Chevron Left
Back to FinTech: Foundations, Payments, and Regulations

Learner Reviews & Feedback for FinTech: Foundations, Payments, and Regulations by University of Pennsylvania

4.7
385 ratings
92 reviews

About the Course

In this course, you’ll learn the key components of modern-day investment strategies which utilize fintech. Professors Natasha Sarin and Chris Geczy of the Wharton School have designed this course to help you understand the complex structure of payment methods and financial regulations, so you can determine how fintech plays a role in the future of investing. Through analysis of robo-advising and changing demographic forces, you’ll learn how basic elements of trust underlie complex choice architecture in investments and impact investing. You’ll also explore payment methodologies and how fintech is emerging as an entrepreneurial solution to both investments and payment systems. By the end of this course, you’ll be able to identify different financial technologies, and understand the dynamic between the innovations and regulations, and employ best practices in developing a fintech strategy for yourself or your business. No prerequisites are required for this course, although a basic understanding of credit cards and other payment methods is helpful....

Top reviews

CH

Jun 22, 2019

This is a solid introductory of FinTech knowledge. I'm glad that I learned from the Masters on the trend, foundations, backing up by market-driven statistics that succesfully acco

PP

Jun 29, 2019

Very useful dive into what fintech is and is not, the potential benefits globally, the potential risks, and the challenges of regulation within countries and between countires

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 93 Reviews for FinTech: Foundations, Payments, and Regulations

By erik v d s

Jul 11, 2019

I found the course interesting, but given from a strong US perspective in general.

Which is sometimes interesting, sometimes funny and sometimes annoying being a Dutch and an European citizen.

I cannot say its not objective or scientific, but the cultural background gives me a feeling of bias. I don't know if its inevitable, for Wharton being an American University, but a more international integral approach (which is something different than adding 'international' chapters) would work better for me. Whether it would make the course better I can't say.

By Jean-Yves D

Jul 06, 2019

Maybe a bit too theoretical at times. The tests at the end of the lecture could be more focused on conceptual understanding and applications rather than the current quizzes focusing a lot on details but not on the big picture.

By Ajay C

Jun 19, 2019

Great Introductory courses. I was able to build concepts around FinTech & new Payment systems & regulatory needs. Thank you professors !!!!

By ZheyuChen

Jul 06, 2019

Thanks to this course, providing the logic, systematic and data-convincing scopes to let novice know the fundamental knowledge of FinTech, I learnt a lot. Moreover, the methodology to analyze comprehensively and rationally is potentially passed to the learners, which is really helpful.

By Abdulkader

Jun 30, 2019

My first course in Coursera and it did not disappoint! I recommend this FinTech course to anybody seek a quick yet detailed introduction to the world of FinTech! Thank you

By Colin F

Jul 08, 2019

clear and concise teachings lead to a quick understanding of the material presented. video length was great; never too long. visuals were easy to understand and interpret.

By Chiasheng O H

Jun 22, 2019

This is a solid introductory of FinTech knowledge. I'm glad that I learned from the Masters on the trend, foundations, backing up by market-driven statistics that succesfully acco

By Stephen J W M C C

Sep 25, 2019

Very informative.

By Ralph H

Jun 05, 2019

Provides a good intro to the FinTech space in general, but as a Millennial with a bit of advanced knowledge in cryptocurrencies and underlying cryptographic technologies, I would like to criticize the representation of Bitcoin (it is not a "Company") and the presented issues in regards to the usage of crypto currencies for financing of criminal activities which in my opinion is by no means a bigger regulatory issue than the usage of cash / legal tender, like the US Dollar.

By Dang N T T

Jun 16, 2019

Helpful!

By carlos a m p

Jun 18, 2019

Excellent course. However, It does not offer suggestions about additional readings (books, papers, etc.)

By Ka W P N

Jun 17, 2019

A lot of latest developments about the payments and regulations in the financial industry

By Heath R

Jun 18, 2019

A good over view of the current FinTech environment. I was pleasantly surprised at the well-rounded perspective on the current state of FinTech.

By Franco L

Jun 21, 2019

Muy bueno!

By Rashed

Jun 24, 2019

great course, but had more details on regulation rather than technology and innovation.

By Ke M

Jun 23, 2019

The course gives an overall approach to topics relating to FinTech.

By Njeri G

Jun 25, 2019

Loved the flow, and it was very easy to understand.

By Guilbert M H

Jun 28, 2019

Very informative and the instructors are truly experts of their field. Thank you COURSERA and to my professors!

By Angela M

Jun 30, 2019

Fantastic course and really informative - thank you

By Philip P

Jun 29, 2019

Very useful dive into what fintech is and is not, the potential benefits globally, the potential risks, and the challenges of regulation within countries and between countires

By Joi M K

Jul 03, 2019

This course is extremely simple to follow and a great introduction to FinTech for novice learners.

By Srinivasan K

Jul 05, 2019

The best course on FinTech landscape, great coverage on Fintech Sandbox and the faculty knowledge is so credible through their delivery depth. I do strongly recommend this course to all high-aspirants want to get into FinTech streams. Thank you very much.

By RAVIPUDI S R

Jul 03, 2019

Excellent material and Great teaching

By Gopalakrishnan

Jul 05, 2019

Well explained with clear examples across geographies

By David M S

Jul 08, 2019

Outstanding instructors. Clear and concise learning materials. 100% recommended.