Chevron Left
Back to Managing Employee Compensation

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Managing Employee Compensation by University of Minnesota

4.7
stars
1,815 ratings

About the Course

Whether you're writing paychecks or wondering where yours comes from, this course is for you! We begin by asking: "To succeed, what kind of a person does your organization need to attract, retain, and motivate?" From there, we'll explain how to align your organization's objectives, its pay philosophy, and ultimately the way it designs and implements its salary structure, short-term incentives, long-term incentives, and benefits. Interested in learning more about the technical aspects of compensation, but don't know where to begin? We'll give an overview of key the key technical skills: compliance with pay regulations, understanding stock options, shopping for health insurance and pension providers, and designing incentive plans. Lastly, we'll discuss non-monetary methods of motivating employees. Upon completing the course, you should be able to have an understanding of compensation both strategically and technically. Learners will also gain introductory familiarity with pay regulation in the US....

Top reviews

KM

Apr 22, 2019

This is a very useful course for any HR professional who wants to have an overview on Employee Compensation and Benefits. Thanks for detailed and thought- through lectures and the great opportunity.

S

May 7, 2020

Both the professors were amazing! However, I would like to point out that since everyone undertaking this course is from the USA, it's better to skip out on the portion about US Law and compliance.

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 435 Reviews for Managing Employee Compensation

By JERMAINE D

Jun 8, 2017

I really enjoyed how Mike Davis approached and delivered his material. I'm ready for the capstone

By Glulia

Jun 22, 2020

I give 4 stars only for Mike Davis, he was so clear and I understand everything.

By Lisi L

Jul 3, 2019

I loved Mike Davis classes! I'm sorry but the rest was a bit boring.

By Leonardo A L

Feb 6, 2020

Week three was very hard for me because I'm not american.

By John E H

Jun 29, 2017

Presentation style was not as engaging, and was so repetitive from class to class, video to video. Got tedious by the end. Good information, thorough, and only sometimes too basic. More repetition tha

By Anna Z

Sep 9, 2020

I'm highly dissatisfied with this particular course. It was hard for me to understand the reader because of his manner of speech. He also kept making mistakes and using fillers all the time. The worst course in the specialization!

By Siva A

Apr 17, 2017

not so much live examples full of theories.this has been thought in class it self.

By Svetoslav A

Sep 12, 2020

Too much unnecessary information for people who live outside the USA.

By Cristina D

Mar 14, 2023

From all the 4 courses in this specialization this is by far the worst.

If you are not in the United Staetes of America, DON'T ENROLL. (And above it all, don't pay for it!)

Most of it is about legislation and monetary situations that are specific to the USofA, and pretty useless anywhere else.

Coursera should give fair warning. Or better yet, make the class much more global if you really need it to obtain the specialization.

In addition to this, the instructor was not nearly as good as the previous ones.

By Olafs B

Jul 26, 2022

This was the worst course in this specialization. If you are an international student (not from the US) then you will be disappointed.

By Shrey S

Apr 18, 2021

The course was well organized, the concepts were well explained with practical examples. It would be great if you could include examples from different geographies like emerging markets (BRICS) as the dynamics are a bit different due to difference in context. However, the principles are largely the same. Also, the assignment would be more effective if it takes into account that many people across the globe do the course and hence a globally relevant assignment would be more effective than just a US-focused one. Having said that, I really got a gist of compensation and benefits (the hard & soft aspects). I would highly recommend the course to anyone interested in getting a holistic perspective on the subject quickly in a practical manner. Thank you!

By Rumpa N

Dec 8, 2020

Dear Mr. Mike Davis & Mr. Allen Benson

It was great experience in learning the one of the course module Compensation and I thoroughly enjoyed each and every part of the course and will cherish this knowledge forever and I’m grateful to Coursera and University of Minnesota and All the Faculties of Carlson School of Management for bringing such a detailed and comprehensive learning programme on Human Resource Management and this course gave me lot of deep diving into the course and also it gave me more confidence in attempting all the Peer graded projects and Assessment was really useful for me gauge on my knowledge. My heartfelt thanks to entire team once again.

Thanks & Regards

Rumpa Narayanan

By Luis R R

Jul 29, 2020

As a third-year student at the University of Westminster in London, United Kingdom I received a final mark below what I expected at a module of Reward Management, after reflecting on what went wrong I understood my former handicaps were salary structures and compensation schemes, whereas a result I had to include this course on my PDP to improve my skills. I can only be grateful as this was a great opportunity to consolidate all my knowledge in Reward & Compensation management. The course is amazing and the video clips are invaluable!

For someone looking for a career change into Human Resources / Personnel / Human Capital management or even Business Management, this course is essential.

By Mohini D

Aug 23, 2020

This is a very useful course for any HR professional who wants to have an overview on Employee Compensation and Benefits. However, I would like to point out that since everyone undertaking this course is not from the USA, it's better to skip out on the portion about US Law and compliance. I learnt a lot from this course. The content was very good and the videos were very clear and easy to follow. I would like to thank to Prof Alan Benson, Mike Davis and all other supporting staff behind the curtains. Greatly appreciated.

By Md. F H

Mar 2, 2021

This was an excellent opportunity to learn some basics about employee compensation and setting benefits to convey company goals in a nonverbal way. The instructors were very clear about the topics. But one feedback for the peer evaluation is that it should allow people to set compensation based on their own country, region. Not all the participants are from the USA and we have little to no value in knowing it. Other than that, I wish all the future learners the best of luck!

By Aswani M

Nov 16, 2023

The questions in both the practice and the actual quizzes were complex but necessary, as it allows the learner to think outside the box. The trainers very very concise with their explanations and their delivery of the different topics. Would definitely recommend to someone who is new to HR or would just like to brush up on their skills around benefits, laws pertaining to benefits, and overall compensation.

By Dylan P

Jan 4, 2021

The course was very informative and to the point, but one small issue I have with it (along with the other courses) are the assignments that have to be completed. The instructions are not always very specific, and when the time comes mark the assignments of other peers, then the rubric has very strict standards and specific requirements that were not adequately prescribed in the questions.

By Muhammad F S

Dec 16, 2022

This course helps me to improve my skill, as I did my master at 2012. after that I am doing job. When i start this course it helps too much to boost my knowledge as well as my revision, but i have noticed many things have been changed.

Thanks for Coursera, who gives me a great platform where i can learn and implement it on our professional life.

By Dayna D

May 31, 2021

The delay in me completing this course was totally all on me. I enjoyed every step of this course, although, there were chunks of the information I was receiving I felt like I already knew. It was great to feel validated. There were other instances, where I felt like it was challenging but in a good way. I really appreciate the opportunity.

By Belinda N

Aug 10, 2023

A very informative course. All lecturers involved in compiling and delivering their knowledge through this course are appreciated. You have all done well! Thank you for the clear and understandable lessons. And also for all your efforts and long hours, you have dedicated to making this available to remote students.

By Sana I

Nov 10, 2020

It was a wonderful experience. The way instructors demonstrated their knowledge is remarkable. Those who are really passionate about the field of HR this course really helped them to understand the basic concept of compensation and also help them to analyze things in the real world scenario with better perspective.

By Bridgette J

Oct 10, 2022

As a returning Human Resources professional taking this certification has been truly beneifical and allowed me to feel comfortable and informed once again in a field that I enjoy and love being a part of, Thank you to all the University of Minnsota Human Resource Department for offer this certification. .

By Gordon W

Mar 28, 2023

This was the best course of the entire program thus far. I learned a lot about structuring compensation and benefits, especially in non-monetary rewards. I especially enjoyed the practical challenge to write a complete job description. Well done to the instructors, Alan Benson and Mike Davis.

By Tony M

May 14, 2022

Instructor and videos were great. Course rigor needs to be increased. Discussion questions were optional and the peer assignments I saw were largely absolute trash. There needs to be more quality control and higher barriers to passage to protect the integrity of this credential.

By Nelly A

Jul 27, 2020

The course is an excellent course if you are looking to build your knowledge of compensation and you will really love Module 4 that talks about Non-Monetary rewards. Taking the course will give you an insight into how to strategically build a best-practice compensation system.