Chevron Left
Back to Web Application Development with JavaScript and MongoDB

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Web Application Development with JavaScript and MongoDB by University of London

4.6
511 ratings
109 reviews

About the Course

In this course, you will develop more advanced web application programming skills. You will learn how to control data read and write access using methods, publish and subscribe. You will learn how to access your database and server shells using command line tools. You will use the SimpleSchema system to validate data and generate input forms automatically. You will see a complete collaborative code editing environment, TextCircle, being built from scratch. At the end of this course, you will be able to: - use Meteor methods to control data write access - use publish and subscribe to control data read access - install and use advanced Meteor packages - add user accounts to your applications - implement complex MongoDB filters - use the MongoDB and meteor server shells - define data validations schemas using SimpleSchema - generate data input forms automatically using SimpleSchema In this course, you will complete: 2 programming assignments taking ~4 hours each to complete 4 quizzes, each taking ~20 minutes to complete multiple practice quizzes, each taking ~5 minutes to complete Participation in or completion of this online course will not confer academic credit for University of London programmes...

Top reviews

KK

Oct 02, 2017

manipulate application with multiple users is a really useful technical skills we should get, these courses contain how to add multiple users/documents/comments, that's really need to learn!

AN

Feb 23, 2016

I really liked the course. Tha manner of teaching and the subject with all the details of "how to" are attention catchy. Unfortunately just had no time to complete it properly and in time.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 108 Reviews for Web Application Development with JavaScript and MongoDB

By Heidi C

May 12, 2018

Impossible to follow along with this course because it's outdated and some of the course code is broken. I've read and re-read through the forums, I've watched and re-watched the lectures again and again and combed through to try and find a way to get the code to work and to follow along with the lectures but there is no useful help or information to get the code working. Wish I would have known this would happen before trying to do this specialisation as I have now wasted a couple month's worth of time and money... I cannot recommend that anyone do this course or this specialisation until it has been updated properly. It would actually be nice to get a refund or have a mentor help the students solve the broken code.

By Tim j W

May 20, 2019

Really well done. I like the pragmatic course materials and the homework was doable in the timeframe given.

By Moisés P

Aug 18, 2018

The course is outdated, I get errors and I can't figure out how to fix them.

By eighty

Feb 06, 2019

The content is outdated and the code is actually broken. It uses little-known tools rather than industry standards, and these tools have been abandoned even by their authors. 'ShareJS' is now ShareDB, and the mizzao:sharejs-codemirror module will not function. The course staff is nowhere to be found in the discussion forums, so there is no way to work around these issues.

Disappointing considering I had spent time auditing all previous courses in this series, and had nearly got a functioning site up and running from it. Oh well.

By ushayelisetty

Feb 23, 2019

Hai Thank you

By Danilo C

Jul 24, 2018

Fantastic course!

Thanks, Dr. Yee-King!

By Marc T

Nov 06, 2016

I feel this course offered me a solid foundation that helps me manipulate JS and JQuery-based scripts on a daily basis.

By Gerardo E C A

Feb 10, 2016

Meteor is pretty cool you need to see this course!

By Henri d l H E

Jun 02, 2016

Strongly Recommended

By Anna S

Aug 16, 2016

This is really quite an advanced course that quickly takes you into making a functional, collaborative app. Very well taught despite the quite quick pace!

By Matt

Nov 26, 2016

Very promising environment.

By Shiv M

Feb 17, 2016

Matthew is a great instructor. Loved the way how he taught the entire series especially this one. Step by Step explaining every little detail. Keep up the good work...

By Bodea D O

Sep 14, 2016

Very nice course. Although some of it's concepts can be applied in other technologies, it's main focus is on MeteorJS framework.

By Vijai K S

Feb 01, 2016

This specialization really grows on you :P

By Chatzatoglou K

Oct 23, 2016

Nice tutorial. Marvelous tutor!

By Mariana d A S

Sep 14, 2016

The course is excellent: modern, practical, and with a number of useful tips.

By Gnat M

Dec 20, 2015

Dr. Matthew Yee-King is one of the best teachers I ever seen. Besides course is really interesting and useful.

By EZABO B

Dec 17, 2015

Perfect

By Wong P K

Jul 08, 2018

The example demonstrated in the course is quite interesting. The instructor also teaches us how to build the example from scratch. If you have some background in the (PHP) web development and some idea about JS, you can finish the whole course within one week.

By Aaron S

Feb 15, 2016

Awesome course!

By Evaldas I

Dec 18, 2015

Very interesting issue masterly explained.

By Tatiana C M H

Jan 31, 2016

Nice, thank you very much :)

By Lorna B

Jan 12, 2016

Great course, I feel ready to develop some apps now.

By Ernesto A F

Jan 16, 2016

Thaks for a well tougth course, simplicity in this kind of topics is hard and here is done in masterful way.

By Maksym S

Jan 14, 2016

Yet another great contribution to the specialization with a focus on mechanics behind reactivity and security of applications. This, in fact means, that the module is quite unfortunately named. So far it was the hardest module, mainly because it mainly deal with back-end of the Meteor, but after completing the assignment, many aspects of real-time secure manipulation of the mongoDB become more clear.