Chevron Left
Back to UX Design: From Concept to Prototype

Learner Reviews & Feedback for UX Design: From Concept to Prototype by University of Michigan

4.8
stars
102 ratings
24 reviews

About the Course

Great design doesn’t come out of nowhere; it is born, nurtured, and grown--all through a systematic, learnable process. In this UX course, you will explore the process of taking a basic concept, grounded in user needs, and developing it into a design that will address those needs. In the course, you will gain hands-on experience with techniques such as sketching, scenario development, storyboarding, and wireframing that will help you transform your understanding of what your users need into a compelling user experience. You will then learn how to turn wireframes and interaction architecture into interactive prototypes that can be tested with prospective users and iteratively refined into a high quality design that that is ready for a hand-off to the development team for implementation. What You’ll Learn: Define and scope the design problem you will try to address Create user stories and storyboards to transform information about user needs into design concepts Produce sketches and conduct brainstorming sessions to generate many design ideas from which you can construct a high-quality design solution Develop interface wireframes to concretize the design and enable early user testing Conduct user tests with paper prototypes to get preliminary user feedback on the design concept and interactions Develop high-fidelity mockups that specify visual design elements Create Wizard of Oz prototypes to efficiently test complex interactions and interactive systems that are not screen-based (e.g., smart assistants)...

Top reviews

SA

Dec 18, 2019

The course is great, thank you! Perfect amount of both theory and practice, it was really interesting and challenging, the best course for new people in UX design.

SN

May 18, 2020

A good course for anyone who wants to learn about user experience design, wire frames and paper prototyping.

Filter by:

1 - 24 of 24 Reviews for UX Design: From Concept to Prototype

By Juangui J

Sep 12, 2019

This is a solid and hands on course on UX design. It will help you explore the design space of a problem, following a systematic approach, using divergent and convergent processes like ideation, defining personas and scenarios, sketching and creating wireframes. You will also learn how to test your designs against users in order to iterate and converge to a valid solution.

By Shapovalova A

Dec 18, 2019

The course is great, thank you! Perfect amount of both theory and practice, it was really interesting and challenging, the best course for new people in UX design.

By Riazul I

Aug 20, 2019

Thank you for such a nice course. I have enjoyed the assignments and learned a lot from them.

By Asif M K

Aug 26, 2019

One of the best course, from which I learned things that I would be able to use from today!

By Liubov Z

May 25, 2019

Very useful course and great practice through home tasks.

By Sreejith M

Apr 11, 2019

Best course to begin with UX

By Daniel M C

Dec 13, 2019

Nice course to learn the basics of UX design. Focused on prototyping, it's nice for me because my profile is more of a researcher than a designer. For someone who wants to get hands-on UX design, I think this course is too basic (the specialization as a whole puts the focus more on research IMO)

By Amber W

May 29, 2019

Really loved thinking through the design process and learning about prototyping but I wish the grading criteria was a little more rigorous.

By Li L Y

Nov 17, 2019

It was great experience learning step by step. Assignment are very practical. Thank you

By Anelia S

Feb 27, 2019

It's a lot of work, but gives you guides on hw to proceed through the design process.

By Lin W

Dec 19, 2019

Very useful course and great content, I have learned a lot of things about UX design. I just hope the grading system will be more complex in the future.

By Sara C L

May 21, 2020

The course I enjoyed the most so far! Great teacher, concepts exposed clearly, and interesting yet challenging assignments.

By SREEJESH N

May 18, 2020

A good course for anyone who wants to learn about user experience design, wire frames and paper prototyping.

By Ulelu I

May 02, 2020

The concept of the course was simplified to suit both beginners and advanced designers.

By Ili S

Apr 09, 2020

Highly recommended, really the right mixture between theory and practice!

By Enyinnaya N F

May 06, 2020

This course nails the basics of UX design. It was worth my time.

By Muhammad M

Apr 13, 2020

Apart from peer-graded everything is fabulous

By Abigail A

Jan 20, 2020

Great course, learned a lot, thank you!

By Abdulrazaq S

Feb 07, 2020

Amazing Course!!

By Roman K

Jan 27, 2020

Useful material

By Balu K

Feb 04, 2020

Thank you !

By Li T M

Apr 12, 2020

Good course with content in depth. But it's hard to get useful feedback from the assignment grading context.

By Ian Y

May 29, 2020

Would have given 5 stars if not for one factor - the peer graded assignments. All of us seem to be new to this field, so it was hard to get insightful feedback. Also there were always delays from the time I received feedback from peers to the time I actually received my grade in the system. This was the SOLE reason I was not able to complete the course in my desired time frame. Other than that, the lectures were useful and well paced.

By Marvin N P

Jan 13, 2020

incompleate material is not possible to download slides as previously courses UX 1 to 3