Chevron Left
Back to The Sustainability Imperative

Learner Reviews & Feedback for The Sustainability Imperative by University of Colorado Boulder

4.9
stars
41 ratings

About the Course

In this course, learners begin with a macro-level view of the current state of the world and touch upon topics such as climate change, plastic pollution, social inequity, and the economic systems that got us to where we are today. Learners investigate how such an economy cannot sustain itself and the need for a rapid transition to something different. We define sustainability, the meaning of sustainable development, and the United Nations' Sustainability Goals. Recognizing that change is imperative, we begin looking at energy, and more specifically, power generation as this is widely understood as the leading cause of climate change today. We show why this is the case and explore pathways to reduce carbon emissions, such as through the transition from coal and natural gas to renewables such as wind and solar. The concept of the carbon footprint and how it is determined is introduced. Learners have the opportunity to calculate their own personal carbon footprint under a variety of power source options (coal, natural gas, or renewable), and discover what would happen to their personal carbon footprint if they moved toward renewable energies....

Top reviews

KM

Nov 22, 2022

The course was great for a first time student learning about sustainability. It lays a great foundation for anyone looking to learn more about sustainability and your carbon footprint.

EH

Mar 4, 2022

very good clear and understandable material with excellent presentation. Really enjoyed taking it. Gave good basic level understanding of topics.

Filter by:

1 - 17 of 17 Reviews for The Sustainability Imperative

By Pratik M

Feb 11, 2024

I am happy to learn about newer domain. Overall, very informative course.

By Sanjay S

Nov 15, 2023

Very comprehensive course and highly knowledgeable instructor.

By Kristy M

Nov 23, 2022

The course was great for a first time student learning about sustainability. It lays a great foundation for anyone looking to learn more about sustainability and your carbon footprint.

By glenn k

May 3, 2024

Very Informative. Glad I took the course to enrich my knowledge

By Danielle B

Feb 12, 2023

I learned so much from this course and highly recommend it to anyone interested in sustainability, the environment, and climate change. Dr. Readey presents the information in an extremely accessible way, and I appreciate that he goes into enough detail to present a full picture of the various issues he discusses. The material is fascinating and important, and Dr. Readey does an excellent job explaining it. Thank you so much!

By Ricardo E A

Apr 15, 2022

Un curso altamente recomedable para las personas interesadas en el tema de SOSTENIBILIDAD, impartido por el Profesor Michael Readey, de la Universidad de Colorado. Muy bueno y muy ameno. Puesto al día, con los temas relevantes del desarrollo sostenible.

By Judy J

Jul 16, 2023

Got basic knowledge on climate change, GHG, energy management, carbon footprint.

A small suggestion: some parts repeat each other, like how to calculation residential carbon footprint. In my opinion, could be reduced.

By Evelin H

Mar 5, 2022

very good clear and understandable material with excellent presentation. Really enjoyed taking it. Gave good basic level understanding of topics.

By Natalia S

Jun 27, 2022

Great Course!!! I feel very happy because the course in very useful!

By Gabriela

Sep 15, 2022

Excelente curso, explicado con simplicidad y claridad.

By Ram M

Mar 6, 2024

This course is very usefulI .

By Sophia G

Mar 26, 2024

excellent course

By Zahra G

Jul 16, 2022

Very Useful

By Amanda P

Mar 5, 2024

Class content was great and applicable. Course was easy to navigate. Professor did a good job in explaining content. Peer reviewed assignments and discussions were an issue as those who participate do not take it seriously or provide all the components needed to respond to.

By Sarah P

May 21, 2022

Great course! I found it informative and inspirational! I really enjoyed the course's holistic take on sustainability. I was also pleasantly surprised to learn all that is being done around the world to reverse climate change and help create a sustainable planet for all!

By Carlotta S

Aug 10, 2022

I really enjoyed the course. The content was exactely what I was looking for in a beginners course. The lecturer was excellent, giving lots of information but at a good pace to give time to process it and learn it.

By Sarm t

May 25, 2023

nice the course