Chevron Left
Back to Managing Employee Compensation

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Managing Employee Compensation by University of Minnesota

4.7
stars
1,816 ratings

About the Course

Whether you're writing paychecks or wondering where yours comes from, this course is for you! We begin by asking: "To succeed, what kind of a person does your organization need to attract, retain, and motivate?" From there, we'll explain how to align your organization's objectives, its pay philosophy, and ultimately the way it designs and implements its salary structure, short-term incentives, long-term incentives, and benefits. Interested in learning more about the technical aspects of compensation, but don't know where to begin? We'll give an overview of key the key technical skills: compliance with pay regulations, understanding stock options, shopping for health insurance and pension providers, and designing incentive plans. Lastly, we'll discuss non-monetary methods of motivating employees. Upon completing the course, you should be able to have an understanding of compensation both strategically and technically. Learners will also gain introductory familiarity with pay regulation in the US....

Top reviews

KM

Apr 22, 2019

This is a very useful course for any HR professional who wants to have an overview on Employee Compensation and Benefits. Thanks for detailed and thought- through lectures and the great opportunity.

S

May 7, 2020

Both the professors were amazing! However, I would like to point out that since everyone undertaking this course is from the USA, it's better to skip out on the portion about US Law and compliance.

Filter by:

426 - 436 of 436 Reviews for Managing Employee Compensation

By Anitha.M.B

Sep 14, 2020

It's an important course to learn every management student.

By Sindhu J

Sep 6, 2020

Good one

By Ankita K

May 7, 2020

good

By Janni B N

Nov 12, 2020

INTERNATIONAL LEARNERS - this course is quite US focussed, and especially WEEK 3 where you have to do a peer-reviewed assignment which can be very time-consuming if you, like me, do not know a lot about the US system and laws around pension, insurance etc. I personally did not enjoy that aspect of the course as it was irrelevant to my learning and I was quite resentful to have to spend so much time on something I will never use. It was a futile exercise for me.

Other aspects of the course were also US focused. Few bits in WEEKS 1-3 were universally applicable, while WEEK 4 was much more general and learnings from this week can be applied anywhere taking cultural context into account.

By Chea M C

May 29, 2020

I like Mike's lesson very much! That is the week 4. Very informative and practical! Meanwhile, for week 3 lesson, not too meaningful for the learners from outside of The States. I strongly recommend the learner to focus in week 4 lessons if you are from outside of The States and you are looking for some ideas can benefits to your HRM in your organization. Week 1 and week 2 lessons are helpful too.

By anurag s

Feb 1, 2018

Not as good as other courses in the series. Highly repetitive content in week 4.

It must be realized that the course is being taken by students across the globe hence doing an assignment based on a job in USA is very difficult. Besides entire week 3 is dedicate only for rules in USA which is not at all useful for students outside of USA

By Liliana A

Aug 30, 2022

Alan Benson appears to be intelligent and acknowledged in this field, but his teaching style is tedious, very informative, complicated, and monotone - many terms, numbers, definitions, and perplexing "explanations."

I would advise the teacher to work on his vocalization. It's sometimes difficult to understand what he's saying. Also, the class should be more dynamic for this complex subject to be easier to understand.

I consider myself intelligent, and I found his final assignment in the Human Resources Capstone to be challenging to complete and repetitive. In addition, he only provided a few examples of what he wanted us to achieve in this project. On the contrary, the teacher's class in week four was more enjoyable, dynamic, and simple to follow.

I could not wait to finish this course!

By David C T

Nov 22, 2016

Too US-centric. Very strange concept of non-monetary benefits. It very common to forgo cash remuneration for non-monetary benefits (mainly for tax advantages) which was largely ignored in this course.

By Kassandra D C

Mar 20, 2020

reopen my course so i can complete my subscription

By Lucky S

Jan 5, 2023

unable to reset my deadlines for this course

By Tony S

Jan 28, 2023

Unable to complete my course