Chevron Left
Back to Fundamentals of Quantitative Modeling

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Fundamentals of Quantitative Modeling by University of Pennsylvania

4.6
stars
6,295 ratings
1,254 reviews

About the Course

How can you put data to work for you? Specifically, how can numbers in a spreadsheet tell us about present and past business activities, and how can we use them to forecast the future? The answer is in building quantitative models, and this course is designed to help you understand the fundamentals of this critical, foundational, business skill. Through a series of short lectures, demonstrations, and assignments, you’ll learn the key ideas and process of quantitative modeling so that you can begin to create your own models for your own business or enterprise. By the end of this course, you will have seen a variety of practical commonly used quantitative models as well as the building blocks that will allow you to start structuring your own models. These building blocks will be put to use in the other courses in this Specialization....

Top reviews

AP

Jun 16, 2019

Very clear and articulate explanation of the concepts. He doesn't skip a step in the sequencing ideas, drawing comparisons and differences, and illustrating both visually and story-telling. Excellent.

NC

Jul 31, 2019

Very nice course for beginner, the mathematic level is not high (around french baccalaureat) so available to everyone. I enjoyed a lot this course that show how simple math can be used in real life.

Filter by:

1151 - 1175 of 1,226 Reviews for Fundamentals of Quantitative Modeling

By Biryukov V

Feb 25, 2020

Many of the fundamentals are not explained. For example in Week 4 it is not explained how to calculate R2 or r

By Prannoy K

Feb 16, 2016

Assignments should be evaluated for all users (unpaid ones as well) like it is done for other Wharton courses.

By Charles C W

May 10, 2018

Perhaps I was expecting too much given the reputation of the institution, but this is a course for beginners.

By Pedro B

Jun 17, 2017

Could come a bit deeper in more complex examples at the end of the course. Most of them were too simple.

By Yuan Z

Mar 09, 2019

General description of the modeling, need further work or pre-understandings for some of the contents.

By Johnny V

Jul 10, 2016

Felt a little rudimentary until the last week. I hope the specialization picks up after this point.

By Michael S

Dec 06, 2017

Not enough about formulas or real world application. Was hoping to see examples applied in Excel.

By Sidney A

May 09, 2016

Nice primer for modeling, but wish there were more workable problems to help hit the point home.

By Bharat J

Jun 20, 2020

Too descriptive for a quantitative course. Would've preferred more problem solving exercises.

By Eike A H

Sep 09, 2019

-no explanation on errors

-too theoretical and abstract with lack of examples and own practice

By Siva S B

Mar 26, 2018

Could have been more advanced from the perspective of practical use-cases of data modeling.

By jyoti v

Oct 23, 2018

The course is a bit too introductory for me. I'm looking for more challenging material.

By Kangkang W

Oct 17, 2016

most contents are explicit on ppt, it is sometimes not necessary to view the lectures.

By Dayn R

Jun 01, 2020

Felt like it could have been a little more plain....less theory, more application.

By Josh R

May 17, 2020

Lots of information, not much opportunity to apply practical usage to the theories

By martino g

Mar 30, 2020

Content is good but the teacher is extremely boring. Had to struggle to finish it.

By Paul M

Jul 07, 2020

My name was spelled incorrectly on my certificate, how to do I correct this?

By Mathew L

Apr 27, 2016

I would have liked the quizzes to explain why an answer was right or wrong.

By Brendan C

May 22, 2018

good course, quizzes should not be locked though...disappointed with that.

By Deleted A

Feb 19, 2018

I think the contents of this course can be more difficult and challenging.

By Michelle l G

Feb 09, 2017

It was an interesting module, however, not sure how I will apply this in

By Gary V

Jul 12, 2017

Very basic things that any person with a stats background should know

By Alec E

Jul 23, 2020

Not that enjoyable. Decent information but pretty boring to watch.

By Abhed M

Jan 12, 2020

It should be more rigorous. I completed this course in three days.

By Dominique B

Apr 08, 2020

a bit too simple, I would have expected more practical excersises