Chevron Left
Back to The Age of Sustainable Development

Learner Reviews & Feedback for The Age of Sustainable Development by Columbia University

4.8
stars
1,916 ratings
651 reviews

About the Course

The Age of Sustainable Development" gives students an understanding of the key challenges and pathways to sustainable development - that is, economic development that is also socially inclusive and environmentally sustainable....

Top reviews

LG

May 19, 2017

This course was perfect for those wanting to explore the world of development, broad enough to include all interlinked themes, with sufficient reading materials to spark one's specializing interests.

KA

Jul 26, 2017

The course was very interesting and relevant but a lot of data is outdated, some links are not working or have been changed. I would advise to review the course according to the latest developments.

Filter by:

601 - 625 of 629 Reviews for The Age of Sustainable Development

By BADDAR M

Jan 17, 2019

Its a good course

By Claudia C

Nov 21, 2017

A great course!!!

By mahmoud

Dec 30, 2016

gg

By Jaime R

Nov 16, 2016

G

By Melanie J

Nov 01, 2016

F

By Anne F

Feb 25, 2016

V

By Frederica C

Sep 04, 2017

I appreciated the variety of areas approached and the comprehensive analysis made. I liked that Prof. Sachs repeated some of the key information throughout the videos and course. It was very interesting that so many of the quiz questions were linked to different data websites - it introduced me different websites and interesting data I wouldn't know about.

However, I did not appreciate the US-centered approach in many of the subjects. Most of all, the course is outdated by a few years and there is no real effort to get it up-to-date: from links to websites that don't work (in quizzes) and either no alternative is given in the forums or the tutors simply refer to an alternative link without it being updated in the actual quizz; one whole week on SDGs that is focused solely on the preparation and proposals for SDGs - considering they have been adopted and are now in place, it would be essential to, at least, have an additional video on it.

By Lisa O

Jul 27, 2019

This course has very valuable information and I learned a lot! However, it is beginning to be slightly outdated (5-6 years old): many of the links are broken in quizzes, and the content he talks about has changed in reality (SDGs were finalized after this course was created). I did not find the quizzes to be reflective of content from the videos, and often had you navigate to third party sites (assuming the link worked at all). The videos are also somewhat dry and topics repetitive. That said, I really enjoyed learning about the interconnectedness of environmental issues with social and political ones, and would still recommend this course to anyone looking to get a foundation in sustainable development.

By Vincent G

Oct 30, 2015

Very good course, I enjoyed it very much and appreciated the educated and polite style of Prof. Jeffrey Sachs. I would have appreciated a copy of the figures and grafique shown. The course release in 2012 would need to be updated. The Quizz need a real involvement of the student to be completed; challenging but I personnaly appreaciated very much. The Quizz would need some profound revision since some links are not available anymore and some answer are simply wrong. A Statement from the Columbia University / Prof. J. Sachs would have been welcome since completing the 14 week course imply a real involvement from the student. Overall very appreciated course, Thank Prof. Sachs!

By RIANO P A

Jun 17, 2018

The course is excellent, I'd love the way the professor explain in detail each topic. However, some data are out-of -date and some links in the quizs are broken. moreover, some questions are wrong because of the data used. Finally, It is a shame that after dedicate 15 weeks in this course, coursera or UNDP don't give us a diploma or certificate of completion.

By Tedros H

Mar 22, 2018

I learned a lot and the course was exciting. However I was disappointed to find out that after 13 weeks of studying there is no certificate, Yup, you have nothing to show for. Some of the links used in quizzes do not work, i.e. one could lose points. While the course is very good, it seems no one bothered to verify or update

By Sarah A

May 09, 2016

Sachs is doing valuable work and I like the premise of the course very much. The videos seemed to present a lot of painfully obvious information, however, and I'm afraid they were not terribly engaging. Maybe just too much/too long? A shorter version of the course that digs in a little deeper somehow might be more alluring.

By Eduardo L G

Aug 25, 2018

It gives a well based numeric approach to sustainable development, but fails to approach some subjects from an ethical point of view. At some time, Prof. Sachs points out a few numeric indicators that favor economic development, but when talking about reaching these numbers, he offers more than debatable ways.

By Klara J G

Jun 22, 2018

A bit out of date, should be updated with the adopted SDGsA bit prescriptive, could include more debates and perspectives, for example the solutions presented regarding food systems could include discussions about reducing meat consumption and increasing plant based protein production etc

By Alexander H R

Mar 21, 2017

Professor was quite knowledgeable, and covered a breadth of topics. However, he often presented his political opinion as scientific fact. The quizzes/tests were also based on regurgitation of data/knowledge, rather than higher-order thinking such as application or synthesis

By Anna L Z

Sep 17, 2019

The course is really interesting and covers all basic topics in sustainable development. However the course material and data is outdated from 5 years ago. As sustainability is crucial and changing so fast these days, important discussions are missing.

By Márton D S

Sep 23, 2016

started quite good, but slow videos and the last quiz was about just numbers. it is good to know what are the measurements, but if we won't teach about that too, the more concrete informations and not numbers would be more informative and useful.

By Horacio N T

Sep 29, 2015

Información de suma importancia para el aprendizaje, recomendaría traducir las pruebas y sub titular las presentaciones; des afortunadamente solo algunos de los vídeos cuentan con sub títulos en español.

By Katharina B

Jul 21, 2019

Great content wise but many source links are outdated and websites have changed! Especially for quizzes and the final exam some sources were thus not adequately available. Recommend updating these :)

By José I M E

Apr 28, 2019

Hi, I loved this course. However I'm a bit surprised that didn't got a certificate for doing it. That's why I didn't put 5 stars.

By Jack H G

Mar 30, 2017

Some of the links are no longer functioning and thus, gaining access to exact information for the past (2013) is not possible.

By Nikolaos G

Sep 02, 2018

If this course there still be on coursera why there isn't certificate.

It is unbelievable that you don't have certificate.

By Salam A

May 30, 2018

The course is too long. Videos are also too long and are not so interactive so students could get bored.

By Kate M

Mar 27, 2017

Great course but content and quizzes need updating. Certificate would be nice.