Chevron Left
Back to Wrangling Data in the Tidyverse

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Wrangling Data in the Tidyverse by Johns Hopkins University

4.5
stars
29 ratings

About the Course

Data never arrive in the condition that you need them in order to do effective data analysis. Data need to be re-shaped, re-arranged, and re-formatted, so that they can be visualized or be inputted into a machine learning algorithm. This course addresses the problem of wrangling your data so that you can bring them under control and analyze them effectively. The key goal in data wrangling is transforming non-tidy data into tidy data. This course covers many of the critical details about handling tidy and non-tidy data in R such as converting from wide to long formats, manipulating tables with the dplyr package, understanding different R data types, processing text data with regular expressions, and conducting basic exploratory data analyses. Investing the time to learn these data wrangling techniques will make your analyses more efficient, more reproducible, and more understandable to your data science team. In this specialization we assume familiarity with the R programming language. If you are not yet familiar with R, we suggest you first complete R Programming before returning to complete this course....

Top reviews

AN

Apr 18, 2022

Great course to get yourself acquanted with data wrangling in Tidyverse.

LV

Apr 24, 2021

Excellent course! I've learned so many useful R techniques/codes!

Filter by:

1 - 10 of 10 Reviews for Wrangling Data in the Tidyverse

By Glenn

Dec 15, 2020

Course provides a good albeit very cursory overview of data wrangling tools in the tidyverse. However, the bulk of my time was wasted on a quiz question which was unclear/had wrong wording. As the figure is supposed to be keyed in (not multiple-choice), it was frustrating trying to guess what the question actually wanted.

By Evan L

Jan 13, 2023

This course strikes a good balance between didactic material and the work required to do the Quizzes. While the course material is the same as what you can find in the authors' book, the need to do the Quizzes in order to get credit makes the difference in actually learning the material. It did take me 4 hours (not 1 hour) to do the Final Quiz/Project.

By Mercedes S

Dec 30, 2020

Loved it! I really liked that it was all reading and based in real examples! Thank you!

By Alexander N

Apr 19, 2022

Great course to get yourself acquanted with data wrangling in Tidyverse.

By Long T V

Apr 24, 2021

Excellent course! I've learned so many useful R techniques/codes!

By Stefan M

Oct 2, 2021

Great course with clearly understandable lectures.

By Moses O

Dec 9, 2020

Magnificent

By Adaman Y

Sep 25, 2021

great

By Hendrik M

Mar 23, 2023

Nice overview for different functionalities of the tidyverse. However especially the last assignment is really unclear and was quite annoying.

Can recommend this course to anyone who is familiar with r and is looking for a start point to dive deep into the tidyverse.

By Konstantinos L

Jul 19, 2022

I learned a lot of things in those 4 weeks. More specifically, I formulated a way of thinking about building code for formatting data by using not so common tidyverse verbs. Drawbacks: Each week's project is not helpful as you can't follow along the useless complex details about healthcare/gunfire ins USA, that distract you from the essence of the lesson which is to learn tidyverse. In addition, there are a year or more,questions in the forum that no one bothered to answered them.. so if you stuck somewhere throughout the course, you are on your own!