Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Key Constitutional Concepts and Supreme Court Cases

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Key Constitutional Concepts and Supreme Court Cases by University of Pennsylvania

4.9
485 ratings
118 reviews

About the Course

This course offers an introduction to the U.S. Constitution and landmark Supreme Court cases interpreting it. It explores the Constitution’s origins, its amendment over the years, and methods of constitutional interpretation. Topics include the nature and structure of the federal government, the powers of the federal government, and individual rights....

Top reviews

SJ

Jul 22, 2017

Professor does a great job and in explaining the complexities. He does not take any partisan stand and does a great job and giving prominence to all sides of the argument. Enjoyed the course throughly

DG

Dec 11, 2016

This is a great introductory or refresher course. Everything is put forth in an easy-to-understand concept. It was beneficial to me to compare key cases and how society affected them. Thank you.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 112 Reviews for Introduction to Key Constitutional Concepts and Supreme Court Cases

By Chenier G R

Dec 09, 2018

Excellent course. I am very happy with this opportunity. The classes were clear and easy to understand. Congratulations to Cousera for this incredible partnership with the University of Pennsylvania for the promotion of Constitutional Law.

By Sarah R

Jan 29, 2019

I loved this class! It was super interesting and the professor was really enthusiastic about the content.

By Adi A M T T

Feb 17, 2019

Thank you very much for this course. I really love it.

By Jonathan P

Mar 05, 2019

Very good intro/overview course. The supplementary materials and resources supplied via the course are a good jumping off point for further study.

By SHARMILA H S

Mar 09, 2019

Very informative, and useful

By Monal R M

Dec 22, 2018

Great course. Fascinating topic!

By Chie Y

Dec 10, 2018

How can we evaluate our law? This lecture showed us the crucial criteria and manners, even if we are not US citizen. I deeply thank Professor Kermit Roosevelt.

By JOSÉ L R C

Mar 31, 2019

This course helped me to understand the evolution of the constitutional law of the United States of America, where the historical moment set the tone for the decisions taken. While it is true, many obey political interests and for supposed political moments, as in the case of World War II, it is no less true that the same system has sought to re-establish the rights of those people who might have been injured those rights. I consider it very important that many people at the international level (I am from Venezuela) approach this course, study it and of course internalize this process of the laws and their amendments because simply, the State has the faculty to self-regulate, legally speaking and of course, always respecting the will of the people. I congratulate all the people who contributed to the design of this course, it is quite complete and of simple understanding. Thank you very much.

Sincerely

Lawyer specialized in Labor Procedural Law

José Luis Rodríguez Castillo

Caracas, March 31, 2019

Venezuela

Twitter: @joseluisroca72

Linkedin: jlrc.win@gmail.com

Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator

By Jean R

Mar 22, 2017

This class open my eyes. I am grateful to have been able to learn about the laws. The professor makes the class interesting.

By Berat T

Sep 06, 2017

EXCE

By Scott L

Nov 26, 2017

Outstanding review of the Constitution, the Amendments, and key cases and examples that bring each into clear view. Really great course.

By proton

Mar 03, 2018

very useful course, and explain the concept of Constitution very clear.wonderful!

By Karen P

Apr 26, 2018

Very informative and easy to follow. Considering the current events going on in the United States, this class is a must.

By Francisco A R P

Feb 02, 2017

An excellent opportunity to learn what constitutional law is about and understand the way the U. S. Supreme Court interprets the Constitution asserting the values it reflects. Professor Kermit Roosevelt conveys the message in a clear and direct way, making the classes easy to follow. A real enjoying experience for me. Thanks you all.

By Lori R

Nov 12, 2017

This course gives a good overview of Constitutional topics and covers some recent decisions as well. It is very informative and well worth your time.

By Matthew C

Nov 18, 2016

An all around excellent course taught by a very knowledgeable

By Paul D

Oct 15, 2017

I was a Phi Beta Kappa in undergraduate school and a straight-A honors student in graduate school, but I must say that this is one of the BEST courses I have ever taken. Having no background in law prior to taking this class, I was amazed at the clarity with which Professor Kermit Roosevelt III presented some very complex topics to my complete understanding. The quizzes are very instructional and, at times, thought-provoking. The professor deals with current issues as well as the historical basis for Supreme Court decisions in changing times. I would highly recommend this extraordinary class to anyone who wants an introduction to key Constitutional Concepts and landmark Supreme Court cases.

By Fernando P

May 29, 2018

Excellent Course! Highly recommended

By Nguyen H B

Dec 26, 2017

Very comprehensive course.

By joanna k

Sep 19, 2017

very informative and thought provoking .

By Phan N A

Feb 08, 2017

Professor Roosevelt did a stunningly fine job at explaining and linking everything together. I knew about the Constitution and the American Declaration of Independence before, but not the Articles of Confederation, and now thanks to Professor everything clicked into its place, everything made sense to me. Thanks a lot!!!

By Thomas C

Jun 22, 2017

This is a great overview of Constitutional Law and the history of the US Constitution. I highly recommend it to anyone looking to better inform themselves and their political opinions.

By Mark C

Aug 28, 2016

clearlyand elegantly presented, with key cases illustrative of the controversies

By Marianna G

Aug 08, 2016

Great introduction, nicely organized. Thank you!

By Sridhar J

Jul 22, 2017

Professor does a great job and in explaining the complexities. He does not take any partisan stand and does a great job and giving prominence to all sides of the argument. Enjoyed the course throughly