Chevron Left
Back to Fundamentals of Quantitative Modeling

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Fundamentals of Quantitative Modeling by University of Pennsylvania

4.6
stars
7,227 ratings
1,429 reviews

About the Course

How can you put data to work for you? Specifically, how can numbers in a spreadsheet tell us about present and past business activities, and how can we use them to forecast the future? The answer is in building quantitative models, and this course is designed to help you understand the fundamentals of this critical, foundational, business skill. Through a series of short lectures, demonstrations, and assignments, you’ll learn the key ideas and process of quantitative modeling so that you can begin to create your own models for your own business or enterprise. By the end of this course, you will have seen a variety of practical commonly used quantitative models as well as the building blocks that will allow you to start structuring your own models. These building blocks will be put to use in the other courses in this Specialization....

Top reviews

AP
Jun 15, 2019

Very clear and articulate explanation of the concepts. He doesn't skip a step in the sequencing ideas, drawing comparisons and differences, and illustrating both visually and story-telling. Excellent.

S
Nov 30, 2020

for the beginer like me i have experience in banking of 8 years still for me this fundamentals are new specially quantitative modelling.Kindly provide banking related examples in here too.\n\nthanks

Filter by:

1251 - 1275 of 1,402 Reviews for Fundamentals of Quantitative Modeling

By KANHU C R

Nov 25, 2019

AMAZING COURSE

By 樊荣

May 4, 2019

Too elementary

By Sphelele

Mar 10, 2019

a great course

By Charles b

Jul 11, 2016

GREAT MATERIAL

By Nisheeth N

Dec 25, 2019

Great Course!

By Sajjad H S

Jun 24, 2020

Good course.

By Divyam A

Apr 12, 2020

Basic Course

By Hongbo Q

Jul 12, 2018

有一点简单,很基础的课程

By Shivani J

Dec 4, 2016

great course

By nicholas m

Oct 11, 2016

Great course

By rao s

May 28, 2019

really good

By Alex B

May 25, 2016

Good review

By Narek

Mar 20, 2016

Good course

By Daniel P d R E

Jul 16, 2020

Too simple

By Quantum P

Nov 3, 2019

Too simple

By Sagar A

Apr 26, 2018

too simple

By Ishan B

Sep 11, 2018

excellent

By BAI Y

Apr 28, 2020

Not bad

By Luis E H A

Mar 9, 2017

Great

By Sylvia S

Sep 18, 2020

good

By Shrenik V Z

Jan 8, 2018

Good

By Maheshwari N

Aug 27, 2017

V

By Yangzhi G

Jul 24, 2017

g

By John C

Apr 30, 2018

I liked Professor Waterman; he is clear, gives examples, and doesn't just drone over the slides like my statistics professor did in college. However, the course itself felt a little too simplified. For example, when I arrived at the topic of multiple regression, concepts like collinearity and omitted variable bias, which are crucial to understand the fitness of your model, were not mentioned. This was a bit concerning because most business operations, I would assume, have multiple variables in play and would seem more practical to have a more in-depth focus on models reflecting that characteristic.

By Erik B

Jun 2, 2016

The materials in this course were great, but some of the math was not properly explained enough for the individuals to be able to see how the formulas were derived - especially some of the basic calculus and the regression materials. I believe it would have only added 5-10 more minutes in one or two modules to do so since there were so few examples given (This could be covered in subsequent courses within the specialization - I am not sure yet as I will be taking course #2 in the specialization starting next week). Otherwise, this course was a great overview of the types of models used.