Chevron Left
Back to Analysis of Algorithms

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Analysis of Algorithms by Princeton University

4.4
stars
935 ratings

About the Course

This course teaches a calculus that enables precise quantitative predictions of large combinatorial structures. In addition, this course covers generating functions and real asymptotics and then introduces the symbolic method in the context of applications in the analysis of algorithms and basic structures such as permutations, trees, strings, words, and mappings. All the features of this course are available for free. People who are interested in digging deeper into the content may wish to obtain the textbook Analysis of Algorithms, Second Edition (upon which the course is based) or to visit the website aofa.cs.princeton.edu for a wealth of additional material. This course does not offer a certificate upon completion....

Top reviews

NP

Aug 13, 2022

Outstanding material, brilliantly conceived! It contains the essence of mathematics necessary for anyone serious about programming.

FF

May 27, 2023

Analysis of algorithms

Combinatorial structures

Analysis of combinatorial data structures

Asymptotic approximations

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 281 Reviews for Analysis of Algorithms

By Андрій К

Apr 29, 2018

This course is more about mathematic than algorithms, it teaches how to solve tricky combinatorial problems

By Hafidz J L

Mar 10, 2018

This is great course if you already done some algorithms courses and want to go deeper.

By Ivan F

May 2, 2018

This course offers an extensive coverage of mathematical material like tools and techniques, putting special emphasis on simple principles and never losing its focus on the general perspective of the topic.

Developing insight on analytic functions together with combinatorics and the practical applications of theory into code gives a significant advantage over using naive approaches.

A special appreciation to Prof. Sedgewick's endless efforts for disseminating mathematical knowledge among programmers, over this platform and even outside!

Thank you very much.

By Deleted A

May 5, 2020

The good thing about Coursera is that the courses are self-contained with defined prerequisites but this course is definitely not self-contained and it also doesn't mention any prerequisites. It can be a good extra material following through a class, or attending the same lectures. This course is essentially the lectures from this class but without any supporting material or small group tutorials. Other than that, it's just a promotion of the books that the lecturer wrote.

By Konstantin

Apr 26, 2018

I didn't like this course at all. Cover less material, but explain it better. Most of the students drop out after week 3.

By zhangdi

Sep 16, 2018

算法3

By Zhenwei L

Sep 24, 2019

Some of the problems are very interesting and I'm quite impressed by the symbolic method. Howerver, part of the contents are too "detailed" which is dull in my opinion.

By Aswin V

Aug 25, 2020

I enjoyed problems given in the quizzes. The course is one of the best presentations I have seen.

By Madhav N W

Nov 22, 2019

Excellent course, great exercise in combinatorics.

By HelloIsJeffrey

Jan 10, 2019

This course is very helpfull!

By Mathews E G A

Apr 19, 2020

Doesn't offer ceritifcate

By Derren D

Feb 27, 2021

I have very much enjoyed taking this course. I think that professor Sedgewick does an excellent job making this material accessible at a deep level. His lectures and videos helped me develop a much deeper understanding of this material than I would have if I had just read the accompanying books.

By Fakhreddine M

Apr 17, 2020

clear explanation, and amazing tools to analyze algorithms through a scientific approach.

By Shanmukha S C

Feb 13, 2024

The course was good, but the teaching style was not for me so had to take a lot of help and use some guesswork

By Lokesh M

Feb 21, 2024

The instructor have to reissue the video according to the general aspect of solving the algorithms because there have no clear understanding of solving the approximate value of a given function in the questions. the teacher have my respect for developing algorithms with his friend but his way of teaching still bugs me on the concept

By Chirag S

Feb 3, 2024

Tough

By S M

Sep 1, 2021

Excellent material and instruction, and the course readings do require matematical sophistication. The biggest disappointment was the comments in the discussion forums, example: "good", "benefitable", etc.. The forum comments are not a reflection on the quality of the course, but a direct commentary on the people who are wasting everyone's time.

By 20-047 F F R

Jun 15, 2022

the material is delivered by great and experienced presenters, the material presented is clear and easy to understand, the quiz given is also not immediately difficult, but gradually from easy, moderate, to difficult so it is not difficult to do it, the reading given is also clear, unfortunately not there is a translation for Indonesian

By Deepika K

Feb 9, 2024

nycnycnycnycnycnycnycnycnycnycnycnycnycnycnycnycnycnycnycnycnycnycnycnycnycnycnycnycnycnycnycnycnycnycnycnycnycnycnycnycnycnycnycnycnycnycnycnycnycnycnycnycnycnycnycnycnycnycnycnycnycnycnycnycnycnycnycnycnycnycnycvv

By Sujoy C

May 14, 2023

Got to learn about very different ascpets about different types of Algorithms. What things to keep in mind while designing an algorithm. Bio O drawbacks, Probabability of permutations. Binary Strings and many more.

By Eduard G G

Jul 18, 2021

Excellent course with very interesting and well explained topics, for those with certain background in mathematics (and, specially, in analysis and combinatorics).

By Nenad P

Aug 14, 2022

Outstanding material, brilliantly conceived! It contains the essence of mathematics necessary for anyone serious about programming.

By Deepshikha Y

Feb 29, 2024

Such a Insightful course on algorithm analysis, this really improved my problem-solving skills significantly. Thank you !!

By Fikru F

May 28, 2023

Analysis of algorithms

Combinatorial structures

Analysis of combinatorial data structures

Asymptotic approximations

By Nguyen D L

Sep 15, 2022

I would highly recommend this course to any developer to understand algorithm analysis.