Chevron Left
Back to Construction Cost Estimating and Cost Control

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Construction Cost Estimating and Cost Control by Columbia University

4.7
stars
1,786 ratings

About the Course

This course introduces the types of cost estimation from the conceptual design phase through the more detailed design phase of a construction project. In addition, the course highlights the importance of controlling costs and how to monitor project cash flow. Learners will work on a break-even analysis of construction tasks in a project. The course begins with Professor Odeh providing an overview of what will be covered. Next, learners explore the stages of design in a construction project. Professor Odeh then describes the types of cost estimates in a construction project, and the tools and methods used to create estimates. By the end of this course, you will be able to: -Acquire the fundamentals of cost estimation and the design phase to perform cost estimation -Learn about cost control and cost control methods, emphasizing the Earned Value Method or EVM -Understand the close out period of the project by exploring the punch lists, final approval, and turnover to the client...

Top reviews

EM

Mar 19, 2020

Excellent course but need to improve the videos about building an estimate or make available downloadable content because it is difficult to watch the things that are explained on those videos.

AS

Dec 15, 2017

I thoroughly enjoyed the detailed explanations provided by Professor Odeh and the professionals from Turner & Townsend. My most favourite part was the lectures of Sam Spata and Ben Miller.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 351 Reviews for Construction Cost Estimating and Cost Control

By Vyron G

Feb 1, 2019

Very interesting course with substantial and important information and knowledge to get you familiar with cost estimating and cost control. Very practical and close to reality examples.

By Andre M

May 5, 2020

great class. I learned a lot of valuable information. I am looking to make a career change and I hope this online learning course will aid me significantly in making a career switch.

By Joel T

Apr 18, 2018

This is my second time through this course. The first time through I failed the peer graded assignment because a peer didn't agree that one of the four answers was correct. The second time through a peer counted a different answer as being incorrect and I failed again. I believe my answers are correct, I've asked for the correct answer and have not received a reply. There is no learning benefit to submitting peer graded assignments and just hope peers come up with the same answer and never knowing the correct answer. Without feedback from the instructor, I guess I'll have to take this course for a third time and hope that a peer agrees with all of my answers.

By Edward M

Mar 20, 2020

Excellent course but need to improve the videos about building an estimate or make available downloadable content because it is difficult to watch the things that are explained on those videos.

By Server B

Jun 28, 2018

first few week Presenters are just reading from prompters.. no enthusiasm.. no interactive learning… boring.. examples they use as if it is from an ancient text… very outdated.. They could have at least shared the slides or fıles they show for example. very dry... need much improvement

By Indriyani J

Jan 30, 2019

Peer Review Assignment is not effective because people who may not understand the materials and think their answer is the only rightest answer get to fail you with no tolerance whatsoever. They don't even give any explanation. No consideration whether your number is different because you round it up. I can't even ask why they failed me and can't check their work. The lecturers put a great effort to share knowledge tho. No solution from customer service other than keep submitting.

By Mrudula M

May 17, 2020

I dont think i wouldve got this opportunity in any online coachinig website. This is really going to help me when i graduate and start working. With great practical knowledge.

By Pradheep G

Mar 19, 2020

I am thankful to Coursera to offer the grate course through online. I learned most important points through the subjected course.

Thanks a lot to Mr. is Ibrahim Odeh.

By Luis G Z

May 23, 2019

Course should include more exercises. Questions in quizzes were many times unclear and just an exercise of memory, not for real learning/understanding concepts. Last section on "Lean" is poor, very confusing, with far too many mixed concepts, very difficult to understand, even though the concept itself looks simple.

By Robert B

Jan 11, 2022

Week three lecture and assignment did not match, and the assignment was poorly written. This made week three nearly impossible to complete.

By Toni C

Jul 5, 2022

I would have given this course 5 stars but one of the tests/quizzes (week 3, anyone who has done this course will know what I am talking about) was so troublesome to pass that I considered withdrawing out of principle.

The reason it was troublesome is not that it was too hard, it was because no matter what you entered into the response fields it failed due to formatting (either wasn't a number or wasn't a percentage). This really let the course down, it was so frustrating to re-do the quiz 9 times in 24 hours and not get a different result. In fact I am still waiting for a resolve from Coursera so I can complete the course, as this one thing is holding up final completion of the course.

No matter what the resolve will be, my rating won't chnage because the fact is too many students are reporting the exact same issue, which means there is strong evidence that the quiz needs to be changed and improved. Having said that I can see that students have been experiencing this issue for a long time (in excess of 12 months), so their feedback is clearly not being taken seriously - otherwise improvements would have been made already. This is a big negative for Coursera and the content providers, one or the other at least should be pushing for improvement.

By Tuna Y

Aug 26, 2018

Dear Mr. Ibrahim,

First of all thank you for all your efforts and all professionals who are contributed to preparations of this specialization. As a construction professional experienced in airport projects for 10 years and electrical construction manager i found this course useful to refresh information and catch up with up to date trends of construction. I would like to make only a suggestion regarding to this particular Cost Estimating and Cost Control course, May be you can consider to add a session about MEP estimating roughly mentions about mechanical requirements, power requirements and possible cost estimating methodologies on MEP Bids. Another session may be mentioned in LEAN section for Target Value Design.

Thank you very much again for your efforts.

Best Regards

Tuna Yekeler

By Karl B

Jan 30, 2017

You need to be working in a specific discipline to do each line item on a spreadsheet for detailed estimating. Here several ways of estimating are presented from budget to detail. Also Lean philosophy is incorporated. Owner cost protection and project specification, with respect to cost and ROI are addressed.

In short if you are already an engineer, then these concepts are job applicable Right A Way (RAW).

If you are learning, then this is also the right place to start. It may open a new door for your next job.

You can list this achievement to your CV/Resume.

I recommend you take all 4 parts of the Construction Management program thru Coursera, course work created by Columbia University.

By Shawky G

May 25, 2017

I liked the material I learned in these classes. Although I have been life time (35+ years) in the field of construction -Started as a designer architect and then switched to a field engineer and a construction manage-I found so many topics in these courses new to me specially in the Construction Finance class. I do appreciate the chance which introduced me to Coursera - University of Columbia classes.

By John M M

Apr 27, 2018

The module is very detailed that you tend to research more on the topics being discussed. As a quantity surveyor, this is very helpful especially if you are still in your junior years. The speakers speak very clearly.

By ARFA W

Apr 26, 2021

The course is very good. But please, upload the excel or pdf to make learning easier. Because some videos are very difficult to see, especially excel form. Thanks.

By Dinesh B

Aug 17, 2020

Another great course in the Specialization !!

Must do for practising engineers and those in mid career positions and to refresh estimation fundamentals

By Eric Y

Apr 13, 2020

This specialisation helped me gain more knowledge across construction cost estimating and gave me a good understanding what a QS does.

By Simin S

Jul 22, 2018

This great course is really helpful to my work, thanks to all professors of this course, and really appreciate yours knowledge!!

By Aniket D

May 1, 2020

This is great course presented by industry experts with real examples.

By Vishal H

May 5, 2020

good professionals with good experience in the industry.

By Sandeep K

Apr 15, 2020

Very informative and knowledge improving platform.

By Nikhil S

Apr 10, 2020

The course was interesting to learn.

By Thanushan V

May 1, 2020

Good Course

By Natalia C

Mar 23, 2020

It is a great course, I learnt a lot and understood many concepts that I did not before. I suggest to keep it simple on week 5 as well because in that part of the course the concepts become very complex for someone that is a beginner but they seem to be really important for this matter.