Chevron Left
Back to Construction Cost Estimating and Cost Control

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Construction Cost Estimating and Cost Control by Columbia University

4.7
stars
1,150 ratings
238 reviews

About the Course

This course introduces the types of cost estimation from the conceptual design phase through the more detailed design phase of a construction project. In addition, the course highlights the importance of controlling costs and how to monitor project cash flow. Students will work on a break-even analysis of construction tasks in a project....

Top reviews

AS

Dec 16, 2017

I thoroughly enjoyed the detailed explanations provided by Professor Odeh and the professionals from Turner & Townsend. My most favourite part was the lectures of Sam Spata and Ben Miller.

VG

Feb 01, 2019

Very interesting course with substantial and important information and knowledge to get you familiar with cost estimating and cost control. Very practical and close to reality examples.

Filter by:

176 - 200 of 236 Reviews for Construction Cost Estimating and Cost Control

By Richard S

Jun 19, 2017

A

By Siying R

Oct 10, 2018

This class is about cost control. It teaches from how to estimate, the principles of estimating, the technology used, and to how to control the cost. The detailed case study on building the estimate is beneficial. The idea that not to cut cost, instead, integrate cost saving from the design stage is inspiring. Also, the demonstration on how cash flow becomes complex when actual spending, billing, and payment happen at the different time is impressive. The class illustrates the timing of each activity impacts the cash flow and proposes ways to minimize the financial burden. The only thing I do not like is where the lecturer simply read the bullet points on the PowerPoint. It would be better if the lecturer explains the points with specific cases.

By Gustavo J M

Jun 13, 2020

Really interesting, some new concepts and technologies, verification of concepts and reaffirmation, but I think it is a good idea to review some errors in the calculation of the formwork design (quantities fbm, week 2 Prices video 1) also in the source example taken from the Internet there was the same error. On the other hand, Week 4 Cash Flow was an excellent explanation very concrete, simple and easy to understand, congratulations to the speaker and the technological trend was also very interesting. In general I would like to congratulate the team, good job !!, I hope to continue to the final stage - Financial Course.

By HENRY H

Jan 01, 2017

The course content covers a lot of topics related to practical cost estimation and cost control and the presenters did a good job in relating theory to real life experience examples and they were very engaging.

The downside was with the test and quiz questions, there where several errors to what the questions asked in relation to what the actual answers where intended. All the quiz/test section needs an entire overhauled and a detailed reviewed should be undertaking to correct all the questions in relation to the provided answers.

By Stephen P

Mar 18, 2018

Well covered. My only comment would be to include, after completion of the 5 week modules, an example of the overall Cost Estimating and Control exercise from start to finish on a real time project. This would allow the learner to see the progressive processes from the OME estimate, thru all stages, to award, into execution and the cost control processes to monitor the projects cost progress. That would comprehensively pull it all together.

Thank you for the education, your time and worthwhile course for us in construction.

By Tessa K

Apr 17, 2020

The sessions were very informative and well-rounded. In general, the presentation was good. I would have like more practical problem-based quizzes rather than just remembering definitions, etc. Being new to the cost estimating, I found this very helpful as a foundation of understanding.

By Natalia C

Mar 24, 2020

It is a great course, I learnt a lot and understood many concepts that I did not before. I suggest to keep it simple on week 5 as well because in that part of the course the concepts become very complex for someone that is a beginner but they seem to be really important for this matter.

By Suchismitha P

Jul 07, 2020

An insightful course, with information imparted by well established and knowledgable individuals from the construction industry. Examples and workings were well presented making it much easier to understand the concepts.

By Ahmed K

Mar 25, 2020

I really enjoyed the course and the amount of effort that has been exerted into it. It was an interesting journey to get into the cost world of construction projects with all its challenges and complications.

By Horacio B

Sep 20, 2017

Muy buen curso. Muy interesante, ordenado y metódico. Es mucho más aprovechable si ya tienes experiencia en el tema.

Alguna pequeña definición queda en el aire, pero nada que Google no resuelva

Lo recomiendo

By Justin B

May 22, 2017

Good course, and I agree with a lot of the points. Being active in the industry I was hoping to walk away with new techniques and skill sets. I feel the class was more of a refresher of what we do.

By Victor E Q G

Nov 04, 2017

Un muy buen curso, los profesores se toman su tiempo para explicar detalladamente cada proceso del curso. El curso exige una compromiso en cuanto tiempo y concentración

By WONG T J

Jan 16, 2020

It's a comprehensive course for learning fundamentals of construction management, it's provide highly practical knowledge in an easy-understable way for non-engineers.

By robin r

Apr 03, 2020

The course is great, super informative but too many materials, excel, BIM and powerpoint appears blurry on the screen which decrease what we can take from the course.

By Cory B

Dec 01, 2019

Overall good course with attention to detail and industry focused. Interesting approach to the world of estimating and control giving a different way of thinking.

By Timothy A

Mar 14, 2017

It was a great privilege for me to be here, i really benefited from it, it increased my potentials on construction management... Thank you so much..

By RUDY J J

Jan 07, 2020

I thought the course was very informative; didn't like the videos that had 5 minutes or more of a guy drawing but the information was heavy.

By Swaroop G B V

May 27, 2020

The overall course content was good but it was lacking in the real life examples and real usage of the estimating software.

By Orlando J P P

Nov 03, 2018

Really good course, I feel more confident about my skills and knowledge in the areas of cost estimating and control.

By Md N H

Jul 29, 2019

This course is very useful and covered very up-to-date syllabus of Construction Cost Estimating and Cost Control.

By Meshal A

Apr 20, 2020

It's recommended for those who wants to develop the cost area in the construction. Thanks a lot it was helpful

By Shady M H

Sep 21, 2019

The course was very helpful, and so clear by very professional Engineers working in the management industry.

By Nitin E M

May 15, 2020

Syllabus is perfect

Every lecture is important

Best course for cost estimation cost control

By Margaret L

Apr 29, 2020

I think it would be very helpful to be able to print out some of the graphs, charts, etc.

By Anan H

Jul 23, 2019

I mostly enjoyed the Week 5; Lean applications in Estimation and Cost Control.