is no longer available and should be updated. Thanks!

By Salvador Cornelio Marí

Feb 21, 2019

Really good course, vast in information and coverage of all related topics. It is really balanced in terms of evaluations and a friendly learning environment.

By Ankur Karmacharya

Feb 17, 2019

Through this course, I have come to understand the challenge of sustainable development facing us today. I found this course to be highly informative. It has great lectures and lots of useful resources. Although this course was made before the actual SDGs were decided upon, it still is extremely useful as it gives the context to the build up of the actual goals. I recommend this course to everyone, from those curious about the topic to those who are involved in the field in their everyday practice. Loved it!

By Aslam Khader

Feb 12, 2019

Its a wonderful course to setup the concepts, theories and data behind the imperative for change. Very well taught by Prof Sachs. Its a little dated in some areas (like there are now 17 SDGs not the 10 proposed by the SDSN as indicated in the course. Some links for the tests are broken, and some such drawbacks. But overall a fantastic course.

By Joshua Wardle

Jan 28, 2019

Not quite what i expected but still fascinating and thought provoking content.

By Jenny Soh

Jan 27, 2019

The lecturer's speech clarity and pace is just right.

Some of the links were outdated and had the 404 error. Hence some questions couldn't be attempted; had to resort to guessing.

By BADDAR MUNIR

Jan 17, 2019

Its a good course