Chevron Left
Back to Building Web Applications in PHP

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Building Web Applications in PHP by University of Michigan

4.7
stars
3,836 ratings
864 reviews

About the Course

In this course, you'll explore the basic structure of a web application, and how a web browser interacts with a web server. You'll be introduced to the request/response cycle, including GET/POST/Redirect. You'll also gain an introductory understanding of Hypertext Markup Language (HTML), as well as the basic syntax and data structures of the PHP language, variables, logic, iteration, arrays, error handling, and superglobal variables, among other elements. An introduction to Cascading Style Sheets (CSS) will allow you to style markup for webpages. Lastly, you'll gain the skills and knowledge to install and use an integrated PHP/MySQL environment like XAMPP or MAMP....

Top reviews

YY
Feb 9, 2018

Even being quite an expert in area, I still enjoyed this course a lot and learning quite much from it as well. Highly recommended to everyone who developed an interest to PHP and web-applications.

YS
Jan 12, 2022

Had to hear/watch some videos multiple times, unlike the other course I took with Dr Chuck. Could be sql really is his favorite. Could also be that I have absolute no previous knowledge of PHP.

Filter by:

851 - 866 of 866 Reviews for Building Web Applications in PHP

By Kartik N

Aug 17, 2020

still confused in GET and POST

By Alex W

Jan 4, 2021

The course is decent. The robot autograder is a giant pain. You have to spend more time formatting your answer to make the robot autograder happy than you do formatting your answer to achieve the goals and learn. The course team needs to figure out a better system for grading. The forums are full of people just figuring out how to make the robot autograder happy rather than actually learn.

By ali a

Apr 22, 2020

Though the course is well organized and explained but it is overly outdated and is for very begineer

in development .The actual code practice is negligible.

By ANIL K M

May 29, 2021

Instructor needs to pause at key topics and explain. Sometimes, I felt he was explaining to himself instead of explaining to viewer.

By Manoj K L

Jun 22, 2020

Basic programs for php, were missing. Big problems were given as assignment, with no practice of small php problems.

By Olesya G

Mar 14, 2020

Speaking too fast and all material are not organized.

By tushal t

Jun 5, 2020

Please consider easy and small projects

By Koen V

Nov 18, 2018

not suitable for beginners

By Saif u R

Jul 14, 2020

Some features are really disgusting including the ngrok processes, other peer evaluation. If other peer is not available we have to wait to for peer evaluation that is time wasting. So I am giving 1 Star

By Jitendra J

May 10, 2020

If we submit any assignment wrongly then there should be retake chance.

By Patrick W

Mar 22, 2020

The best tutor in Coursera meets the worst ratingformat.

By Arnav M

Apr 7, 2019

note helpfull for student for thier learning process

By Derrick E

Aug 6, 2019

Poorly designed with no help from student helpers.

By SOURABH S

Nov 3, 2020

very bad web side

By E A

Jun 17, 2020

not good

By Patel m s

Oct 30, 2020

Ok