Chevron Left
Back to Design a User Experience for Social Good & Prepare for Jobs

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Design a User Experience for Social Good & Prepare for Jobs by Google

4.8
stars
3,409 ratings

About the Course

Design a User Experience for Social Good and Prepare for Jobs is the seventh and final course in a program that will equip you with the skills you need to become an entry-level UX designer. In this course, you will design a dedicated mobile app and a responsive website focused on social good. You will showcase all that you’ve learned during the certificate program to complete the design process from beginning to end: empathizing with users, defining their pain points, coming up with ideas for design solutions, creating wireframes and prototypes, and testing designs to get feedback. By the end of this course, you will have a new cross-platform design project to include in your professional UX portfolio. This course will also prepare you to land your first job as a UX designer. You’ll learn how to interview for entry-level UX design positions. You’ll get tips from Googlers based on their own interview experiences and their unique perspectives as hiring managers. And, you’ll polish the professional UX portfolio you’ve been building throughout the program so that it’s ready for job applications. Current UX designers and researchers at Google will serve as your instructors, and you will complete hands-on activities that simulate real-world UX design scenarios. Learners who complete the seven courses in this certificate program should be equipped to apply for entry-level jobs as UX designers. By the end of this course, you will be able to: - Apply each step of the UX design process (empathize, define, ideate, prototype, test) to create designs focused on social good. - Identify the differences between dedicated mobile apps and responsive web apps. - Understand progressive enhancement and graceful degradation approaches for designing across devices. - Build wireframes, mockups, and low-fidelity and high-fidelity prototypes. - Add a new design project to your professional UX portfolio. - Create your portfolio of design work for job applications. - Join and participate in online UX communities. - Interview for an entry-level UX design job. - Determine if freelance design work is a good career fit for you. This course is suitable for beginner-level UX designers who have completed the previous six courses of the Google UX Design Certificate....

Top reviews

OO

Apr 19, 2024

This course was very helpful/useful. It was good preparation in pursuit of working in the field. Knowing how to design for users is one thing. Knowing how to navigate todays hiring process is another.

VP

Aug 23, 2022

Great experience, this certificate help me to understand from start to finish the UX design process. Furthermore, how to put those skills into practice with real case studies. I highly recommended it.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 776 Reviews for Design a User Experience for Social Good & Prepare for Jobs

By Mohammad H

Apr 8, 2021

I would say this last course was just repeating the other courses, so it was very unnecessary. Just the job search section was new.

By Josh Y

Jul 17, 2021

I have completed the Google UX certificate, but so far I have either just gotten rejection notices or heard nothing back from jobs I've applied to. I think the course is good if you already work in UX/ have a back ground in something design related, but if you have no experience in UX design, this certificate will not help you out that much.

By Miriah G

Aug 29, 2022

Having non-designers peer review this course is not a good teaching method.

By ANTONIJA P

Dec 16, 2021

For a UX design course you'd think it would be designed better than this. Unnecessary course in the certificate program. Too many quizzes and activities that don't serve any real purpose since there isn't an usual grading system. Repeating the same things over and over again. The last peer graded assignment of making a portfolio webpage is unfair to all the students who don't have the means or access to necessary tools to make one. In addition, this means learning a new tool just to make a portfolio. This assignment shouldn't be a requirement for the student to get their certificate but an optional one that is done on one's own terms and in one's own time after the course. Not to mention that peer graded assignments go ungraded for weeks since there isn't a constant influx of other peers to grade you, or you to grade them.

The only useful part in this module is the interview tips.

By Ashphiar R R

Aug 29, 2021

Course material is good but there is no need for make this course 5 week long. It waste a lot of time of mine.

By Mihai

Dec 10, 2021

google, why are you galloping in Modules 6 and 7? You're forcing us into design sprints, cramming up tasks into a single week. Why pretend that what you're asking of us is doable? You might as well just split the tasks in more modules/weeks. You know well we're missing the deadlines and we keep paying the monthly fee to keep going and reset deadlines.

By Neha J

Jul 24, 2021

I wish they helped us create a better website for our portfolio

By Sankha W

Jun 16, 2021

First thanks for the amazing people who taught us throughout the course. It was great and I love how you folks more focused on accessibility since that's something we designers should learn.

I have a suggestion. Add more contents on psychology and laws of UX

By Chathumi K

Jul 21, 2021

Before I started this specialization, I knew nothing about UX. I haven't had any hands-on experience with Figma or Adobe XD. But now I have fell in love with this UX field.

A HUGE THANKS TO GOOGLE for this wonderful specialization!

By Minaketan O

Jul 22, 2021

Great primer for the last course in this month long journey. Out of the 5 weeks, 4 were a repeat of the course we were taught already so it was just a quick reminder, which I feel could have been brought down less. Other than that the last week was a great insight into the industry and preparations for job hunt. Great instructors and I love each one of them and the valuable lessons they taught me. Great job everyone.

By Christopher D B

Oct 28, 2021

Very instructive course for someone who has never stepped into the field before. I am now working freelance on a new and exciting project that will be launched into the play store soon!! Thanks Google!!

By windmaomao

Jul 20, 2022

The course is definately worth to take if you really want to get into the business of design. However I'll have to say you might not learn much after course 3 or 4, due to lots of repeatable info and material. Most of the design (pratical) skills are trained by yourself from other places. This course is mainly for the theoretical knowledge of this field. Therfore if you are interested at the process, this is the course for you.

By Myroslav G

May 14, 2021

Huge thanks to mentors team - great job on sharing the knowledge in such a structured way. I wish I had this 10 years ago =)

By Dariush R k

Oct 15, 2022

When I started the course, I was not sure I can finish it, It was great! I learned alot of thing, not only anly about UX, but also about writing CV and prepare for interview. Highly recommended!

By Lalu T N

Oct 31, 2021

This cool, but the material is still repetitive.

By Eve P

Dec 16, 2022

This course is really a slog to get through and takes a TON of time. You must redo the entire UX process for a project for Social Good. While this is a worthy idea, it's a bit much at this point in the course. You also must complete an entire online digitial portfolio before the course ends. This course felt like a ton more work than the others. Also, most people by this point are not really completing the assignments so you can't get feedback from anyone. The professional info given in the course is very useful, especially if you are young and new to the business world.

By Lívia H R

Jan 8, 2022

This course should be integrated with the first one (Foundations). A lot of things are repeated. Also, in my opinion, 3 portfolio projects is too much... I think students just need 1 well done and high quality project. This course is almost useless...

By Darek S

Feb 10, 2022

This part of course is just tragic

By CM K

Apr 28, 2022

Each course toward the Google UX Design certification builds on those before. I love how at first, each step was fully explained and the learners were led through, with videos and text, each successive piece of information sliding into place. My favorite thing about this final course "Design a User Experience for Social Good & Prepare for Jobs" is that the creators knew by this time, we should have the knowledge needed to go through the steps and get them done... without holdilng out hands through. They included links to earlier courses if we didn't remember, but they basically gave us the step and let us go forward to get it done. This way, I was able to truly know what I now knew and what I needed to refresh myself on.

The job prep week was both interesting and frustrating. It was too much information on too short of a timeframe. However, it was still excellent information and gave me a couple ideas of where to go forward.

I'm highly impressed with this certification course. I've taken many different cert courses in the past, but none were like this. Well done, Google.

By Elvis “ K

Jul 28, 2021

This course was without a doubt an eye opener, I got to learn some new things, quite a lot actually as to how to prepare for interviews when applying for an entry level UX design position, this course is rich indeed.

By Lucas S

Oct 15, 2021

The course is very good. The platform needs implementation though, it has some bugs with the videos not showing the image sometimes and not a good flow, like having to go back to continue sometimes.

By Jacob F

Aug 6, 2022

I believe this course is well put together and offers an opportunity to create a project that can be truly life changing (it was for me!). I do, however, take slight issue with some of the assesement questions and their wording. I didn't write down specific instances, but my teacher brain is always on when doing and sort of course work. A general word of advice is to phrase your questions unambgiously, and to adjust success rating based on the types and amount of questions that you ask. Blanket 80% for everything doesn't really address what one knows and doesn't. This applies to all courses- great material and pacing overall, but assesment needs to better reflect for the individual to true up weaknesses or inconsistencies.

By Thomas D

Jan 29, 2023

Very well done course, you learn alot and I 100% had seen my progress along the way. I enjoyed the different perspectives as well from the other members of the google ux team. However, I would say that some of the deadlines can at times be unrealstic. For example, it will be something like design a hi fi prototype for a project for week 6 on top of the material to go through that week. Maybe its just me and lifes in the way, or because I am new, things take longer for me to accomplish? Either way id recommend this to anyone who is either starting out, has curiosity about it, or even just looking to build their skill set.

By James C

Jan 25, 2022

This course was definitely useful in finishing up my portfolio and prepping for interviewing. I am leaving off one star because the UI and overall user experience should be better considering this is a UX course... Throughout the course there are many inconsistencies with UI. The rubrics need help. Many participants can get by with just the minimum requirements stated from the rubrics. In reality, if those participants expect to be competitive in the job marketplace with the work that passed in the course, they are in for a tough time applying to jobs.

By Karla S

Nov 2, 2021

Outstanding leadership, thought analysis and mentorship was found in this segment of the Google UX Design Certificate. I really enjoyed the learning experience and improved both my knowledge base and confidence in successfully creating a number of projects during this course. Highly recommend for all digital communicators.