Chevron Left
Back to Business Writing

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Business Writing by University of Colorado Boulder

4.8
stars
3,955 ratings

About the Course

Writing well is one of the most important skills you can develop to be successful in the business world. Over seventy companies and thirty thousand students--from professional writers to new employees to non-native English speakers to seasoned executives--have used the techniques in Business Writing to power their ability to communicate and launch their ideas. This course will teach you how to apply the top ten principles of good business writing to your work, how to deploy simple tools to dramatically improve your writing, and how to execute organization, structure, and revision to communicate more masterfully than ever. From the very first lesson, you'll be able to apply your new learning immediately to your work and improve your writing today. Your ideas are powerful. Learn how to deliver them with the clarity and impact they deserve. "Thank you for giving me the knowledge I need in life. [Business Writing] was helpful, life changing, and has made a huge impact in my writing." -- Message from a Business Writing student The principles you'll learn in this course enable you to become a great business writer. They also provide the foundation for moving into Graphic Design and Successful Presentation, so that you can unleash your best professional self whenever--and however--you present your ideas in the workplace. This course can be taken for academic credit as part of CU Boulder’s Master of Science in Data Science (MS-DS) degree offered on the Coursera platform. The MS-DS is an interdisciplinary degree that brings together faculty from CU Boulder’s departments of Applied Mathematics, Computer Science, Information Science, and others. With performance-based admissions and no application process, the MS-DS is ideal for individuals with a broad range of undergraduate education and/or professional experience in computer science, information science, mathematics, and statistics. Learn more about the MS-DS program at https://www.coursera.org/degrees/master-of-science-data-science-boulder....

Top reviews

MA

Nov 29, 2020

THIS COURSE IS VERY HELPFUL FOR EVERYONE

WHO WANT TO LEARN HOW TO WRITE MEMO HOW TO DESIGN IT HOW TO ADD HEADING POINTS

I LEARNED HERE EVERY SINGLE THINGS THAT HAPPEN IN REAL LIFE

GOOD COURSE

YS

Jun 11, 2017

It was an exceptional course with lots to take away from. It taught basic building blocks of business writing and then built upon it which provided a great way to self learn the content of the course.

Filter by:

326 - 350 of 1,172 Reviews for Business Writing

By Lei W

Aug 12, 2018

film quality videos, practical techniques, really helpful to my writing and self-confidence in many ways

By Ifeanyi S N O

Oct 24, 2021

To keep it short and simple, my confidence level in writing business letters just increased positively.

By Stephanie

Oct 7, 2019

Really enjoyed how easy it was to follow this course and how I didn't feel overwhelmed with the topics.

By George K

Oct 1, 2018

The course is amazing, easy to digest, and teaches the essentials of good business writing efficiently.

By Bhargav B

Oct 16, 2016

The course is well structured and helps to acquire writing skills in a effective way. It is fantastic.!

By Marco P

May 13, 2022

Simple and effective. This course targets some essential rules and mistakes we should all be aware of.

By Rui H

Jan 14, 2022

The course focus on the basics. As an ESL engineer. It helped me a lot in improve my tech doc writing.

By Jyoti C

Apr 14, 2021

Great course, have learned so much and how affective you can be by just elimating words and sentences.

By Jian P Z

Oct 20, 2018

Good training to teach me how to have a right business writing to have a better business communication

By Janet K

Jun 1, 2018

I consider myself a fairly decent writer. Even still, I was reminded of some concepts long forgotten.

By Sugathri K

Dec 11, 2020

The structure of the course is amazing ; Quick assignments following the topic was a great value add

By Melisa D

Aug 18, 2020

Quentin's course was well organized. The 10 tips will guide me in my business writing going forward.

By Rutvik B B

Aug 18, 2020

it was great experience to me. thank you so much all faculties for this wonderful interactive course.

By Alexis M B

Jul 7, 2020

Thank you for the tips on Effective Business Writing. I have already started including it in my work.

By Miguel A A M

Jun 16, 2017

Excellent material. The course is easy to follow and provides practical tips to improve your writing.

By Jim S

Jun 9, 2021

This course is beautifully simply and powerfully impactful. I will recommend this class to my peers.

By Chukwu D

Dec 10, 2020

The Course contain basic writing skills and i really enjoyed the quiz as it challenges me to do more

By Brandon M G

Jul 20, 2020

It is a very organized course. It teaches an important skill to practice and to gain for a lifetime.

By James A

Mar 1, 2018

Would strongly recommend to take this course. You see writing through a whole different perspective.

By Marie B

Sep 28, 2017

I really enjoyed this course and the basics taught is a great starting point to doing a good design.

By NG H Y

Jun 12, 2020

This course is very useful, it provides useful techniques in polishing writing. Highly recommended.

By Sheikh S B S

Jun 5, 2020

Overall the course is amazing so much to learn new skills. I hope this skill will also pay me off

By Weber M

Apr 29, 2020

Business Writing is informative and applicable to my everyday work. It makes me a confident writer.

By Bob J

Apr 2, 2020

This was a great refresher with fundamental tips that I do not use. Thanks for the helpful content.

By ASEMOTA K

Jul 29, 2019

Fantastic , great insight and skill learnt. Like she said continuous practise makes the difference.