Chevron Left
Back to Fundamentals of Audio and Music Engineering: Part 1 Musical Sound & Electronics

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Fundamentals of Audio and Music Engineering: Part 1 Musical Sound & Electronics by University of Rochester

4.6
331 ratings
90 reviews

About the Course

In this course students learn the basic concepts of acoustics and electronics and how they can applied to understand musical sound and make music with electronic instruments. Topics include: sound waves, musical sound, basic electronics, and applications of these basic principles in amplifiers and speaker design....

Top reviews

IS

Oct 27, 2016

Absolutely Excellent Course, Fantastic teaching; I found the circuit analysis for the last two weeks really challenging (in a good way). Very glad I stuck with it and finished it.

AK

Sep 21, 2015

Good course. I enjoyed watching the lectures, especially from Bocco. The quizzes were also very representative of the course materials. Thanks for a good learning experience.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 87 Reviews for Fundamentals of Audio and Music Engineering: Part 1 Musical Sound & Electronics

By Hari M

Mar 10, 2018

Very good course, some of the math is a bit advanced, but the explanations are excellent. Thank you very much for this opportunity. I am eagerly waiting for the part 2!!

By Isaac S

Oct 27, 2016

Absolutely Excellent Course, Fantastic teaching; I found the circuit analysis for the last two weeks really challenging (in a good way). Very glad I stuck with it and finished it.

By Jason N

Nov 15, 2015

While the lectures were good, this course had annoying issues, such as in-video questions asking us to refer to previously shown material (which isn't easy given the Coursera interface). A few assignment questions were also poorly formulated. The course would have really benefited from .pdf reference material, for review and elaboration of topics presented in lectures. At minimum, a list of relevant equations would have helped.

The acoustics part of the content seemed somewhat sketchy and hand-wavy; the assumptions and limitations behind the rule-of-thumb equations and models presented weren't given much weight, so I wasn't able to get a good grasp of when they were relevant*. The electronics part was more reasonable, but still suffered from some over-simplification (for example, the model of guitar pickups didn't include magnetic hysteresis).

All in all, the course was worth taking, but I think the material deserves more rigor.

*All models are wrong. But some of them are useful.

By Eduardo C H

Feb 15, 2019

Excelente curso, gostei muito do que aprendi. Este curso foi de extrema importância para minha profissão.

By Clinton M

Feb 25, 2019

Keeping track with the basics and the professor is great.

By Francisco R P

Oct 02, 2018

Excellent.

By SeyedMohsen M

Sep 18, 2018

Thank you so much masters

By Rich

Sep 19, 2018

I learned so much and I found it so interesting I think I am going to go through it again.

By michael c p

Aug 20, 2015

Pena não estar em português.....

By Edgar A S G

Dec 18, 2016

It is a great course, and you learn with very simple approaches to all the different circuits and physical phenomena explained. Would be useful to have a summary sheet with all formulas used for calculating the dimensions of a cabinet, as it can be very useful in the future. Thank you!

By Sorin A

Apr 27, 2017

in depth knowledge about Acoustics and Electronics. Great Course, highly recommended !

By Sonny S

Jul 19, 2017

Great for fundamental audio engineering

By Jose F R

Jul 31, 2017

muy bueno

By tangkaidu

Aug 03, 2017

NICE BUT CAN BE REALLY DO IT

By OMAR Y G

Apr 06, 2018

Great teachers to get all the information you need to be an expert

By ARUNLAL P K

Sep 14, 2017

very nice and interesting course

By Daniel W

Jul 04, 2018

Very technical. But worth it.

By Andrey M

Dec 07, 2015

Very nice intro course.

By JUSTIN G M

May 31, 2016

good

By Roman P

Sep 24, 2015

!!!

By Luiz C M M

Mar 13, 2017

Greate Course. An innovative, encouraging, motivating course, excellent teachers, intensive content. Excellent. Highly recommend.

By Mohan G

Apr 27, 2017

very helpful

By Scott H H

Mar 10, 2018

Very practical course that combines mathematical and engineering theory with hands-on, real-world examples, hardware, and software. I would highly recommend this course to anyone interested in how mechanical and electrical systems apply to music engineering.

By Czcibor H

Mar 01, 2016

A very interesting and useful course, and quite a demanding one, too.

By Sandro J L S

Aug 24, 2015

Excelent!! I recommend!!