Chevron Left
Back to Managing Employee Compensation

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Managing Employee Compensation by University of Minnesota

4.7
stars
1,820 ratings

About the Course

Whether you're writing paychecks or wondering where yours comes from, this course is for you! We begin by asking: "To succeed, what kind of a person does your organization need to attract, retain, and motivate?" From there, we'll explain how to align your organization's objectives, its pay philosophy, and ultimately the way it designs and implements its salary structure, short-term incentives, long-term incentives, and benefits. Interested in learning more about the technical aspects of compensation, but don't know where to begin? We'll give an overview of key the key technical skills: compliance with pay regulations, understanding stock options, shopping for health insurance and pension providers, and designing incentive plans. Lastly, we'll discuss non-monetary methods of motivating employees. Upon completing the course, you should be able to have an understanding of compensation both strategically and technically. Learners will also gain introductory familiarity with pay regulation in the US....

Top reviews

KM

Apr 22, 2019

This is a very useful course for any HR professional who wants to have an overview on Employee Compensation and Benefits. Thanks for detailed and thought- through lectures and the great opportunity.

S

May 7, 2020

Both the professors were amazing! However, I would like to point out that since everyone undertaking this course is from the USA, it's better to skip out on the portion about US Law and compliance.

Filter by:

401 - 425 of 437 Reviews for Managing Employee Compensation

By hima n k

May 31, 2021

audio was not good

By CHARITY K

Mar 6, 2021

very informative

By Mawlid S

Feb 11, 2024

Great course !

By holly

Jan 18, 2019

well organized

By F W

May 1, 2023

Great courses

By Isaline

Mar 29, 2018

Great course!

By SurgeStudy

Jan 14, 2019

great course

By Abhishek K

May 7, 2022

alright

By YECHAN K

May 19, 2020

good

By OyinPreye M

Jun 9, 2023

I hade a very huge problem with Module. Maybe it was just me but the lecturer in Module 1 - 3 was not engaging enough and I do not feel like he explained it very well or in lame man terms. I could not even ask question to get a better insight into it. YES!!! I did learn a lot in this course but I would love more EXPLANATION. I loved Module 4, it was easy to understand and follow through

By Danilo V

Aug 21, 2018

I like this course, because it is very practical. However, the part related to FLSA and pensions and health policies is very specific to the reality of the USA. Living in another country, where there is a strong public presence in these sectors, I found myself uncomfortable and I found these sections less useful.

By Renu M

Apr 24, 2018

The module is well balanced except for the section on US specific pay requirements. For a global audience, knowing US C&B laws and procedures is useless and I would recommend this being an optional module. Loved the non-monetary benefits module with Mike Davis. He is very clear and the concepts were very succinct.

By Annija P R

Nov 16, 2022

I liked Mr.Davis as a lecturer, very well put and understandable information, and in good pace. However, from Mr.Benson's lectures I was expecting more of overall and international practices and theories, as for international student US laws are not current and needed for me.

By Sophia G

Nov 8, 2022

This was a very interesting course, yet a bit difficult to finish. For those who are not native english speakers it was very challenging to walk through all the terminologies. Also, I would like to suggest for videos to be more short, more bite-sized. Thank you very much!

By Dinu K D

Sep 15, 2020

I feel that the US norms on pay compliance piece can be removed for Non-US folks, as it does not make any sense to complete the same. Apart from that, I feel it has opened up a lot of untapped areas with respect to compensation. Thanks to both the professors.

By Traci M

Aug 27, 2023

Althought the majority of the information included is relevant, this course was developed in 2016. I was disappointed that material in the examples has not been updated. The presentation of the information is also at a slow pace - it could be more concise.

By Victoria M

Jul 23, 2018

Although this course did have some helpful information, it was very focussed on American compensation and benefits. I would recommend to those looking to work in the American market, but not as much so for those working internationally.

By Zsolt A H

May 31, 2020

My biggest problem with this course is that is really US specific. As an European habitant and worker it as really hard to understand the methods what are in the US. It's interesting but too specific.

By Andreea P

Apr 23, 2020

Very interesting. However, I would suggest to have a less US-focused approach as a lot of us are not living in US and we could not care less about the labor laws there.

By Natalia K

Apr 11, 2020

This course should be revised to become more useful for international audience , specially week 3 contains just US law information and no other counties examples.

By Beatriz F

Jul 24, 2023

It was an excellent way to identify my interest in learning more about this topic, but many parts needed to be updated and more insightful.

By Nikita P

Sep 24, 2017

The information in the course is pretty obvious and is quite clear without any knowledge about HR. Expected deeper dive into the topic.

By Mohit S

Nov 5, 2020

This course is weaker than the first and third. The third week of the course if not useful for the people who don't live in USA.

By Anshu P P

Jun 11, 2020

good, but me being Indian expected Indian compliance and labor laws. US compliance module was of no use to me

By Hillary W

Mar 2, 2021

Hard to follow Professor, just a personal preference. He paused too much.