Chevron Left
Back to AI Capstone Project with Deep Learning

Learner Reviews & Feedback for AI Capstone Project with Deep Learning by IBM

4.5
stars
526 ratings

About the Course

In this capstone, learners will apply their deep learning knowledge and expertise to a real world challenge. They will use a library of their choice to develop and test a deep learning model. They will load and pre-process data for a real problem, build the model and validate it. Learners will then present a project report to demonstrate the validity of their model and their proficiency in the field of Deep Learning....

Top reviews

SD

Mar 5, 2023

Deep Learning may be challenging, and though training a model is tedious and takes a lot of time, the classification and detection performance could be enhanced by using pre-trained CNN models.

RL

Jul 30, 2020

The capstone of the project was really good it helped me to understand the deep learning concepts clearly for providing the solution.

Filter by:

76 - 98 of 98 Reviews for AI Capstone Project with Deep Learning

By Dima E

Sep 26, 2021

It is a great task but the tools delivered very complicated. It is sometimes better to use upfront your own tools.

By Ruchika V

Dec 3, 2020

I have completed this course but did not get the badge for it. Is there any way to access it?

By Thar H S

Mar 27, 2020

Thank a lot for creating this course. It really useful and practical for me.

By Emanuel N

Mar 1, 2021

Buen curso, implementando todo lo que se vio en la especializacion

By Paweł P

Apr 3, 2022

Nice idea, however it could be a little bit more elaborate.

By Jordi T G

May 13, 2023

The Keras module was awful to complete

By 321910303034 g

Oct 30, 2022

gud

By Teig L

Mar 10, 2024

If I hadn't taken Dr Ng's courses first I don't think I would have grasped the concepts, most of the really difficult topics were not covered in any depth and there were leaps between topics that I think could have been covered. I am sure the instructors knew what they were talking about but they tended to gloss over things that ended up being important. I am not really sure about the value of the certificate, one of the students I reviewed had obviously just copied and pasted his responses directly from the rubric. You could tell by the text formatting where the rubric had some text bolded that would not have been bolded by the code. I mentioned it but I think he probably got credit for the work. I don't know if it was my place to not give him the credit per the rubric.

By Victor Z

Jul 13, 2023

1. The whole specialization is unchallenging. There are no real practical assignments, everything is solved for you. At most you're asked to change parameters in the already finished code.

2. Slides and notebooks have lots of typos.

3. The peer-reviewed assignment for AI Capstone Project has misleading instructions for grading which haven't been solved for over 3 years (https://www.coursera.org/learn/ai-deep-learning-capstone/discussions/weeks/4/threads/-4y66yflEeuDNgpyJIMFiQ).

Overall, most videos in specialization are a good introductory overview of the topics but you'll not gain any valuable practical experience with deep learning.

By Charles L

Feb 24, 2020

This course was riddled with operational flaws regarding the image data, and how it operated in the IBM framework. At one point I was not able to run the labs with either PyTorch or Keras versions, and eventually just downloaded the notebooks and ran them in Google Colab to complete the specialization.

By Yinias

Feb 6, 2020

The data from the course is not well prepared, some invalid pictures in the data. And also sometimes the IBM platform can not run the training well, loss connection and need several hours of time for training the model...

By Sung C

Jan 5, 2022

there are some issues incl.

- IBM lite version crash (So I used my local GPU environment) - Want a more challenging project with friendly provided reference and help

By REINALDO L N

Feb 4, 2020

The docker environment by IBM is horrible. I just got to finish my course running all the notebooks locally (except for those at the Watson environment)

By Lee Y Y

Feb 9, 2020

Not well-prepared materials in Keras, especially in Week 3 (model-training) which took more than 3 hours to training and even not successfully.

By Pochara Y

Aug 7, 2021

some of the modele and code is outdated.

By Sumanth k

May 9, 2022

good course

By Jakub P

May 31, 2020

The content of the course is very interesting and highly informative, however there is a critical flaw in this course (at least for the keras library side of things), the problem is that IBM Cognitive Labs, the intended environment for the assignments, is incapable of running the later labs (week 3 + final) and will crash after 30+ minutes of waiting, this being due to the instructors having us use a relatively large database of images (~250 mb). Jupyter Notebooks on IBM Cognitive Lab struggles to just unzip the dataset (which is downloaded as a zip), not to even mention fitting the models to the data, which I found to be impossible to do with IBM Cognitive labs (for both week 3 and the final assignment). Ultimately I ended up having set up a jupyter lab environment on my own laptop, the problem is even then it took about 14 hours to fit the data to the models (in total, both week 3 and final assignment).

TL;DR the instructors have us using a pointlessly large dataset images which serves more to test our patience than our ability to create deep learning models.

By Edward J

Oct 21, 2020

Very disappointing. The instructions are unclear in the assignments and it got frustrating choosing which platform to use to speed up the process and to bypass notebook errors. This was the least challenging and least interesting Capstone project I have done with IBM.

By Briant J C

Jul 31, 2023

Please update the code since most of it is deprecated and some errors. Some code was also hard to work with since it could be better structured. The lab training takes time in any of the IBM platforms. I suggest working all labs in Colab.

By Markey S

Mar 3, 2024

Needs updated to reflect current changes that have been incorporated into the IBM platform. Instructions can be confusing. Assistance with the code is great but the course needs a once over update.

By Stefano C

Mar 12, 2022

The information in this course is repeated over and over. You basically learn the same stuff, it could be cut in half.

By Mariam A

Apr 3, 2020

the keras part was totally ignored

By Krzysztof R

Feb 4, 2024

Learning content was good, but making assignments was a nigthmare, I could not set up an IBM Cloud account, becasue they could not verify my payment card, when i asked them to help me, they just responded "We have reviewed your account/transaction and will not be able to offer services. No further information will be disclosed regarding this matter. Any card authorizations will reverse within 24-72 hours depending on the issuing bank.". They ghosted me completely and did not want to help. I do not recommend. It's no wonder that with this kind of customer attitude IBM is far behind the competition today.