Chevron Left
Back to Building a Data Science Team

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Building a Data Science Team by Johns Hopkins University

4.5
2,567 ratings
341 reviews

About the Course

Data science is a team sport. As a data science executive it is your job to recruit, organize, and manage the team to success. In this one-week course, we will cover how you can find the right people to fill out your data science team, how to organize them to give them the best chance to feel empowered and successful, and how to manage your team as it grows. This is a focused course designed to rapidly get you up to speed on the process of building and managing a data science team. Our goal was to make this as convenient as possible for you without sacrificing any essential content. We've left the technical information aside so that you can focus on managing your team and moving it forward. After completing this course you will know. 1. The different roles in the data science team including data scientist and data engineer 2. How the data science team relates to other teams in an organization 3. What are the expected qualifications of different data science team members 4. Relevant questions for interviewing data scientists 5. How to manage the onboarding process for the team 6. How to guide data science teams to success 7. How to encourage and empower data science teams Commitment: 1 week of study, 4-6 hours Course cover image by JaredZammit. Creative Commons BY-SA. https://flic.kr/p/5vuWZz...
Highlights
Applicable teachings
(79 Reviews)
Brief, helpful lectures
(11 Reviews)

Top reviews

NN

Dec 15, 2017

This course was an exceptional experience where it introduces me to building a data science team, its challenges, nuances and also what kind of approach to take while building and sustaining the team.

JS

Mar 12, 2017

Extremely practical and essentially human, this was really interesting to better understand the different roles and how to help data science teams to work together, highly recommended

Filter by:

201 - 225 of 334 Reviews for Building a Data Science Team

By Ivan D

Oct 25, 2019

It was really helpful, useful and give me a lot of pleasure to listen.

By Synthia

Feb 17, 2019

A great guide to anyone who is building a data science. The professor explained all the topics really well

By Clara A R

Dec 26, 2018

I really liked the course structure

By Cédric B

Apr 13, 2019

Little long… If you already managed teams, too much common sense stuffs. Still worth it.

By Nachum S

Jul 11, 2018

Good, some of it a bit basic and general

By bruce b

Jul 29, 2016

good insights and ways to avoid problems in building and importantly advertising your team

By Clifton d L

Nov 21, 2017

I found this course useful, especially the hints regarding a code of conduct for Data teams and the interactions with other teams. Also a good refresher on general team-leadership/management.

By Suman C

Feb 25, 2018

Gave summarized managerial overview.

By Murat K K

Nov 16, 2017

Good overview for beginners. I totally suggest.

By Ruchit G

Mar 19, 2018

Good overview and learning on how to build data science teams

By Miomir Z

Jun 30, 2017

Data science part was very valuable to me while some basics of people management are just basic. Overall solid course that i would recommend. More advance/modern/popular tools such as coaching and shared leadership were missing to make it 5 stars.

Best,

Miomir

By Poul H N

Jan 27, 2018

Nice view from the top input regarding the issues facing performing data science on a daily basis.

By Weihua W

Jan 19, 2016

Expensive course.

Good for how to find a team.

By Brian N

Apr 11, 2018

Good for introduction in Data Science

By JOSEPH A

Apr 16, 2018

Excellent content - delivery could be improved somewhat but happy overall. Lots of practical advice relevant to the job and team dynamics. Read the supplementary material/links

By Christopher L

Apr 25, 2018

Good introduction.

By Onur G

Apr 02, 2018

It covers all the essentials

By Supriya M

Mar 12, 2018

Excellent Introduction.

By Guy B

Feb 12, 2016

Gives a good idea of the roles required to build a competent team, dispelling the myth of the all encompassing data science guru

By Ramkumar

Jun 27, 2017

Great one

By Alfredo A C

Jan 09, 2017

Short, well organized, and very useful. Perhaps quizzes could be improved in order to address more relevant topics. Thanks!

By Reinaldo B N

Apr 03, 2016

I have studied this course as part of the Executive Data Science Specialization. I think this set of four courses meet my objectives by providing a very nice overview on the key points of data science projects. They are good to give a flavor on data science and data science projects helping decide if you want to search for more in depth knowledge.

By Kelly H

Feb 29, 2016

I think the questions in this course do not map as well as they could to the lectures. But, overall it's very helpful.

By Atila T

Sep 26, 2017

Clear. Compact. Good.

By Rong-Rong C

Dec 01, 2017

Informative overview of the various roles in a data science team. The course is well-paced with plenty of supplemental curriculum to add substance beyond hiring. This covers the qualitative qualities that define and differentiate the human interactions of a successful team from that of the technical.