Chevron Left
Back to Trees and Graphs: Basics

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Trees and Graphs: Basics by University of Colorado Boulder

4.7
stars
63 ratings

About the Course

Basic algorithms on tree data structures, binary search trees, self-balancing trees, graph data structures and basic traversal algorithms on graphs. This course also covers advanced topics such as kd-trees for spatial data and algorithms for spatial data. Trees and Graphs: Basics can be taken for academic credit as part of CU Boulder’s Master of Science in Data Science (MS-DS) degree offered on the Coursera platform. The MS-DS is an interdisciplinary degree that brings together faculty from CU Boulder’s departments of Applied Mathematics, Computer Science, Information Science, and others. With performance-based admissions and no application process, the MS-DS is ideal for individuals with a broad range of undergraduate education and/or professional experience in computer science, information science, mathematics, and statistics. Learn more about the MS-DS program at https://www.coursera.org/degrees/master-of-science-data-science-boulder....

Top reviews

MC

Dec 25, 2022

Excellent explanation of complex topics. The coding exercise are also well thought out and the tips along the way help to reinforce key concepts.

MH

Jan 1, 2023

Excellent content. Lectures along with textbook provide student with working knowledge of trees and graphs.

Filter by:

1 - 18 of 18 Reviews for Trees and Graphs: Basics

By Catherine G

Jun 13, 2021

This course is excellent. The instructor gives detailed, helpful lectures complete with clear examples that help solidify the concepts. The readings supplement the lectures nicely. The assignments are of appropriate difficulty and reinforce what we learn in the course material. I look forward to taking more courses with Sriram!

By Mathan K M

May 28, 2021

Detailed lectures and thoroughly taught!

Interesting programming assignments.

But the operations on tree/graph could have been better explained using animated videos rather than whiteboard scribblings.

By Rusty M

May 9, 2022

This is probably the closest you can get to a univesity course in Data Structures and Algorithms.

The lectures are detailed yet concise. Not too mathy but also not the easiest.

The quizzes solidifies your understandings and corrects your misundertandings.

There seems to be inconcistencies in the quality in programming assignments but overall, for example the programming assignment in MST encourage the "bad" use of dictionaries, while in the Shortest Path programing assignment, it encourages more clever use of data structures (i.e. idx). Still, overall, the programming assignments are good and they make you appreciate more the lessons.

By Krish K

Mar 30, 2022

I have grade 100% My mail id- freespace644@gmail.com

By Brian C

Jul 3, 2021

very solid course - would love more programming assignments and tougher final

By Ming-Hao C

Jun 20, 2022

To me many things taught in the course are not clear enough. I had to guess what the instructor wanted to say frequently.

By Sina S S

Dec 28, 2022

This course is a great source to learn the basics of graph data structures and algorithms, as the name of the course suggests. The only problem is last week's assignment in my opinion. The final assignment seems extremely daunting at first glance but using the pseudo-code provided, it becomes trivial. I felt like I didn't learn anything from the last week's assignment., and it kinda felt like cheating! Apart from that though, a really great course.

By Jeffrey C

Apr 24, 2022

Pretty thorough. Lectures are great, and quizzes help test your understanding. The assignments do the job, and, are at times, a bit of a puzzle to figure out. I enjoyed the lectures and felt like I learned and was challanged. One will need more practice and study to achieve mastery following the course, but you'll defintiely come out of it with a far greater understanding of the trees and graphs.

By Md A

Dec 20, 2022

Another marvelous course to join if someone finished the first course about indexing and sorting. This course really tought be to thnik in different ways while programming. Thank you all associated with the course.

By Mahesh C

Dec 26, 2022

Excellent explanation of complex topics. The coding exercise are also well thought out and the tips along the way help to reinforce key concepts.

By Michael H

Jan 1, 2023

Excellent content. Lectures along with textbook provide student with working knowledge of trees and graphs.

By quy d n

Sep 28, 2022

This course is easy to understand and implement. It needs more programming exercises further!

By SeungGeon K

Aug 29, 2021

Great lecturer and course materials. Assignments were fun also

By Devendra J

Jul 18, 2022

not intrested

By Sandipan D

Nov 27, 2022

Excellent!

By Martin

Jun 3, 2021

Well made!

By Dan A

Mar 16, 2023

Great lectures. One room for improvement would be the code samples in the programming assignments. Perhaps it would be nice if students could submit pull requests for stuff like a confusing comment, or a minor improvement to the provided code?

By Ami O

Feb 6, 2023

unclear and messy