Chevron Left
Back to Responsive Website Basics: Code with HTML, CSS, and JavaScript

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Responsive Website Basics: Code with HTML, CSS, and JavaScript by University of London

4.6
stars
5,408 ratings
1,462 reviews

About the Course

In this course you will learn three key website programming and design languages: HTML, CSS and JavaScript. You will create a web page using basic elements to control layout and style. Additionally, your web page will support interactivity. At the end of the course, you will be able to: 1. Define the purpose of HTML, CSS and JavaScript 2. Make a simple web page using HTML 3. Use CSS to control text styles and layout 4. Use CSS libraries such as Bootstrap to create responsive layouts 5. Use JavaScript variables and functions 6. Manipulate web page content using JavaScript 7. Respond to user input using JavaScript In this course, you will complete: 2 assignments writing HTML, CSS and JavaScript, each taking ~1 hour to complete 4 quizzes, each taking ~20 minutes to complete 1 programming exercise~30 minutes to complete multiple practice quizzes, each taking ~5 minutes to complete Participation in or completion of this online course will not confer academic credit for University of London programmes....

Top reviews

CD
May 26, 2018

This is an excellent course for the basics in html, css and js I would definitely recommend it to anyone who wanted to build a simple but interactive website using one of the many frameworks available

CM
Oct 10, 2017

Thought the course did a great job of teaching the basics without getting too ahead of itself. All of the sample code was well commented out to explain exactly what the code did which was very helpful

Filter by:

1401 - 1425 of 1,436 Reviews for Responsive Website Basics: Code with HTML, CSS, and JavaScript

By SAGAR B 1

Apr 26, 2020

Quite Useful.

By HARSH D

Jun 7, 2020

VERY GOOD

By Remy E F

Oct 25, 2018

Too easy.

By Геннадий К

Feb 13, 2016

very easy

By sourav m

Feb 16, 2020

ok ok!!!

By Immadi N V S S

Jun 10, 2016

Not BAD!

By Sunil R

Jun 7, 2020

Good

By Gabriel A M

Feb 8, 2016

cool

By Nikos M

Dec 23, 2020

I think the main disadvantage of the course is that it provides you with very basic education on the mentioned topics and nothing in deep and fully explained. The assignments also were very easy to complete. I was expecting a more in depth approach.

By Соколенко Е Ю

Nov 12, 2020

тестовые задания на английском приходится долго переводить так как я английский не знаю это тяжело

By Monica J

Nov 26, 2015

Good for beginners.

By Ashutosh K

May 27, 2020

Over Basic

By Ignacio N

Sep 13, 2017

Very basic

By louni m a

Jan 17, 2019

to easy

By Elena H

Sep 25, 2020

I am very disappointed with this course. I thought it is for the beginners but there are a lot of points that you cannot pass unless you are a programmer. I am mostly disappointed with coursera and it's refund policy. It says that I can still get a refund if I do it during the first two weeks. Well funny story, the course started really failing on the third week when I couldn't get a refund anymore and there is no way to find how to contact coursera about this.

Now whats wrong with the course. In the first two lessons there were some codes/tags that were not working. I was doind everything exactly like on the course but I guess something has an upgrade and the tags we learned during the course didn't work. Also the chat section is not much of a help as nobody is replying. I figured out a few tags by myself that gave the function i was looking for (completely different from the course) but after a couple more i got frustrated and disappointed but decided to continue with the course because the tags were just few extras and obviously I don't expect to learn all of them during this intro course to coding.

Well week 3 was a surprise beause lots of things were mentioned like this: "as you learned during the first 2 weeks", and basically the guy was talking about something that was completely new and was never ever mentioned during the first course.

Also the exams are not fun to do because there is a lot that you face in the exams that were never tought before. Basically you learn stuff during the exam by guessing the answers. Some are modified and some tags are changed a bit so they are just modifying the things that were tought before, but some stuff is completely new and there is no way a beginner can do that!!!!

After few lessons of week 3 i tried to find a solution to get my money back but apparently there is no option like that so I leave this as it is, lose my money and leave a bad review to this course. Sorry but this is unfair for us who want to learn and understand this well. Eventually I couldn't finish the course a) because of the lack of information b) lack of motivation

By Antonio S J

Mar 2, 2019

Não gostei do curso por isso abandonei e continuam a me cobrar o valor de 43 Euros, ou seja paguei duas vezes por algo que nao gostei e que claramente nao uso mais, peço a gentileza que devolvam a ultima parcela indevidamente cobrada e que nao voltem mais a cobrar, pois mando varios emails e nao respondem em meu auxilio nesta questao. Obs: Este curso nao condiz com a grandeza desta Universidade de Londres e nem aos seus doutores, pois tem pedagogia fraca e metodo de estudo q deixa muito a desejar, onde os proprios estudantes iniciantes devem corrigir os trabalhos de outros iniciantes, lamentável. I want my money back , please! Stop sending this bill regarding course that i am not doing ! Antonio Sergio

By Jamie N

Mar 2, 2016

Only shows a bit of javascript, css, and html snippets. If you expect to learn from this course, dont bother they mostly refer you to w3schools.com. They assume everyone knows how to code in html, javascript and css. At one point in the course the teacher says, if you don't know: Google, Yahoo,etc., but if you are going to have to google 99% of things, it's pointless taking this course.

By eli b n

Dec 30, 2015

Very low level , im sorry but this cant be even considered a good intro to HTML,CSS im going to stop wasting my time watching this.

no chllange in the assignments or questions , + more of an overview of the basics then the basics ..

By Assaf M

Aug 17, 2017

The course is very shallow both in terms of what it covers and its explanations. The organization is also poorly done. I ended up taking html, css and javascript for web developers which is much better in every single account.

By Mohamed R

May 1, 2016

It's really not good this course told us a very basic things never give us deep detail and in most of course it shows us the code and you should write like this but there is no deep understand what is it

By Deleted A

Dec 17, 2015

so i will give one star because the title is misleading. I was expecting a course about responsive UI for website. But is yet again a basic introduction to HTML, CSS and JavaScript.

By Animesh K N

Aug 24, 2020

never take this course this is the worse course they dont taught u single things properly its just waste of money time in investing in this course.

By Guilhem

Sep 22, 2017

Very easy. Don't expect beeing anything close to a web developer after this course. This is more a course to discover quickly the job.

By Raja A

Jul 23, 2020

it is hard. i do not understand every thing. I want cancel this course.

By Ming Y

Jan 29, 2016

Course content is way too easy and inadequate to do any useful work.