Chevron Left
Back to Building a Data Science Team

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Building a Data Science Team by Johns Hopkins University

4.5
2,563 ratings
341 reviews

About the Course

Data science is a team sport. As a data science executive it is your job to recruit, organize, and manage the team to success. In this one-week course, we will cover how you can find the right people to fill out your data science team, how to organize them to give them the best chance to feel empowered and successful, and how to manage your team as it grows. This is a focused course designed to rapidly get you up to speed on the process of building and managing a data science team. Our goal was to make this as convenient as possible for you without sacrificing any essential content. We've left the technical information aside so that you can focus on managing your team and moving it forward. After completing this course you will know. 1. The different roles in the data science team including data scientist and data engineer 2. How the data science team relates to other teams in an organization 3. What are the expected qualifications of different data science team members 4. Relevant questions for interviewing data scientists 5. How to manage the onboarding process for the team 6. How to guide data science teams to success 7. How to encourage and empower data science teams Commitment: 1 week of study, 4-6 hours Course cover image by JaredZammit. Creative Commons BY-SA. https://flic.kr/p/5vuWZz...
Highlights
Applicable teachings
(79 Reviews)
Brief, helpful lectures
(11 Reviews)

Top reviews

NN

Dec 15, 2017

This course was an exceptional experience where it introduces me to building a data science team, its challenges, nuances and also what kind of approach to take while building and sustaining the team.

JS

Mar 12, 2017

Extremely practical and essentially human, this was really interesting to better understand the different roles and how to help data science teams to work together, highly recommended

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 334 Reviews for Building a Data Science Team

By Elton K

Dec 14, 2018

Interesting for a Non-Data Science Executive despite some minor spelling errors in video transcripts.

By Tan L

Nov 28, 2018

Learn a lot! Thanks so much!

By Rachid R

Dec 16, 2018

Good

By Piet-Hein G

Jan 09, 2019

Really insightful, touching on a wide variety of subjects that are relevant to building a data science team. Thank you very much.

By Alzum S M

Jan 11, 2019

I great course completed.

By Mallon L

Feb 20, 2019

Good course. Helps you visualize what you need to build a data science team.

By Promod R

Feb 28, 2019

Fabulous and easy to understand and internalize!

By Diem-Thy ( T

Mar 23, 2019

Informative and to the point

By Gustavo V

Mar 31, 2019

Usefull information to start building a data science team.

By Balakrishnan.R

Mar 31, 2019

Well thought and constructed instructional materials. Easy to understand and more practical. I actually struggled with the quizzes unlike the First Course in this executive program.

By Matheus M J

Feb 07, 2019

Very insightful!

By Diego B

Jan 26, 2019

It's a really good overview with severals useful tips and tricks on how to build our team!

By Самигуллин А

Jan 27, 2019

Очень полезный и интересный курс, дает достаточно теории и идей о том, с чего стоит начать работу по построению команды и на что нужно обращать внимание, будучи DS менеджером

By Jay P

Feb 01, 2019

Excellent inputs

By Omar Z

Apr 09, 2019

Great overview and insight into the effective ways of building and managing a data science team within an organization.

By Priyanka F P

Apr 14, 2019

Excellent technical information!

By José L M A

Mar 03, 2019

Very good material. Concise and simple. It has been thoroughly worked out. Good job!

By Luis A

Mar 14, 2019

The Professors are world class and the courses provide a great overview of an emerging field.

By Hector R C C

Mar 15, 2019

very nice course!

By Livia R d C d

Mar 06, 2019

Straight to the point! Very objective information.

By ANNE G S

Mar 18, 2019

I found the subject matter well-presented. The content is actionable and the instructor engaging.

By Claudia K J

Feb 05, 2019

EXCELENT CURSE, SO WELL EXPLAINED AND WELL PLANNED

By Andri Q

Sep 24, 2018

It is help me to setup my team

By RAJANIPOTTURI

Sep 30, 2018

Very good course. Narrated team building process in easy steps.

By Wladimir R

Aug 26, 2018

VERY GOOD COURSE HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.