Chevron Left
Back to The Structured Query Language (SQL)

Learner Reviews & Feedback for The Structured Query Language (SQL) by University of Colorado Boulder

4.7
stars
332 ratings

About the Course

In this course you will learn all about the Structured Query Language ("SQL".) We will review the origins of the language and its conceptual foundations. But primarily, we will focus on learning all the standard SQL commands, their syntax, and how to use these commands to conduct analysis of the data within a relational database. Our scope includes not only the SELECT statement for retrieving data and creating analytical reports, but also includes the DDL ("Data Definition Language") and DML ("Data Manipulation Language") commands necessary to create and maintain database objects. The Structured Query Language (SQL) can be taken for academic credit as part of CU Boulder’s Master of Science in Data Science (MS-DS) degree offered on the Coursera platform. The MS-DS is an interdisciplinary degree that brings together faculty from CU Boulder’s departments of Applied Mathematics, Computer Science, Information Science, and others. With performance-based admissions and no application process, the MS-DS is ideal for individuals with a broad range of undergraduate education and/or professional experience in computer science, information science, mathematics, and statistics. Learn more about the MS-DS program at https://www.coursera.org/degrees/master-of-science-data-science-boulder....

Top reviews

AK

Oct 17, 2022

The course will give you enough information to tackle many business problems with SQL. Alan is a very good teacher, methodical, focused and pleasant to listen to.

EB

May 29, 2022

Excellent course. The instructor took the time to teach SQL in a comprehensive way and the labs and quizes are very well prepared to help with the learning.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 97 Reviews for The Structured Query Language (SQL)

By Nicolette B

May 16, 2022

A very good course going through all the basics for writing SQL commands. A great refresher for me as I have not done any SQL in about 2 years.

By Година Б С

Jul 1, 2022

If you don't know anything about SQL and want to try to master it - this course is for you. During the course, I went from a person who simply had an idea of what it is and how it works, to someone who can explain how and what to use. Great course to start with, thank you.

By Jeffrey C

Mar 29, 2022

Great introduction course to SQL. Instructor was great, video lectures were helpful, and I really enjoyed the lab assignments as they helped you put into action what you were being taught. Would recommend to anyone new to SQL.

By Cristian C G R

May 6, 2022

it's actually easy to follow

By Надежда В Л

May 6, 2022

This was my first dive into SQL and it was as smooth and informative as possible. My target was not only to get familiar with mail SQL operators, but also to understand the environment in which it is used. All this was explained in a very simple way. The course material is very good structured and the length of each module was ideal for me as a full time employee and a mother of two. Also this was the optimal balance of theory and practice for me. Alan is a brilliant tutor! It is very important when tutor describes the backstage of the processes and warns about potential problems that could be faced because of this or that action. And Alan really inspires for further learning.

To summarise, I would recommend this course to everybody who decided to start with SQL.

Many thanks!

By Meena R

Jun 20, 2022

I would like to give full credit to course lecturer Mr. Alan Paradise for putting together this course and for all the information he had shared. Very well structured course and easy to understand. I enjoyed all the lecutres and Labs were easy to do. Thanks to Colorado Boulder university.

By Mendy M

Jul 22, 2022

The instructor is well informed and takes time to explain concepts. my only issue is the Bit.io was not allowing me to run DML queries which i then had to change to another environment. Overall the course was very informative.

By Inna S

Jun 28, 2022

Great Course! I'm new to SQL and the course gave me understanding and important practice in coding PostgreSQL. Thank you Alan Paradice, you are a very positive person! It was an interesting and useful course.

By Amelia

Oct 30, 2022

The instructor is great teacher, however the quiz i think should be more difficult

By Ahmed B

Aug 16, 2022

A very comprehensive course for the basic understanding course of SQL. Recommended

By Omar F

Jul 14, 2022

Good course to start with basics od databases and structured query lenguage.

Thanks

By Fac P

May 15, 2022

Very well explained. It was a very good oportunity to start SQL learning.

By Cuthbert O O

May 19, 2022

Very good and well structured. Good tutor as well. Thanks Alan Paradise

By Colin P

Sep 2, 2022

Good intro to SQL. The bi.io coding environment was little cumbersome, but the course content is good to get you comfortable with basic and some intermediate level queries.

By Tasic D

Nov 14, 2022

An extremely good, interesting and high-quality course.

I would recommend to anyone interested in the field of SQL, Data Science, Databases.

The course is very understandable and adapted, very nice explanations by the lecturer.

I would especially emphasize the opportunity to try out the acquired knowledge and a platform that is easy to understand.

Personally, I am very satisfied with the course, acquired knowledge, explanations, practical application, etc.

Thank you to everyone who participated in the creation and design of this course.

By Muyombano J

Sep 9, 2022

From the learnigs i received in this course, i had learnt that SQL is a good tool to help analyse data to have a good comphrension about different metrics that would help small and large businesses scale and be at top of everything they are doing.

In relational databases SQL plays a big role and is widely used by big global campanies

In My persanal day to day worklife i believe SQL will help me to scale up with analytical skills as i'm new in my role of portfolio analyst thus furthneing my career and help business at large.

By Anna K

May 16, 2022

Very good course, all the topics are presented and explained in a clear way. On top of that there are a lot of pratical excersises so you can really feel that you've learned something after this course.

By Thoại T N T

Jun 17, 2022

The Structured Query Language course of Intructors Alan Paradise is easy to approach and understand for beginer. There are many exercises and data table to practice.

By Alexander K - H P L

Oct 18, 2022

The course will give you enough information to tackle many business problems with SQL. Alan is a very good teacher, methodical, focused and pleasant to listen to.

By Elvira B

May 30, 2022

Excellent course. The instructor took the time to teach SQL in a comprehensive way and the labs and quizes are very well prepared to help with the learning.

By Paola M B M

May 23, 2022

El curso esta muy bien explicado en su totalidad del SQL, si eres principiante este curso te enseñara lo mas esencial, y el profesor me agrada su actitud.

By Manuel F G W

May 25, 2022

This was an excellent course that taught everything one needs to know about the use of SQL. The teachers was didactically excellent.

By FAIXYZ :

Dec 9, 2022

I am impressed with the enthusiasm of the instructor and the way he carried the course through out. Big thumbs up from my side :)

By David L

Jan 17, 2023

Good refresher for the basic stuff, explained it in new and helpful ways, and great introduction to some more advanced SQL

By Vincenzo M

Aug 6, 2022

Absolutely perfect for beginners like myself in SQL. Clear explanations, interesting laboratories to work on.

Suggested!