Chevron Left
Back to The Structured Query Language (SQL)

Learner Reviews & Feedback for The Structured Query Language (SQL) by University of Colorado Boulder

4.7
stars
627 ratings

About the Course

In this course you will learn all about the Structured Query Language ("SQL".) We will review the origins of the language and its conceptual foundations. But primarily, we will focus on learning all the standard SQL commands, their syntax, and how to use these commands to conduct analysis of the data within a relational database. Our scope includes not only the SELECT statement for retrieving data and creating analytical reports, but also includes the DDL ("Data Definition Language") and DML ("Data Manipulation Language") commands necessary to create and maintain database objects. The Structured Query Language (SQL) can be taken for academic credit as part of CU Boulder’s Master of Science in Data Science (MS-DS) degree offered on the Coursera platform. The MS-DS is an interdisciplinary degree that brings together faculty from CU Boulder’s departments of Applied Mathematics, Computer Science, Information Science, and others. With performance-based admissions and no application process, the MS-DS is ideal for individuals with a broad range of undergraduate education and/or professional experience in computer science, information science, mathematics, and statistics. Learn more about the MS-DS program at https://www.coursera.org/degrees/master-of-science-data-science-boulder....

Top reviews

MM

Feb 14, 2024

Very comprehensive, and thorough. I gained a more extensive understanding of SQL and how to use it to manipulate and query a database. I enjoyed the professors light hearted presentation style.

AG

Apr 4, 2024

After completing this course I really feel very comfortable with understanding and writing SQL codes. The course is really comprehensive and covers almost all the everyday aspects of SQL.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 168 Reviews for The Structured Query Language (SQL)

By Година Б С

Jul 1, 2022

If you don't know anything about SQL and want to try to master it - this course is for you. During the course, I went from a person who simply had an idea of what it is and how it works, to someone who can explain how and what to use. Great course to start with, thank you.

By Nicolette B

May 16, 2022

A very good course going through all the basics for writing SQL commands. A great refresher for me as I have not done any SQL in about 2 years.

By Jeffrey C

Mar 29, 2022

Great introduction course to SQL. Instructor was great, video lectures were helpful, and I really enjoyed the lab assignments as they helped you put into action what you were being taught. Would recommend to anyone new to SQL.

By Надежда В Л

May 6, 2022

This was my first dive into SQL and it was as smooth and informative as possible. My target was not only to get familiar with mail SQL operators, but also to understand the environment in which it is used. All this was explained in a very simple way. The course material is very good structured and the length of each module was ideal for me as a full time employee and a mother of two. Also this was the optimal balance of theory and practice for me. Alan is a brilliant tutor! It is very important when tutor describes the backstage of the processes and warns about potential problems that could be faced because of this or that action. And Alan really inspires for further learning.

To summarise, I would recommend this course to everybody who decided to start with SQL.

Many thanks!

By Rob v d L

Jul 3, 2023

This starts out really nice, until after week 1 you find out that you need the site bit.io, which is sunset. So, before you start this course, make sure it is back up (unlikely) or there is an alternative available, otherwise you might waste your time. The clips are still helpful, but learning SQL without practice is not really recommended.

By Monika

Feb 18, 2023

Pretty comprehensive overview of all things PostgreSQL, as well as brief comparisons to MySQL whenever dialects differ. Done in tandem with my Masters, this course helped me immensely.

Also, and maybe this is silly, but I really liked the teacher's Hawaiian shirts, a different one for every video ;)

By Mendy M

Jul 22, 2022

The instructor is well informed and takes time to explain concepts. my only issue is the Bit.io was not allowing me to run DML queries which i then had to change to another environment. Overall the course was very informative.

By Cristian C G R

May 6, 2022

it's actually easy to follow

By Meena R

Jun 20, 2022

I would like to give full credit to course lecturer Mr. Alan Paradise for putting together this course and for all the information he had shared. Very well structured course and easy to understand. I enjoyed all the lecutres and Labs were easy to do. Thanks to Colorado Boulder university.

By Inna S

Jun 28, 2022

Great Course! I'm new to SQL and the course gave me understanding and important practice in coding PostgreSQL. Thank you Alan Paradice, you are a very positive person! It was an interesting and useful course.

By Elvira B

May 30, 2022

Excellent course. The instructor took the time to teach SQL in a comprehensive way and the labs and quizes are very well prepared to help with the learning.

By FAIXYZ :

Dec 9, 2022

I am impressed with the enthusiasm of the instructor and the way he carried the course through out. Big thumbs up from my side :)

By Amelia

Oct 30, 2022

The instructor is great teacher, however the quiz i think should be more difficult

By Ahmed B

Aug 16, 2022

A very comprehensive course for the basic understanding course of SQL. Recommended

By Omar F

Jul 14, 2022

Good course to start with basics od databases and structured query lenguage.

Thanks

By Fac P

May 15, 2022

Very well explained. It was a very good oportunity to start SQL learning.

By Cuthbert O O

May 19, 2022

Very good and well structured. Good tutor as well. Thanks Alan Paradise

By ankit r

May 4, 2023

good course

By Javier

Apr 18, 2023

Good introduction course to SQL for people who have no prior or limited knowledge about it. The lessons are well structured, with lectures and support material in each week. The instructor is knowledgeable, with prior experience working in the corporate world. It’s evident that he knows what is he talking about but does a great job by taking no assumptions while going through the lessons and I think that’s important to understand the concepts because sometimes people who are proficient in a subject take parts of it for granted and end up rushing through what they think are basic concepts and the students finish with no idea of what the instructor is talking about. This is not the case in this course and it’s helpful. Also, the speed is correct too, with pauses, clarifications and explanations of every concept that appears on the slides.

Few additional thoughts:

-There is no need to install additional software to follow the course as the practical assignments are made in a virtual environment, which is explained in the course. It’s good if you don’t want additional software running in your computer, but it has some limitations with SQL advanced commands.

-Some lessons and quizzes contain minor errors in the queries. Not a lot but there are a few, particularly in week 6.

-The course is taught in PostgreSQL, which is an open-source version of SQL. Although is similar to MySQL or MS SQL Server, it has particularities. The reasons for this choice and these differences are explained early in the course and the material is as standardized as possible to look like other SQL versions.

-The virtual environment has some particularities on its own and does not support advanced SQL commands like integrity. It’s a flaw, not a major one, but it’s present.

Breaking down the course, my rating would be:

Instructor: 5/5

Lessons & materials: 4/5

Learning by doing: 4/5

Virtual environment: 3/5

By Louisa P

Sep 14, 2022

Good to have some basic knowledge about SQL. It's a good starting course for beginner or somebody, like me, a non-technical person, to understand the functions of SQL. I need help from the bit.io supporting team in the later part of the course in creating databases and technical functions. bit.io likes other technolgy is continuously being updated. Some queries from the course are not updated to the latest version of bit.io. Some solutions provided is in MySQL instea of Postgres.

By Colin P

Sep 2, 2022

Good intro to SQL. The bi.io coding environment was little cumbersome, but the course content is good to get you comfortable with basic and some intermediate level queries.

By Шевченко В В

Jun 7, 2022

The content of course is quite good, but tests should be more creative and less repeated. I also had some technical problems with bit.io, there were not any instructions in course how to cope with them. Nevertheless, I got the needed knowledge and I'm very satisfied!

By 马镓浚

Oct 1, 2022

Good for setting the foundation for SQL. Some topics may need more explanations like subquery. Overall, a good course.

By SANDRAVADHANA B

Sep 12, 2022

The mentors do not answer the queries posted in the discussion forum which is highly disappointing.

😕

By Kishan D

Sep 19, 2022

He was doing only copy paste.